Best BASE JUMPING Video you have ever seen!!! - The Real Oktoberfest!

in #halloween5 years ago (edited)

BASE Halloween.jpg

Watch the ridiculousness that went on this Halloween time!

BASE jumps, Beer, BBQ, that is what the real Oktoberfest is!

This was one of the most fun times I have ever had, and it was just as fun making the video edit. We had so much footage (around 85GB as I was filming in 4k), it was hard to pick which bits to leave out as I wanted to keep the video length small. The actual finished edit is 9.5GB, again I had to keep it within my Vimeo upload limit.

Depending on your broadband speed the video may take a while to buffer in 4k, but it's worth the wait. The quality we got from the drone was immense (Dji Mavic Air drone).

VIDEO BELOW:

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

If you liked the BASE jumping, feel free to give the video a cheeky up-vote and of course I always welcome any comments!

I love Halloween, I love creepy and spooky stuff too, so any excuse and I am game! If it was up to me everyday would be halloween, and my house house would be one horror theme haha.

Here is my creepy tattoo sleeve ( done by artist @allangraves )

Finished lower sleeve.jpg

I am bad in October, my wife kills me, I have to buy new Halloween masks and props every year when I see them.

Here are a few I got this year, this Pumpkin scarecrow one I got from Halloween Town in Los Angeles when I was out there, it's in Burbank along Magnolia Drive. I added the corn to the hat with a glue gun to make it more my own.

What do you think of the wife's mask? Pretty scary eh? :p

IMG_6454.JPG

This is a Purge mask I got from ebay, its sick!

IMG_5745.PNG

This was a super market jobby, but still had to buy it!

IMG_5787.JPG

This mask I got from Venice. You are meant to paint them with your design, but I thought it looked much creepier leaving it white. This is hard plastic this one, it's awesome.

GZWG5204.JPG

THE ABOVE BASE JUMPING VIDEO IS NOT AN INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO, I AM NOT A BASE JUMPING INSTRUCTOR. IT IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. DO NOT GO AND ATTEMPT TO BASE JUMP BECAUSE YOU SAW MY POST.

@curie @steemit @Steemitcentral
#freefall #terminalvelocity #skydiving #basejumper #skydiver #frothing #fullfroth #frother #adventure #life #adrenaline #extremesports #adrenalinesports #gopro #travel #rockon #summereveryday #summer #sliderdown #subterminal #base #basejumping #basejump #europe #gonthrow #321cya #seeya #mcconkey #rollover #sunsetbasejump #fullsend #basehouse #thebasehouse #halloween #everydayishalloween #creepy #horror #spooky #ghosts

Sort:  

Oh boy!!! When I saw that bridge at the beginning, I wondered why you are walking on it.. no, it didn't click that it was jumping for some reason :D

Then I saw you crossing that railing and I thought OMG!! I almost got sick from my stomach just looking at you :D BUT it was amazing! If I would just be able to overcome my fears I would go for it. You must feel completely free and that level of adrenaline that you're experiencing must be very high :D

Has it every happened to you that somebody would pull the car over and watched you? Or come to you and tried to convince you not to commit a suicide? :D

Great video!! And that music fits it very well! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your nice comments, its much appreciated!
The first time I walked the bridge was terrifying, I won't lie. I still get scared now but I am able to put the fear to one side for a short period of time. Once you have trust in your equipment and faith in your packing, the fear becomes easier to manage.
I wear a high-vis vest so that people in the cars may think I am a builder, as yes in the past they have called the police thinking that someone is committing suicide.
Thanks for the music comment also, I thought hard about which tracks to use :-)

It's my pleasure as your 'hobby' is very unusual :)

Good to hear how you manage your fear. It's good to overcome ourselves. I can imagine that you feel like a king when you land ;)

Is it legal to jump from bridges? I just wonder how policemen react when they come to you...

Damn dude, you got WAY bigger balls than I do lol. I can barely watch the video. That's the scary part for me hahaha

Where was the bridge located? Looks like a cool location. Can't believe you did it in the dark with glow sticks though.

Is it just a crazy rush of adrenaline? Is there any special timing to when you release the parachute or is it just try to drop it as soon as possible? Terrifying man.

Great masks and good music choice. Were you able to see the ground when you landed in the dark? Looked black AF in the video.

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks man!
The bridge is a few hours outside of Italy (can't give a specific location I'm afraid).

On this bridge you have 4 seconds from when you jump until you would hit the ground, so we don't want to leave it more than 2 seconds before deploying our parachute. So yeah you wanna get it out pretty quick haha.

