GREENHOUSE - COMPLETION, PART 1

in #greenhouse6 years ago

WEDNESDAY

Wednesday was wash-out but I still made it down to the allotment and made a start on laying the foundation for the greenhouse. I knew that I would be back down on Thursday and the weather would be better, so I only stayed a couple of hours. I did notice that the Radishes are coming along (see pics bottom part). This rootcrop are the easiest and fastest vegetables to grow. There are two types of Radishes: spring and winter, the spring varieties grow quickly and the winter varieties require a longer growing period but are
superior to spring type in many ways. They will hold their quality in the plot longer, store better and have more distinctive flavour. The best thing to do is sow both types and you will be harvesting radishes throughout the spring and again in fall and winter. Radishes originated in China and the ancient Greeks prized Radishes above all roots crops. It was also a common food in Egypt long before the pyramids were built.

FB_IMG_1508362993508.jpg

THURSDAY

Thursday morning I was up and down at the allotment by 9am and got back to work finishing off the foundations and made a start onbuilding the greenhouse with help from my friend Andrew. We had to move some slabs for the base and as we lifted the slabs a mouse ran out
from under and there was a nest with a few babies in it. We moved the nest out of the plot to somewhere safe, I hope they do well. It was not as easy to build the greenhouse as I thought it might be but we got there in the end. I've just got the glass to put in the next time I'm down.

FB_IMG_1508362990611 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @janver06! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81