The psychology of thievery:

in #hacking6 years ago

The psychology of thievery:

This article is writen from a point of view that explores the topic just for the sake of thinking about the topic and to get
the reader more alert of what is going on. I don't want you to use this guide to actually steal stuff, instead I want you to use it to be able to think they way a thief would and do use this for defensive purposes. Obviously you have free will, so do what you want, but don't be a dick, if you wanna be something then be Robbin Hood, but don't be robbing poor people.

Sometimes we have to steal , whether we like it or not, perhaps you are doing a physical security assessment, perhaps you are doing a red team exercise or perhaps you are just a kleptomaniac. I don't think that stealing is cool, but let's say you were in a position where you had no choice, then this article might be of some interest to you.

I'm obviously using an altaccount to write this, but in case anyone finds out who I am, let me set this straight for the record. The first thing I ever shoplifted was when I was 7 years old, I stole a book by accident from a toy store. I thought it was free, so I took it and left casually. A few weeks later I was on a plane with my parents and my mom looked at the book and asked me where I got it, she also saw that the booklet cost quite a bit of money. To my surprise I found out that I had successfully shoplifted my first and last item ever...to date. I had to return the book eventually and the people at the store thought it was pretty funny. Moral of the story, whether or not you want to admit it, you have stolen something in your life, and you might have done it without being aware of it.

My career in shoplifting obviously didn't get very far, but that dosn't mean I havn't stolen anything else. I've stolen lots of stuff during penetration tests, both physical and digital. I was also the best thief when it came to stealing sweets and chocolates in my parent's home when growing up, I think this happened because of my very weird skill I have where I find it really easy to find things that people hide. During my career as a cookie cupboard thief I made my mother's life
very hard and I feel bad about that and I've apologised many times, although I did learn allot of things from this experience. I think many of the examples I give to demonstrate the psychology of a thief, will come from my perspective as a cookie cupboard thief.

First Strategy:

Steal something and see if the person who owns it notices. If they do, put it back and see what happens.
This is a strategy that is often used by people who work in someone's house or office, I've actually been victim to this.
The basic idea is to first move the item from where it was originally to a new location and see if the owner even notices. If the owner doesn't notice,especially
after a few days, then it means that this item is not an item that they use or look at everyday and chances are if you move it to your pocket that they also won't
notice immediately,perhaps they would notice after a few days. Remember that most people are forgetful and people who have lots of belongings actually have trouble
keeping track of all of them.

Second Strategy:

Steal a small amount of something and see if the owner notices. This works good for stealing something like medication or food, where once
the packaging has been removed you could take one or two items from the package without the owner noticing. I mean who actually keeps count
of the number of pills that they have in bottle. Obviously it won't make sense to take two ritalins from a bottle of ritalin if only 5 are left, but if
there are 30 in the bottle, then if 3 go missing it won't be such a big deal straight away.

Third Strategy.

Steal small parts or amounts of something to avoid detection. This one is hard to explain. Let's say we hav a box of cigarettes and we steal a little
bit of tabacco from each cigarette then we can keep the pack looking normal, since all the cigarettes will be missing a tiny amount of tabacco. Thus we will
have consistancy accross all cigarettes. Or back to stealing pharmaceutical drugs, if you have a bunch of ritalin capsules of let's say 30mg each and you still
1mg from each 30mg capsule, then you will have one whole capsule's worth of ritalin, without any physical signs that something has been stolen.

Fourth Strategy:

Before I explain this strategy, I'd like to explain a strategy for ruling out untrustworthy people.
I used to work with a guy who had a father who was a detective. He explained to me that any new person that he works with is put through a test, I had passed the test
when I found out about this. Lol
The test works as follows, my friend would put out a number of valueable items or cash around different places. He would only show one hiding spot where the valueble or
cash was placed to one person(obviously a new person at work), thus only this person knew about this. If the item would go missing it would be easy to know who took it.
The items were fairly well hidden so you can think of this as some kind of honeytoken or canary token, where if it was accessed it would be easy to find out who
took it, since only the new person knew about it. The thing about this test is nobody knows about it, but know you do, so don't take stuff that aint yours!

So the strategy here is to try and find out how many people are aware of a piece of information, before acting on that piece of information.

This article has gone way to far and I'm going to stop now. Be good, or be good at it!
Thanks for reading, please follow if you would like to read more nefarious plans on how to take over the world!

Ending Credits:

Images from:

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 40.93% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Hi, throwawayaccount! Wish you a great journey here in this awesome community :) Be happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks will join them!

I disagree with theft and with Bernie Sanders.

Thanks you have my support on that one!

Welcome to Steemit throwawayaccount. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Thanks for the very warm welcome :) I actually made a few videos on youtube.
I took a look at ChainBB recently, but I think it got decommissioned.
I will be following you.

I like the way you wrote this article! I personally don't consider thievery like a crime when you have good reasons and when it don't penalize the one that was stolen. A little like when you found a xss bug in a famous ecommerce site of your country. Illegal but morale.
Good article!

The xss bug is technically not illegal, because xss is a client side bug and I was trying to exploit myself. Sql injection is different because you are actually interacting with the server. Even stored xss isn't really illegal if you think about it.

Thanks for the feedback.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Release the Kraken! You got a 16.67% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @throwawayaccount!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22