Sort:  

That is a nice looking piece of maple. Any ideas for how you are going to finish it? Also, do you already have a pickup? Or were you planning on whipping one up as well? Good to see you are still at it, Amber. Hope you are doing well!

Hey, it's good to see you again!
I'm not sure about the finish yet, but I was thinking about a clear finish so you can see the birds eye figure. As for the pickup, I'm going to use a double coil pickup on it. Nothing too fancy, but I don't want the hum you get from a single coil.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Is there no end to your talent?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I'm sure there is somewhere...LOL
Jack of all trades, master of none...

So what kind of pickups have you decided on? Humbuckers or going with the traditional single coils for this guitar?

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a small humbucker pickup for this project. I had originally bought the pickup to replace one of the single coils in my Squire Stratocaster, but I decided to use it for this instead. It's basically the same size as a single coil pickup, but it has 2 narrow coils in it, and bar magnets instead of pole pieces.

PB8ro82ZpZP35bVGjGoEdg81DteFexLroKsHJAKJnsedyLwoRWRj4RBwmjhgdJzoTJNsnBquajivFNVkMoNGvTiY1ZQNJmsRue4hr9KvdHbdVK5Q.png

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I love how this project is coming along. Keep us posted, I can't wait to hear the finished product.

Thanks!
I'm hoping to get the router work done this coming week, we're supposed to have several days of dry weather coming up.

Cool i was wondering where this project left off. Putting 4 strings on a six stringer neck might be a bit tricky, probably need to cut a custom nut and put a string t to keep it spaced properly.

Posted using Partiko Android

I cut new slots in the nut for the 2 middle strings and I'm leaving the 2 outer strings in the outer slots for now. If that doesn't work out very well, I have a blank nut to use to reposition the strings. One thing about using this short scale neck is that I can have wider string spacing than what you have on a regular guitar. That's more typical of the baritone ukulele. I find it easier to play the ukulele because of the wider string spacing, I don't mute the string next to the one I'm holding down that way.

Are you tuning it like a uke?

Posted using Partiko Android

This will be tuned like a baritone ukulele, basically the 4 thinner strings on a guitar.
D, G, B, E

How short is the scale on the neck?

Posted using Partiko Android

The neck has 20 frets, and it's 15 and 5/8ths inches from the nut to the 20th fret.
It's about 2 inches shorter from the nut to the 20th fret on my Squire Strat neck. The Squire Strat neck has 22 frets, so it's even longer than the 2 inch difference to the 20th fret.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87