Greenshift 01: Moving Between Nodes

in #greenshift6 years ago

Just jugging with some ideas to toss around. Nothing formal or necessarily well-developed. Just in the early stages of trying to wrap my head around a new idea. The creative engine isn't quite there and I'm really not feeling it like being a content creator. But I also don't want to overwhelm my other account with a bunch of technical rambling, so I guess I'll do it here.

So what's my biggest issue with how I currently use Steem versus how I want to use Steem? Well, the problem is simple. I want to distribute rewards to those deserving but often I don't feel like putting the effort in searching for new authors after a long day at work. So I end up not using all my voting power because I'm picky with how I give it away. I'll always be picky.

So I need a way to traverse across this giant network that we call Steem. I need a way to move between pieces of content that I am interested in so I can reward that content and encourage authors that create good content to keep making good content. The issue is that implementing a tool to do this for me is hard to implement in practice.

So, what do we have now? We have a giant content network. A graph of different pieces of content where the edges between different pieces of content represent some relationship between the two. Since there are plenty of different relationships we can find between pieces of content, there are plenty of different graphs we can look at and we can traverse. The question is which relationships do we explore?

This question forms the first phase of a project which I'm calling Greenshift. And this is the start of a development dairy/blog discuss different tangents my mind is on and different ideas I plan on exploring. For now the idea is completely conceptual. But basically I want to create an application that acts as a recommendation engine and allows users to traverse across different pieces of content that hopefully they can appreciate and enjoy while also exploring new content beyond simply that which their feeds give them.

So, what do we have so far? Well we know that Steem is a giant network of content and each piece of content is simply a node in the network. Nodes have relationships with each other and depending on the relationship we can create different graphs on top of which we can explore and uncover new content. Ideally we find the relationships that yield the most desirable content to us personally, and hopefully down the line, such traversal mechanisms can have customization built into them so people can have a truly personalized exploration experience.

Because one size doesn't fit all. And too many, including myself, have tried to enforce our own ideas of good mechanics on others when we simply need to go with the flow and give others tools which they can use to explore their interests in more detail without the vast noise of the content network to overwhelm them. I want to build a pair of noise canceling headphones. And hopefully build something that can flip content discovery on its head.

Sort:  

This post has been just added as new item to timeline of Q-Filter on Steem Projects.

If you want to be notified about new updates from this project, register on Steem Projects and add Q-Filter to your favorite projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00