Are you ready for Game of Thrones season 8?

in #hbo5 years ago

A few days ago, HBO made the first official trailer for Game of Thrones season 8 available. It has already been seen by more than 34 million people, saying a whole lot about the expectations people have for the upcoming season of Game of Thrones.

Just to compare it with the movie people expect to be the highest grossing of all in 2019, Avengers: Endgame - the official trailer of the movie that was released 3 months ago from Marvel has had 89 million views since then. But, it has had 3 months at reaching that number. So, who knows, maybe the official Game of Thrones season 8 trailer will reach similar numbers before the first episode will air in April 2019?

What can be known for sure is that the excitement is big and the fans are waiting!

I just finished an article on how you can stream Game of Thrones season 8 online, and in the article, I wrote something about the number of viewers the different seasons of Game of Thrones has had in the USA. Normally, TV shows start with a high number, only to show a steady decrease throughout the seasons, and then the future seasons of continuing with even fewer viewers. In the end, a network removes the TV show from its schedule. Suits is an example of such a TV show. But, then there are those TV shows running a totally different race. The Big Bang Theory on CBS is such a program, and it has mostly experienced an increase in viewers from season to season. And yes, the same is true about Game of Thrones.

The first season of Game of Thrones started with around 2 million viewers on HBO in the USA. Guess how many people watched the first episode of the seventh season of Game of Thrones in the USA? It started with more than 10 million viewers, and the final episode had more than 12 million viewers. Those are simply crazy numbers. I have no clue what we can expect from the last season, but my guess is that they will reach 14 million viewers on the opening episode, and probably even more at the final episode that will bring the story to an end.

The final season will only consist of six episodes, but that will make the story even more interesting and easier to digest for those who dislike seaons with lots of episodes, and TV shows that never really seem to come to an end. But, I believe most fans would rather have seen 20 episodes in the last season of Game of Thrones, because they just feel sad that it will actually come to an end.

Will HBO ever continue the Game of Thrones story?

We cannot say anything for sure, and we have no clue how they will bring the entire story to an end. But, a show that enjoys such fantastic number of viewers and with such a status in the world, cannot be easy to bring to an end. They for sure had their reasons, but as there will come more Game of Thrones books from the author of the original stories, I believe it will be tempting for HBO to continue a couple of years down the road.

I have got to admit, I am not a big fan of Game of Thrones myself, but I feel really tempted to start my journey into the Game of Thrones universe now. Maybe I will be able to finish all the earlier seasons before Game of Thrones season 8 will hit the screens in April 2019? I doubt that, but still - it might be a nice journey to take.

Are you looking forward to Game of Thrones season 8? Are you happy that the story will come to an end and bring closure, or would you rather see lots of new seasons coming after season 8? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

I'm really a new follower of GOT, for years they recommended the series to me, and for some reason I always postponed it, but when season 7 was finally released, the spoilers were everywhere, so I knew I would have to start later it would be too late. It took me about 3 weeks to see the 7 seasons, I had to watch more than one episode per day. Although the first season is a bit slow, but then the series improves a lot, although it goes down towards the end, the seasons 2, 3, 4, 5 are the best, although in temp 6 and 7 it has good moments too, but the level general low.

But, then there are those TV shows running a totally different race. The Big Bang Theory on CBS is such a program, and it has mostly experienced an increase in viewers from season to season. And yes, the same is true about Game of Thrones.

I remember that with Breaking Bad something similar happened, at the beginning almost nobody saw it, and then at the end 10 million watching the last episode.

Well, I haven't started yet, but I guess the time should be ready soon :) Thank you for your very thorough and long comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89