I am new in this world...

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I spent the last two days attending a training session. 10 hours of class per day, it was serious business. I really did enjoy it as I learnt new things I didn't know I needed to know.

image

Background

As a microbiologist, I was once limited to only carrying out laboratory tests (which I never did anyway because I'm more interested in biotechnological research). When I was placed in this particular unit, I was vexing in my spirit, I don't need another virus in my life (I thought), I didn't know that it'd be something I'd enjoy so much. The training sessions has taught me stuff I didn't even know.

Some of the things learnt

In the course of two days I learnt;
¶ Family planning methods
¶ More about HIV testing and counselling
¶ Disclosure
¶ PMTCT
¶ Follow up
¶ More ART and their regimens
¶ How to properly report results and data of clients (patients)

Summary

I was the youngest participant and also the greenhorn but I was taken into the fold with warmth and cheers. During the course of this training I met some amazing women (yeah, more women are involved in healthcare around here) who are passionate about their work. Trust me, it's not easy tracking and following up someone who doesn't want to be found. Some of our clients are lost to follow up due to any of the following reasons;

  • Death
  • Stigma
  • Relocation
  • Family issues
  • Any many more

Subsequently, I may write more on any of these subheadings.

Conclusion

Know your HIV status today! Better to get started on ART early, the Opportunistic Infections (OI) kills faster than the virus itself except there's timely intervention.
If you test positive after the confirmatory test, ensure you get started on INH-treatment as early as you can.

image

Sort:  

that is great.

Congratulations, this post has been upvoted using the Steemjet community account. Keep publishing quality posts using the steemjet tag to earn curation rewards.

Join us

Steemjet Discord channel-https://discord.gg/vdZe8JW

We hope to see you around. Keep Steeming!!!

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86