photography - entry 2 for #harbourphotocontest with theme "Harbour/Yacht Club Photography"

This photo of an abandoned boating dock in China Camp State Park in San Rafael is my second #harbourphotocontest entry for theme Harbour/Yacht Club Photography in the Photo Fun Contest by @claudiaz.

131124_9EM7685l.jpg

I have taken many photos in the marinas in the Bay Area (California, USA) that would be suitable for this theme. But browsing through my archive I remembered this old location and the photo of the boating dock I had taken there. China Camp State Park preserves a shrimping camp that was build by Chinese immigrants in the mid 1800s - one of many around the San Francisco and San Pablo Bays. You can read more about its history here.

Here are a few more photos from the camp:
A stranded boat:

131124_9EM7691l.jpg


An old gasoline pump:

131124_9EM7677l.jpg


And two wooden planks with images of the Chinese immigrant families that lived and worked here:

131124_9EM7688l.jpg

131124_9EM7690l.jpg

These look like photos, but how they were transferred to the wooden planks I don't know, and I couldn't get any background info about them in the little museum in which they can be found. I'd love to know how this was done though because this would be a unique way to print/present my own photography.


Overview of current photography contests


« Referral links »
Buy my art on Etsy.
View my steemit posts on busy.org.
Join me in the SteemEngine community.
Receive Universal Basic Income from mannabase.


divider-web-sites.png

spacerbanner kagalakan.comspacerbanner insharedoneness.comspacer

quote-formulate-desire.png

spacerbuy prints on etsyspacer


#epvm #epvm-blog #epvm-photography
Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
Requests to print any of my photographs are welcome.

Sort:  

These are really interesting photos. I like your point of view. They tell great stories without words. One likes to immerse yourself in your pictures to see more. Great!

very nice photos, thank you for the entry

Nice shots! I really like the gas pump and the boat. It looks like they've booth been out of service for a few years!

There's a country restaurant near where I live with a pump very much like that one.

Thanks @fotosdenada. Yes these have been out of service for quite some time. This site is now a park to preserve the original dwellings.

Nice one friend...this shot is so cool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70