Live action: From the (very dry) grassy knoll

in #guns5 years ago

Well, here I am folks, live from the grassy knoll (aka cattle farm on which I cull feral pests). It's been a while since I've been here and as you can see it's all brown and gold now. The last time was lovely and green however what you're looking at is the result of a hot South Australian summer.

There is a little green here and there, around the dam and in the dry creek bed, but not much at all. The gum trees you see are pretty well always green but even they look like they could use a drink right now.

I arrived and hiked up to a spot where I can see the hills around me for a long way, took ranges out to about 500m and am now writing this...Waiting for something to come along. Things will pick up around sunset.

It's very quiet here, just the breeze blowing in the trees and the rasping of the tall summer grasses, the occasional bird sound or moo from a cow. I love it. I needed this...The quiet, as it's been a hell of a week at work. Not bad, just very busy. The physical exertion to get up to this point and the peaceful nature of it now I'm here...Well, it's cathartic. It gives me that little recharge I really needed.

I hope you've all had a good week...Only a day to go then it's the weekend which I'm really keen for! I hope you all have a great rest of the week and have the chance to find the peace I'm enjoying right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you get to make some good shots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just got home. Action kicked off just before dark really. 5 shots, 5 results. Was satisfying, but also a little sad...If they didn't hop the fence they'd still be hopping around and munching grass right now.

Range was fairly close...It was almost totally dark and I didn't have a spotlight. 120-170m shots. Head only. (That's the rules). Some stalking was required. So, 5 more tags used up and a happy cattle farmer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fabulous setting for some reflection indeed! I need to do something similar but all that is near here on the concrete jungles we have created. I am planning a roadtrip to get me some place like that and just have the awkward silence or sounds from nature! Enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm lucky really...I live in a city, on the fringes, moments to the beach and only 30 minutes to where these photos were taken last night. Adelaide is interesting in that it's not really very far to anywhere. The city is smallish yet has everything we need and we have hills, beach, plains, vineyards and outback all close by. No snow though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess rainfall will be low over there

Yes, in summer for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

More info on that nice looking stick in the background? Caliber and Make? Looks like some nice glass too.

Your wish is my command:

  • Tikka CTR 6mm (.243) stainless
  • Precision Defence Industries carbon fibre stock (bedded)
  • Little bastard brake
  • Atlas bipod
  • Kahles 624i 6-24x56
  • SKMR3 Reticle
  • Accuracy 1st scope level
  • Vortex scope level (backup)

I wanted lightweight hence the stock. Weighs in at just under 5kg with the glass. I shoot long range precision/practical comps (PRS) and cull with it. Groups at .35MOA at 100m zero.

A good shooting stick.

Posted using Partiko Android

SWEET! My brother was just looking at a Tikka 6.5
And the Glass you've got..... drooling over both.
He'll probably just get the Vortex 5x25 if he actually pulls the trigger on it.
Need a 200 yd zero on that baby and start pushing it out there! Should only rise maybe an inch at 100 like that.

I have a few Tikka's and have always been happy with them. I have a 6.5 Creedmoor (RPR) and get it out to a mile...Good calibre. I hope your brother likes his if he decides to get it.

Oh yeah, the optics huh? I used to run a Lightforce ATACR but stepped up to Kahles...So pleased with it. I was culling the other day taking shots at almost 9pm (almost dark) and the optics still have me a good picture...Good enough to shoot with. Very happy with it. I still have the NF and it's easy to see the difference in the optics between the two.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.411 which ranks you at #2220 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2216).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thats the best place to be in. Very quiet and peaceful. No noise, no technology and no stress. I had a friend who lives in the village, so whenever I go there I feel really happy and stress free, unless her children get naughty lol

I feel relaxed out there...Like I'm a million miles from the cares of the world...And yet I'm 20 minutes from home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78