Listening to "La Catedral" by Agustín Barrios Mangoré

in #guitar5 years ago (edited)

Dear music and classical guitar lovers

I really love this composition written by Agustín Barrios Mangoré. When I listen to it, I dream and especially when I listen to Allegro solemne that is the third movement.

Barrios wrote the original two movements, Andante Religioso and Allegro Solemne, in Uruguay in 1921. Preludio Saudade was added as the first movement in 1939, after having been written in Havana, Cuba in 1938. Although some people reject the first movement as being part of La Catedral, it fits perfectly with the rest of the work and is a great work in its own right.
Source for the above paragraph.

I would like to play this piece and it would take me approximately six months to master it. It's a big commitment but I will try one day at least to play the third movement, Allegro solemne.

I have selected three videos for you to enjoy. This is a very popular piece and it's one of my favourite pieces written for classical guitar.

Ana Vidovic plays 'La Catedral' by Agustín Barrios Mangoré on a classical guitar



Berta Rojas - La Catedral



Agustin Barrios - La Cathédrale. Gabriel Bianco, guitare

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36