Gridcoin Giveaway for Usage on Gridcoin-Booster

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi everyone,

I want to bring something new to the community, and I was thinking to start selling upvotes under the #gridcoin-booster tag, in exchange for Gridcoins.

My account has 600 SP, a reputation score of 57, a lot of unused voting power.

Four days ago, I announced that this week I will give full upvotes in exchange for 2 GRCs (estimated value of my upvotes is $0.07).

My post was not very popular, and so far only @rcebike decided to give it a try. But I want to make this initiative more popular, therefore I decided that the next 10 users will get a full refund for using the Gridcoin-Booster.

Terms are simple: transfer 2 GRCs to SGzNgzWqBgVdJmgrUJHkYNGyrED3mNyyVq, add a note with the link to your post (or via private message on the STEEM blockchain, if using an online wallet), and you will get a full upvote and a full refund of your 2 GRCs. With other words, free upvotes for the next 10 users!

On the mid term, I want to investigate the possibility of getting this automated, and to bring more SP to my account. Any help is highly appreciated!

Sort:  

2 GRC sent! Anything that gets people using Gridcoins is great for promoting Gridcoin.

I received the transaction and I will do the voting and the refund in few hours.

Thank you, @rcebike! Indeed, I hope my small contribution will also help making the Gridcoin better!

Can you also give me an address for the refund? In my wallet it is displayed "From: unknown"...

SAGezD4Y31UMjyLZM8fbo2sXYBBhufNMEZ

Is it possible to calculate how much energy is used for a single Gridcoin transaction? I've read that for Proof-of-Work coins like Bitcoin, it's enough to power a typical First World household for a few days. I imagine that Gridcoin uses less since it is based on Proof-of-Stake, but am not clear on the numbers.

Does the act of sending 2 GRC use more than $0.07 worth of electricity? (Yes, I know that electric costs vary widely, but I'm just looking for a rough estimate.)

You would have to work out the rough cost of running the wallet for the length of time between transactions. Because we are proof of stake, the CPU cost of running the wallet is quite low (single digit % CPU) but since we don't have a massive amount of transactions on the chain, the 24 hour cost of running your wallet divided by the number of txs might be higher. I could come up with a reasonable estimation if you'd like, but it's certainly nowhere near 7 cents worth of electricity for 1 tx.

I just sent you 2 GRC for an upvote. This is a great service!

Upvoted! And I will do the refund in the afternoon. Thank for your kind words!

I just sent you another 2 GRC for another post boost. Don't worry, you don't have to refund that one :)

Sent some grc over.

Full upvoted, and the 2 GRCs refunded. Thank you for using the #gridcoin-booster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75