Have You Ever Taken A Moment To Ponder The Discretionary Brilliance Of Autophagy?

in #health5 years ago (edited)

The human body has this incredibly useful skill that happens every day, but is supercharged during water-only fasting. Therapeutic fasting practitioners have know about this discretionary power for centuries, but we have only recently (1963) given it a name. Autophagy or the power of the body to repair itself and to purge itself of disease has three forms: Macro-autophagy, Micro-autophagy, and Chaperone-mediated-autophagy. A Nobel prize was awarded in 2016 for figuring out how the mechanisms for this miraculous process work.

Long story made short. Autophagy has discretion on what to breakdown and use for energy when we fast. Incredibly it always starts by burning the trash a.k.a. superfluous tissues before it starts eating too much protein or begins to devour organs and important stuff. These superfluous tissues include fat, tumors, dead cells, old cells, cysts, just stuff your body doesn’t need to survive. Our brain does need some glucose that it gets by breaking down protein and converting it to glycogen in a process called gluconeogenesis, but only what it needs. The ratio has been physiologically proven to be 97% fat loss to 3% lean muscle mass. Now that is a trade I’ll make all day long! The very last thing the body breaks down is the brain and nervous system and the heart muscle. The actual pecking order of this breakdown is available in the reference information listed below.

However, using fasting to engage autophagy to lose weight is a rather trivial function of autophagy. Healing wounds and purging sickness and disease is the gold standard for this miraculous power that each of us was born with. A genetic imprint handed down from generation to generation that manages the regeneration of our bodies without our having to think about it. To tap into this miraculous power and give it Cart Blanc to make our bodies right is to do nothing. Give our daily routines a rest. Autophagy needs water and rest to do its work and that’s it! This beautiful, wonderful, hard working process needs only water and rest! How about that for being completely opposite of man’s wisdom! Since birth we have been force fed and made to believe we need to take something, eat something, do something (and paying all the way) to achieve our health goals. I don’t know about you, but it just seems there is a higher power at work here that designed this wonderful capability into the bodies of every life form on the planet. And then gave us the ability to pass it on perfectly to the next generation. And the best benefit of all, which is REALLY opposite of man’s wisdom, it’s free of cost. People will do anything to get back their health and here we have this gift that requires nothing except to take in water when thirsty and rest to accomplish what others work so hard and spend so much for. “Knowledge is power to the person who has it.” There, now you certainly have something to ponder when you fast.
human-skeleton-163715_960_720.jpg
pixabay

Sources:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autophagy
The Complete Guide To Fasting:
https://lookaside.fbsbx.com/file/The%20Complete%20Guide%20to%20Fasting_%20-%20Jason%20Fung.pdf?token=AWyJG7JlA6aYUiuZmz3ZHz-JZcZyaEc3bhWkJDFjvUWkWUGyeiJ8yUifCxS0LufintBzkdZZgcooSMOK1lbpZHj6L2EkNO9ygSO8rzjRnJPI0nYbsKRzKEaym1_uK4WsStnEyxP8SVi2nHyAjW-QqMsPyPtx2k95Db_Z87eraTxbDA
Fasting and Sunbathing:
http://loveandtruth.net/shelton-fasting.html

Sort:  

Thanks, I did. The Paleo diet, fasting as we did when the hunt didn't go well, and respect for our circadian rhythms is a trend I would like to see continue.

This post was upvoted by 100 accounts and @interfecto thanks to @chuck2u32

@interfecto: Selling the cheapest upvotes on Steemit for just 0.001 SBD each! Send any amount 0.001-0.1 SBD with your postlink as memo to @interfecto to buy instant upvotes!

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 3.4%!
Thank you for giving your trust and witness vote to my creator @isnochys!
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount

Really informative.
Thank you.

This post has been upvoted by @nanobot with 7.6%!
Thank you for giving your trust and witness vote to my creator @isnochys!
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount

Thank you for the article,

I imagine autophagy as some kind of packman in your cells which is chased by ghosts. I made an article series concerning this issue Part1, Part2, Part3, Part4, Part5.1 & 5.2.

