VDUX's Royal Haiku Contest

in #haiku5 years ago


(Not my picture -- used with permission from SAHO)

Welcome to the VDUX Royal Haiku Contest!!!

Come join one of the most up-and-coming haiku contests in the world. I ask for 30 seconds of your time. In return, you could win 1.5 SBDs. Fair deal? That's a rate of 180 SBDs PER HOUR!

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about royalty.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Purple robes. Gold crowns.

Relics of ancient empires.

Today they wear suits.

You may submit multiple haikus, but PLEASE make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @poyim, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea. If you have any suggestions for future contests, reply below!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, November 29, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, November 29, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

PLUS, bonus if you can name the monarch in the post picture.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests -- the list keeps growing!

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista, @binkyprod, @jayna, @mfunbee, @alrahman

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

This be me submission: Winteric royal rot for this contest here:


Image Source Here

- Winteric royal rot -

Snowflakes stir about
here now in the royal throne -
crystalizing rot.

{Literal translations, follows not the 17-syllable limit.}

雪花搅拌着现在在皇家宝座 - 结晶腐烂。

Los copos de nieve se mueven por aquí ahora en el trono real - pudrición cristalizada.

Where are the masons?

Idk, they're hidin' someone and anywhere but there. Still got my safety-stick in the case they sneak up on me.

I hear they’re secretly plotting the destruction of something or other...That’s all I know about them

Posted using Partiko iOS

Royal crown held high
Jewels strung over soft skin
Life of a princess

Personal experience?

I wish.
I did spend a while on this one. I couldn't get the syllables right to start with.

You done good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

the moments stolen
beyond the camera's flash
free to smile and laugh

Watch from a distance
They smile and wave politely
Dreaming of a crown

Ah the prince and princesses!

Straight back, head held high
Quiet yet think confidence
Curtsy, never bow

And yet again :)

Poems on royals
Productive prompt, @poyim
Behold our haiku

Challenge excepted!

I've made a little riddle out of this haiku...
Guess Who!

:D

She had won our hearts.
Only to have it broken.
Then stopped beating.

mmmmm...... 😁

@poyim hasn't responded!!!

Sorry, I've been very busy... It's that time of year again.
Thanks for taking my suggestion.

I've made a little riddle out of this haiku...
Guess Who!

She had won our hearts.
Only to have it broken.
Then stopped beating.

WELCOME BACK!!!!

Oh, dear!!

life owned by others
you are not you, you are theirs
wave now, smile nicely

That's right, duty to the subjects...I forget about that.

ivory towers
teeter and rock with each move
watch your step up there

Staring crowds clap hands -
Cloth of Tyrian purple
Caesar's royal rounds

PM_110511_Liebig_Chromos.jpg
source

Well done!

A pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12