Need a dose of paradise? Hamilton Island in far north Queensland..

in #hamiltonisland6 years ago

My idea of a relaxing holiday is a place where its warm, theres beautiful beaches and NO CARS!
December 2016 I visited Hamilton Island... WoW
IMG_2205.JPG
This was my first time here and I didn't really have high hopes of it being really good. I thought it was going to be over prices and underwhelming. I WAS WRONG!

IMG_2285.JPG

Hamilton Island a gorgeous island part of the Whitsundays islands. Its so green with beautiful trees and plants everywhere. So many colourful flowers everywhere. The beaches are so clean and warm. The sand is white and soft... The wildlife around is just so beautiful. Lots of cockatoos around looking for some food from the tourists. You're not really supposed to feed them but most people do... Tourists rarely follow rules.. lol I even saw some wallabies hopping around which was so cool. Its just such a natural place..
IMG_2074.JPG
IMG_2361.JPG
I must say my favourite thing was that there are no cars on the island. Everyone gets around on golf buggies. This is so much fun and feels so safe. Not to mention quiet. I love it.
IMG_2207.JPG
One of the activities we did while here was get a boat out to The Great Barrier Reef. This was such a cool day trip.
A whole group of us jumped on a boat and got transported out to a pontoon out in the Great Barrier Reef. We had a barbecue and then all put of wetsuits and jumped in the water and snorkelled out in the middle of the ocean to see the reef. It was so cool. The coral was so beautiful. I was lucky enough to see a huge sea turtle swim past which was cool. I also got my pic taken with a huge groper fish. I highly recommend this activity if you like nature.
IMG_0282.JPGIMG_2150.JPG
IMG_2119.JPG
On our last night we had a dinner party by the beach which was just so much fun. We had a fireworks show just for our group and then we got served big seafood platters by the staff who were dressed in wetsuits and snorkels and they came to our tables from the beach.. It was like they brought the seafood straight out of the ocean.. ha ha. I thought it was a fun twist. After dinner we had drinks and had a dance on the dance floor and seriously all had so much fun. I also recommend this activity.
IMG_2353.JPGIMG_2354.JPGIMG_2357.JPGIMG_2103.JPG

I absolutely love Hamilton Island and for anyone wondering whether it is worth visiting this place I would say yes yes yes... Its just so beautiful and full of great activities.. Hope you get to go there some day..
Love Dina xx
IMG_2283.JPG

Sort:  

Hamilton Island looks like a magical place. Thank you for sharing.

It definitely is.. You should visit it if you are ever in Australia...

My wife certainly wants to visit, I know I've wanted to visit Australia and New Zealand since I was a small boy. I fear that we may never be able to though, finances keep us strapped to our current location. Bills are paid, but not much remains at the end of the month. Oh well, I can live vicariously through other people's adventures such as yours and be satisfied.

Never stop dreaming.. You never know what can happen in life. I hope you get the opportunity to do it one day... I will certainly get you many brownie points with Mrs Xmaas...

Made me smile, thank you. Have an amazing day! Much love, X.

Congratulations @dinatee, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2384 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $282.69. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30