Getting loaded in the country

in #guns5 years ago (edited)

This afternoon I managed to escape work early, again, and head out to my mates farm and complete my load development. I wrote a post about load development a few days ago so you can take a look at that post here if you like. I have also added a couple of links at the end of this post which will take you to two further posts that may give some more clarity to those who are interested.

Anyway today I shot three batches of ammunition I'd made, the three that shot the best last week, and found a clear winner. Below is the rifle and my shooting position looking down range. In the very distance of the left side photo you may see a little white thing...That's my target at 207m away. You can see below for the actual target page.

Below is the 4 shots that won the day and will be the load I use for the rifle when I make the ammunition. This group was shot at 207m, just like the eight initial load-development test-batches from last week. That's 226 yards for you non-metric people. I am doing this particular load development at the greater distance (I would usually use 100m as the distance) to allow a little more time for the bullet to fly, hopefully showing up inconsistencies...Which it did.

I tested 40.9 grains, 42 grains and 42.5 grains of gun powder, the ADI 2209 I mentioned last post, and the clear winner was the 40.9 as below. That group you see there, shot at 207m, is a head shot on a rabbit every day of the week so once I range out further to say 700-800m the group would expand exponentially but still be enough to impact on umm...Let's say a rockmelon sized object. (Rockmelon is what we call cantaloupe here in Australia if you're wondering.) The round could range out past that distance however accuracy and bullet energy suffers of course. Bullet energy is important to dispatch things quickly.

I haven't trued up the data yet but I should be getting a muzzle velocity of around 2950fps (feet/second) from the round. That's the speed at which the bullet exits the muzzle and at the ranges I cull feral animals at, let's call it 500m maximum, the time of flight is 0.70 seconds rifle to target with an impact pushing some 654ft-lbf (foot pound force) into the intended target.

You'll note in the image below a curious looking ruler. It's called a shooter's ruler and enables a shooter to determine the group size of a string of rounds in MOA (Minute of angle) and MRAD (Milradian) measurements. I've explained these before so please don't ask me to do it again...It's complicated. This rifle, with these particular rounds, the 40.9 grain loads, is a 0.5 MOA rifle.

In lineal measurement 0.5 MOA is 14.54mm (0.57 inches) at 100 meters. That means a half inch group essentially. The further the bullet is fired the bigger the group gets, although it will still be a 0.5 MOA rifle. The MOA measurement diverges with distance but is still called 0.5, or 1 MOA, or two etc. Google it.

Maybe to make it easier let's just assume that 1 MOA at 100m is a 1 inch group, at 500m a 5 inch group and at 1000m a 10 inch group. Obviously it's not exactly an inch but most shooters will call it so as it's so very close the difference doesn't matter. I won't go into MRAD as I always use MOA for this particular purpose. The scope's I shoot with are all MRAD though.

So, now I've found the load it's back into my workshop to make about 40 of those rounds. I will verify my zero on my scope at 100m which is making sure the bullet lands exactly where I point the crosshairs and then will true the data. This means shooting 300m, 600m and 800m and recording the exact amount of elevation required in the scope to hit the steel target. That information gets entered into my ballistics App in MRAD and it true's all my data up and gives an exact muzzle velocity.


Above you can see the elevation turret on my Kahles 624i scope. Each click (little line) is 1/10th of an MRAD. So the 1 you see is 10 clicks, 1 Mil (Milradian). The scope gives me 25.7 Mil in elevation in total.

So, what all that means is when I range a target at say, 487m with my laser rangefinder, I can input that into the ballistics calculator and it will spit out an elevation to dial into the scope, in MRAD, so that the bullet lands at the crosshairs, where I am aiming. There are other ways to do it, like holdover but that's more technical and besides, the field firing solution (FFS) is still required to hold over.

Anyway...That's it.

Post on ballistics app here

Post on MRAD and MOA here

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Boomstick goes 'Crack......Thump'

Man this shooting business can get a serious case of complex 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it does. Well, there's other forms of shooting that aren't as complicated...Trap shooting for instance (shot gun). I enjoy the science of it though. Am good at it. Spent a while learning and still so much to learn.

Posted using Partiko Android

That gets very involved mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it does. I'm sort of dumming it all down too I'm an attempt to make it understandable. Not that people are dumb though. The problem is that I can't really explain one concept without going into several others in support. I hope I'm making it somewhat easy to follow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes mate doing well with the explanation's :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing shots my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Not bad shooting! I went to MRAD with my two new scopes as well. I did some research and seems the way to go for me.
I am anxious to see how the new scope performs on the Lapua. I'm shooting 180gr accubond with 100.5grains of Vihta Vuori and getting ~3500fps and nice accuracy out to 400yds is as far as I've shot so far.
Here is a group from 200 yards with the old Nikon scope. Don't have a fancy stick like yours, but I think the dime gets the idea across!
Lapua200.jpg

Nice group at 200. Yeah, MRAD is the way to go for longer ranges I think. Also first focal plane as well...For general hunting purposes MOA works fine. For me the. Joice to go to MRAD was more about the top end scopes and reticles not being available in MOA. I shot an MOA Nightfoece ATACR second focal plain in practical competition for a while. I went ok with it but if shooting with a spotter who only knows Mil (MRAD)...Made it hard. Went to Mil and no problemo.

The ruler...My mate owns the company that makes them. They are available at his website. I think you can probably get similar up your way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, this my first FFP scopes as well. I love the view. Never going back to other again. Still too early for me to know about the MRAD, haven't actually had them out yet, mounting this weekend if the weather improves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75