For me autophagy is one of the most exciting cellular mechanisms.

Have a nice sunday

Regards

Chapper

Thanks, Chapper, I will! It's my 49 wedding anniversary and if I don't my wife will kill me. Thank you for the links to your articles. I will read them as I want to make a big deal about this to friends and family. I'm tired of watching friends and family dying of autoimmune diseases that can be successfully treated with fasting.

Hey chuck,

it's really sad to hear that your friends have these problems. But it's wonderful that you and your wife are together for so many years.

Congratulation!

Concerning the fasting you mentioned. I wrote something about this in the fifth chaper of my autophagy articles. Today I uploaded the english version of my article about caloric restriction and memetics. Maybe this is also intersting for you.

Have a nice day with your wife

So long

Chapper

Thank you for the well wishes and for another link to your work. Not today for obvious reasons, but I will read it!

How Cool!

You got a 5.56% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @interfecto!

Help us grow, delegate today!

Once in a great while the old squirrel finds a nut. How and what the body does is still an amazing mystery. It has a separate high level intelligence that is a struggle for some to comprehend. By that I mean that if you take a brilliant person and an imbecile and give each an inch long cut on their arm the cuts will heal at a similar rate even though their intelligence is vastly different. This autophgy thing is really cool how it shovels out the crap in the order of its importance to the body. Over the decades of research using autopsies on people and animals that for whatever the reason were fasted to certain points, even to death, to develop this information.

you know...I'd never really thought about the ratio between healing rate and intelligence.

How is your low-carb lifestyle thing doing? I recently joined a water fasting group on Facebook and am getting a lot of motivation there to do more extended day fasting. I am about to break under 200, but this weekend is our 49th wedding anniversary and I'm eating a lot of flour. No added sugar still. Using intermittent fasting to keep it off is very easy for me. I just always skip breakfast and also lunch a few times a week and then low carb for supper. Works for me!

It's working.
I'm below 300 and seem to be staying there.
I just bought a few gallons of pork rinds (no carbs) any time I get the munchies.
I muncha few.

And salads...so MANY salads...
but the good part is STEAK!
I love me some sirloins!

That's my go-to snack as well except that I use them as a shovel to scoop up zero-carb dip. It's our 49th wedding anniversary today, but we have spread the celebration over the weekend. We are skipping church today to revisit some old haunts and find new ones.
I'm into charcuterie so making delectable sausage and other smoked and cured meat is what fills my tummy and puts a smile on my face.

Never thought of that. Sounds Yummy.
Is the world ready for me to learn how to cook?
Utmost caution is advised.

I was looking for a horseradish dip for my rinds and found this. Most are low carb and the widest variety I've ever seen. https://www.hiddenvalley.com/recipe/?keyword=dips&action_ProcessRecipeSearchForm=Go&utm_source=yahoo&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=HVF_Generic_Recipe_Dips_Phrase

One of my favorite dips is a packet of French onion soup mix dumped into a pound of sour cream. Otherwise there's French onion off the shelf. Bacon ranch is a keeper too. Otherwise I love to cook. Takes a while to get good at it though. Before my stroke and anti-sugar kick I used to make creme brulee that is way easier than you would think.

The only way we can screw up autophagy is to eat too often. Our bodies were not made to eat often nor regularly. I don't know if this higher intelligence that runs the body is the subconscious or what.

Our bodies were not made to eat often nor regularly.
I've heard different.
Supposedly we should eat a great many small meals (snacks) a day, and only eat an ocassional big meal.

it's that 'hunter gatherer thing'...lotsa nuts and berries...not so many Buffalo.

Having food readily available is a recent phenomenon. Eating too often creates insulin resistance and then type II diabetes. Looking at the last couple of centuries the medical profession hasn't gotten much right when it comes to how food and our bodies react together.

Perhaps it's because the medical profession is devoted to fixing stuff that's broke and isn't up to speed about keeping stuff UNbroke.

You are exactly right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06