I couldn't see the ground on the night jump, all I could see was the car headlights, and a glow stick on the ground as a target. I flared a little early when coming in to land as I thought the ground was closer than it was, which is why I fell over :-)

Hahaha damn man that is gnarly. I can see why that was the scariest thing you've done lol I was just sitting on my end, mouth agape. Were you able to get an angle from the ground of you coming in with the glow sticks or something? I'm just trying to imagine what it must have looked like from the other end to see some dude floating through the air with neon lights hanging all over him hahaha

Still, looks like you can have a lot of fun with it. Not sure I'd ever have the balls to do it but I don't mind watching from my laptop. Stay safe man! Four seconds is such a short time hahahahaha

Thanks! And yeah I was a little gutted we didn't have any cameras about on the ground for the night jump. I asked my buddy who jumped before me and he said he couldn't really see me on the bridge when he was on the ground, but he said it looked cool as I came down as I came out of nowhere haha

That's all I could think about hahaha I wonder what it looked like as you came in. All good though, the rest of the vid makes up for it. Probably would have just been a blurry neon blur floating through a screen of black lol Cheers mate! Thanks again for sharing!

This gave me a serious adrenaline rush.
Very scary & very brave. It must be exhilarating.
Great video

Cheers, it's a good time

Indeed it was, thanks man

haha! Howdy from Texas basejumper! you guys are crazy! lol. what a fun video though, you have guts. hey is there a second chute that opens if the main one fails?

Hey ya'll! Nope, no reserve parachute in BASE jumping, there wouldn't be enough altitude for it to deploy in time. BASE rigs are kept nice and simple, we have a packing process that allows us to check every part of the rig as we pack, we also pack in a manner that reduces our chances of a malfunction. We cannot rule it out 100% but it is very unlikely you would get one, and if you do, it can be down to packing error, poor body position on deployment and as well as things out of our control like vortexes and wind rotors etc.
You need to make sure you are jumping in the right conditions all the time

thanks for the explanations basejumper, you guys are so courageous! lol.
It makes great videos.

Shit..this is epic :D I'm considering buying DJI Mavic Air and you just pushed me real hard towards it :D So you say Oktoberfest. Do you have it in UK as well or you kinda took advantage of opportuinity and reason provided by Germans :D

Also, it's totally clear you like halloween as all the pictures are full of some scary masks haha :D even tattoos. well congratz to curie upvote and man, take care of yourself :D

Thanks bud!
Yes do it, get an Air! They are insane little things. They are so small, you can put it in your pocket, thats why I wanted it, so I could walk on the bridge with the drone, then throw it over and stick the controller down my top for the jump, then fly it back down after the jump.
They are louder in the air than the Pro, but don't let that put you off. I would have my little Air over the Pro any day. It still does 4k cinematic like the Pro.
Oktoberfest, we try to have it in the UK but it usually ends up in people drinking loads of beer and wanting to fight each other.
I was a couple of hours from Italy in the video and we made our own version of Oktoberfest haha, Beer, Mates, BBQ and BASE jumping everyday for 4 days, yyeeeeeewwwwww!

Hahaha can't imagine base jumping with belly full of beer and BBQ tho :D i've done one tandem jump and wasn't able to eat the day before hahaha :D

haha brilliant, yeah we don't jump after having a beer, we keep the beer nice and cold for when we are finished jumping for the day.

We did a nice BBQ for lunch as a lot of the time you can't jump for several hours during the day as a thermal wind comes through underneath the bridge (making it dangerous and unpredictable), so we have a big lunch and take our time packing our parachutes ready for after :-)

Epic send and video man! Congrats on the feature!

Thanks buddy!

Hello @basejumper, luxury tattoos, I've always had a little fear of this type of sporting activity, I delegate it to those who have guts.

nothing better than to enjoy a good barbecue with beers and enjoy your deadly trade hahahaha... amazing, unfortunately I can not see the full video my internet does not allow it.

but if I have seen videos in 4k of that drone and are fabulous images obtained. great acquisition.

thank you for sharing these base jumps

I'm going to jump I'm going

Ah man, maybe check it out another time then. Thanks for your comments though, I agree, BBQ and beers with mates after you have had a great day is hard to beat ;-)

I got to see the video, amazing <3 <3 ...

of course after a long day of jumping, chatting with friends, eating and drinking is the best.

@basejumper beautiful halloween photos and video if you have a lot of adrenalin for the jumps of a great bridge. I would not dare to do that XD, I like how they do the video, of all the angles they put the jumps, someday I will try to make a jump but with a maya down.

Hey, thanks for your kind words!

Hi basejumper,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

Thanks, I look forward to seeing the showcase, will you link me to it on the day?
The post its self has quite a bit of info regarding it, but if you would like a brief little introduction from me I am happy to post something below:

I am a UK based frother in my thirties, and I like to celebrate life as often as possible!

I spend a lot of my time trading Crypto, but when I’m not I like to play in the clouds in my wingsuit, and go BASE jumping.

I try to live the most fun life as possible, which means lots of Wakeboarding, Wakesurfing, Sky diving, with a little bit of downhill thrown in there also.

I just went to a Slayer gig last night in London, as part of their final tour and it was EPIC! I'm a huge Slayer fan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86