Brings a Tear to the Eye, Haiku, Photography and Digital Art, A Sublime, Beautiful, and Funky Sunday

in #haiku5 years ago

Brings A Tear to the Eye

IMG_7736.jpg

IMG_7737.jpg




fiery stem, chopped
brings a tear to the eye
purple onion bloom


These gorgeous onion blooms were enjoying the attention of more than few bumble bees. It struck me as odd that the stem that held the beautiful purple flower, its pollen and sweet nectar, was spicy hot. Delicous in an entirely different way. Likely the bees have no idea and would not be at all impressed on what goes on under the petals. Here the bumble takes the sweet and the gourmet the bitter and spicy.

IMG_7735 (3).jpg

IMG_7735 (2).jpg

Today's Sunday. It's purple for those who like to take part in the steem week of color. It's also #sublimesunday, hosted by @c0ff33a and #beautifulsunday, hosted by @ace108. Then we have #funkyedits, hosted by @krazypoet and the reason for the bit of fun with the bee shot. A big shout to these three fine folks for making Sunday one of my favorite days to post.

All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Lovely. I have ornamental onion flowers in my backyard too. They're not as vibrant as your photos.

These ones were quite vibrant and larger than normally:)

Gorgeous flowers. I love the muted purple. Good job sneaking up on the bees too, though they are probably a bit pre-occupied in their daily chores to mess with caring about the big eye coming their way. I love how one post can cover so many things for a day, in the challenge department. Never thought of that before. Cheers on a Sunday that is looking very sublime here.

Thanks, DD:) I find if you stand there they will eventually land for you. There were so many:)

Its really pretty and colorful flowers photography.

Thank you, Kam:)

Lovely chive blossoms. I have some in my garden that are ready to open. The bees love the blossoms. The smell of the chives in the air is pleasant to my senses.

I have always liked them too:)

These are so pretty! Mine are blooming right now, too. I need to remember to pluck the flowers before they go to seed or else I will have chive plants everywhere!

They are thriving bloom that is for sure:)

Personally, I prefer this kind of blooming onion. :-)

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blooming_onion

Blooming onion
A blooming onion, onion bloom, onion blossom, onion flower, bloomin' onion, or onion mum is a dish consisting of one large onion which is cut to resemble a flower, battered, and deep-fried. It is served as an appetizer at some restaurants.

You know I have never been a fan of onion rings. I have a theory that it is really the breading that everyone is after:) But that plate looks nice:)

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Nice! They make me think of galaxies ; )

I like that thought. They sure have a lot of petals:)

Did you count them yet? Haha

I ma afraid he won't love me if I do:)

These are wonderful blooms, and they are called onion blooms - what an unusual name! The bee seems to be enjoying the flower, and you got some great photos of it as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17