Devil Gundam: Finishing Scratch Build Piston [Leg Modification - Part 42]

in #gunpla6 years ago (edited)
Hi guys!

Today I will finish the piston then combine it with the thigh. So here are updates on Project Devil Gundam!

Small Details

I have trimmed then adjust the small detail using hobby knife and file while test fitting it every time.

After those prep work is done I cement the small detail in place.

Overall, I'm happy with the piston and the small detail. Now I can proceed with the other piston.

Thigh and Piston

Here is a quick test fit on thigh and piston I just finished.

Although the cement hasn't cured completely on that small detail.

I can do a quick test fit as long as I don't bump the small details.

Cementing the Piston in Place

I'm very happy with the way the piston turn out so I can cement it in place making sure that it is dead center on the thigh.

Otherwise I will have a problem with the bottom leg connector later.

To be honest I only use my bare eyes for this but I check every angle possible to make sure it is spot on.

Waist Test Fit

I've cemented the other piston on the other thigh as well.

From this angle you can see why I use that "Pac-Man" shape pla plates.

Because I cement the connector to that small box a flat surface won't do so I cut it at an angle which makes it look like "Pac-Man".

For this mod I use tamiya thin regular and thin cement. I use enough regular cement just to melt the plastic together and not leave a mess later.

This takes practice but once you've done it a couple of times it you'll get better at it.

Off to Next Modification

Now that the piston is done. Well it's only half way there I suppose since I haven't connect it to the lower leg.

I will start scratch building a set of knee tomorrow. The knee will provide an articulation for the legs.

After the knee is complete, I can do a few test fit then connect the piston with the lower leg.

And so this is my updates for today on this Devil Gundam x Neue Ziel Project.

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Quick access tutorial:

  1. Fixing broken peg using gunpla runer and several tools.
  2. Fixing holes using cement and plastic scraps.
Sort:  

You just planted 0.21 tree(s)!


Thanks to @devytan

We have planted already 4464.06 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25664.76
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66