Never Say These Things To Someone With Anxiety

in #health5 years ago

There are some things you should not tell someone with anxiety. Mental illnesses are not a walk through the park.
anxiety-2878777_960_720.jpg
-Calm Down, this is like telling someone with epilepsy to stop having a seizure. If someone s anxious saying this will not make them stop like a damn spell or something.

-Get Over It, as I said, this is not like a broken leg. It's far more complicated.

  • It Could be Worst, what could be worst than fighting your own demons in your head? Stop making everything a competition.

There are a lot of things you shouldn't say. My mom ever says some of these. because she doesn't understand. No one ever understands what's inside your head.

Sort:  

thanks for useful information . i enjoyed reading it . thanks

I always got angry when people told me how I can fix my own problem. Everyone has a five minute minute solution for me, and it always has nothing to do with anyone else. I never knew so many people I knew thought they qualified to me for giving me advice as if they were my own trusted psychologist or therapist, without actually having any education on the matter or any knowledge of my current situation or history. I'd always give them the same sarcastic, mean response. "Thanks! I wish I thought of that!"

The other one that pissed me off, was when people would ask me how I'm doing, and then when I told them how honestly bad things were, they would smile and tell me their favorite story about a rough time they went through, and try to prove to me that their situation was much, much worse. And they would always finish by insisting that my problem could go away just as easily as theirs did.

I'm going to a funeral tomorrow. Maybe I'll make a post of dumbest things to tell someone after they lost a family member. Some people always put their foot in their mouth. I already decided I'm not going to say anything unless I have to, and certainly not on the microphone to impress a bunch of strangers who I never met, and will never see again.

Thanks for sharing your experience. I find it is best to just let feelings wash out in a natural way when they need to after a stressful event occurs. When others need to release their feelings, I make a strong effort not to blame them or take offense for any comments they make, no matter how personal it may seem. Once the ugly is out, only beauty remains for those who are able to see it.

Life would be easier if people understaood mental illnesses.

Also: "There's no reason for you to be anxious."
Yeah, like an ILLNESS would listen to someone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34