GO GREEN 2019, My 365-Day Diary for Mother Earth and Humanity! (Day 12 of 365)

in #greendiary5 years ago

January 12, 2019.

Breakup with Plastic and Let Others Know It

Hi, Steemheads!

I started my Sunday having iced coffee and pancakes in McDo. I just went out of the hospital from a dialysis session and went directly to McDonalds for breakfast. I actually have this routine every Sunday morning. I love eating pancakes for breakfast on this day. Out of the blue, I was thinking about the many single use plastic in the fastfood industry and how they contribute to this plastic problem of the world so I made a post about it in Facebook. Hopefully, people will realize we all need to be in this together.

Here is the post I made:

koi.PNG
cafe.jpg

I have been thinking about promoting awareness and pushing for social causes like this. This is actually the first time that I will be discussing such issues in my social networks. I hope I can be consistent with it and will walk the talk always. I want to be an example to my daughter and hopefully for anyone out there whom this message will reach.

This post is just 12th of 365 posts I will do the whole year, dedicated to going Green and sharing Humanity. If you think you wanna make a similar challenge to yourself, of course, you can join and do the same thing, too!

Join me, in my 2019 journey. Thanks for reading and I hope we all can share in Steemit the little things we learn in life as we go along. I wish you all to have a meaningful and prosperous new year!

Love and Peace,
@mermaidvampire

Sort:  

In Austria, we separate the garbage where the bottles have their own container, as well as the plastics and old papers. The straw issue is also being discussed. The Greens are on the go because of the plastic issue in the ocean.

In britain, that's an option. You are asked if you want a straw at the counter! :)

I think that's better. Here it's in a dispenser on the counter and you can take as many as you want.

It is a start actually. For me I have not been using straws since last month. Even if it is readily available at the counter when I order I don't take it. Since I do the ordering when we eat out with friends they too have to ditch the straw since I don't get one for them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94