Bad Results from LHC@home

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi everyone,

In the last 10 days I noticed several errors from my tasks in the LHC@home project.

Out of the total 952 tasks, only 347 are valid. One finished in a "Validation inconclusive" state, while 542 tasks were ended with various errors.

I analyzed the different error cases and I found several categories:

  • All ATLAS Simulation work units are having issues with the VirtualBox on my 64-bit Windows 10 laptop: "Error creating VirtualBox instance! rc = 0x80004002". I updated the VM VirtualBox to version 5.2.12, and the situation is persistent. For the time being, I decided to remove ATLAS Simulation from my settings.
  • Hundreds of SixTrack work units (421 tasks) from a specific machine are finishing with zero execution time and a "Process got signal 11" error message. This is an experimental virtual core on Google Cloud, configured with the minimum 0.6 GB of memory. Does anyone have a clue about this strange signal 11?
  • About twenty tasks were canceled immediately by the server.
  • About a hundred work units stopped after about 20 minutes of CPU time with the "Disk usage limit exceeded" error on a second virtual machine in Google Cloud (8 vCPUs with 7.2 GB of memory).

I am concerned about the high number of fails from LHC@home. Is it only specific to my machines, or a more generic topic?

Sort:  

Right now, for CPU only i personally get the best results on Cosmology and VGTU.

I was crunching LHC@home as well for a while without problems, and then started getting "computational error" problems back in the winter for every one of my LHC work units. I upgraded VirtualBox and had no success. I couldn't figure out what went wrong so I started crunching other projects with the plan of eventually returning and figuring out the problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31