Devil Gundam: Scratch Building Knee [Leg Modification - Part 51]

in #gunplajagatraya6 years ago
Hi guys!

Today I will cover a few more sides of the scratch build knee with some more pla plates then do a small clean up. So here are updates on Project Devil Gundam!

Cementing Process

Cementing process is quite straight forward. I use regular cement for the actual bond between the pla plates and thin cement to kind of clean up the edges a little bit.

Plan for Detailing

I've covered a few sides of the knee and I will start making plans on how I will detail the knee.

I start with the sides since the top and bottom part is not done yet.

I will do a small panel line here which will complement the pla plates that later will be cemented here.

Because I'm not sure I can make that c-joint I will finish detailing the knee first.

Cleaning Up

After I let the cement cure overnight I can start cleaning up the excess pla plates using hobby knife and file.

Later I will do a test fit with the connector and the thigh then reshape the edges of those pla plates so I can cover top, bottom, front and backside of the knee.

And so this is my updates for today on this Devil Gundam x Neue Ziel Project.

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Quick access tutorial:

  1. Fixing broken peg using gunpla runer and several tools.
  2. Fixing holes using cement and plastic scraps.
Sort:  

Scratch-built models are always awesome. How much do you prefer it compared to kitbashing pre-existing commercial models or modding something already made?

You really should look up a guy who goes by "Blackadder" on a lot of Warhammer 40,000 forums. He scratch-builds some truly crazy stuff.

Well, this one is both kitbashing and scratch build. Most of the scratch build is sort of fill in the gap thing with this one.

I scratch built the hands since I can't find one with good proportion. Then the legs because the thigh, knee and bottom leg is joint together with no articulation whatsoever so I scratch build that. The toes also joint together so I scratch build the articulation for each one.

Scratch build is very challenging but fun when things come together.

In the end I think I prefer kitbashing and modding compared to this. But I feel like I can make anything after having done quite a bit of scratch builds.

I've checked this Blackadder you mention and his builds are crazy I wonder how much time did he spent on making them. Also the details are amazing!

How about yourself? Do you build model kits?

hi @devytan
just came by to show my little support and give you small upvote.

hope to see again more content crypto related :)

yours
Piotr

Thanks! I haven't had the time to make crypto related content. I'm trying to finish my project for the competition so it could be a while before I make crypto related content.

whatever competition it is ... good luck @devytan :)

will keep my fingers crossed. and hope to hear from you again sometime soon

Cheers!

I think I can finish my project in a couple months but I already have a plan after that so I will be busy.

is your project related to blockchain or crypto?

I hope you dont mind that Im curious :)

yours,
Piotr

No, it's not related to crypto at all just like I mentioned on my last email.

Im sorry @devytan. Sometimes it's hard to remember so many details.

I hope I will never ask you this question again hahaha :)

That's cool but you get the idea on what I'm working on.

I just saw the post for the upcoming world cup which is only 4 months away. So I will have to work even faster than before to make sure I can finish it in time.

You just planted 0.16 tree(s)!


Thanks to @devytan

We have planted already 3465.64 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25701.92
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31