Devil Gundam: Scratch Building Knee [Leg Modification - Part 43]

in #gunpla6 years ago
Hi guys!

Today I will start a few notes before scratch building the knee. So here are updates on Project Devil Gundam!

Brainstorming Ideas

I'm trying to figure out the right size for the knee that will connect the thigh with the front of the leg.

I also plan to make the knee removable so painting will be a bit easier.

Otherwise masking will be a nightmare with all the articulations and details I'm going to put on the knee.

I think the thigh looks good at this height. So this will be my guide on deciding what is a good size for the knee.

Quick Sketch

Quick sketch on how the knee should look like. I also put a rough number on the paper but I might adjust it later as I go building it.

The front of the knee will have sharper angle than the back.

Honestly, I could just leave the bottom flat but I decided to trim the edges a little bit. Since I'm not sure how much of the knee will be visible later.

Prepping the Pla Plate

I start scribing on a piece of pla plate before trimming it following the sketch.

My plan is to make 2 pieces with this shape and connect it using a gunpla runer. I will use the Devil Gundam's runer since it is smaller than the Neue Ziel's.

Once the knee has a structure I will cover the sides with pla plates then detail the knee.

This will the first part of the kit I will detail since I'm really sure if I can make the knee detachable.

Trimming Off

Trimming off is straight forward. I use hobby knife and flat blade then I clean the edges using file to get it smooth.

Since the knee looks good. Tomorrow, I will make a few more copies of this and prep the gunpla runer.

Instead of trying to draw what I've in mind I just make a prototype then do some adjustments to it.

And so this is my updates for today on this Devil Gundam x Neue Ziel Project.

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Quick access tutorial:

  1. Fixing broken peg using gunpla runer and several tools.
  2. Fixing holes using cement and plastic scraps.
Sort:  

You just planted 0.22 tree(s)!


Thanks to @devytan

We have planted already 4547.84 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25667.91
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80