💖Will BOINC for Money!

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Yeah I said it, I'm not ashamed of it, I BOINC for Money
...for Crypto Money that is.

Will-BOINC-for-Money-SteemPowerPics.jpg

🔭 Years ago joined up with Seti@Home to donate my spare computer processing time to help the UC Berkeley-based project in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI). It was quite simple, you download a small app, create an account and let it run based on times you set. You didn't get anything in return for it except the satisfaction of knowing you are helping the program crunch data.

The last few year I was not as active with the program... and then... I found Gridcoin! It was about a month ago in the BeyondBitcoin hangouts that @cm-steem gave an update on the project and opened my eyes to a whole new way to earn crypto and amazingly enough it was by helping the same types of projects I used to support in the past.

Gridcoin-Boinc-Preview.jpg
The BOINC Manager App showing my participation stats.

The process is pretty much the same, you download and install the BOINC app which allows you to share your unused computing power with a worldwide network of other computers to help crunch data for various scientific and mathematical projects.

But here's the new twist - you can now join up with Team Gridcoin and earn their cryptocurrency (GRC) for the computer processing power you contribute to the collective pool .

I am currently running the Amicable Numbers and SETI@Home projects based on the best performance for my laptop/hardware. You will need to find the projects and balance that allows you to both contribute the most resources and yield the best returns.

Gridcoin-Boinc-Results-SteemPowerPics.jpg
My Host/Pool data and proof of Gridcoin Payout.

Sure, I only have my laptop to contribute during the overnight hours so I'm not going to become an instant crypto-millionaire with Gridcoin.

HOWEVER, this is the way I see it...
I was already contributing processing power to these projects in the past for free, so I am grateful for the opportunity the Gridcoin Team provides for me to earn cryptocurrency for my support. So I will happily accept, save and grow my holdings of GRC.

As an added bonus, you also earn SPARC Tokens at the same time while they are using the BOINC project during their Alpha phase.

Gridcoin-Website.jpg

Head on over to Gridcoin.us and follow the instructions to setup up BOINC and get started.

The go to GRCPpool.com to join a GRC pool and start earning!

Those are straight links to the sites, no affiliate referral nonsense with me.

So don't be shy, give BOINCing a try!

and earn some Gridcoin while you're at it.



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

It's like you read my mind. I was thinking about doing exactly this. I'm doing it!

Yeah, they put Team Gridcoin and the GRCPool together really nicely. The whole process works very smoothly.

Up to 3 pools now at grcpool.com. Pool mining currently is the fastest way to Earn GRC.
Lots of help too on the IRC channel #gridcoin-help

Nice stats! Can you tell where you get the GRC skin for BOINC? Need that!

Congratulations @steempowerpics, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 799 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2614.64. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This post has received a 9.86 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

love gridcoin, my journey started rocky but now its an awesome experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21