100 Days Challenge | Day 80

in #health6 years ago

I set myself a challenge to take 100 days off where I will mainly put my focus on my Health and Personal Development. I will be making these posts every 10 days to track my progression and give an update.

Day 71-80

Another 10 days have passed and time really flies like crazy. After doing 10 morning runs in a row during day 61-70, I had took things a bit more easy and started out with a couple evening walks. I got my new glasses, tried out the paid version of Tinder which did make a big difference and also got myself to sign up to start doing Bikram Yoga. So overall some good progression moving forward.


Healthy Food: I did not have any big cheating days and find myself more and more in a spot where eating any kind of animal product is just impossible. I spend quite some time in the kitchen to try and make a plant based hamburger to have variation in healthy comfort food. The Burger itself mainly based on beetroot, quinoa and almonds actually worked out great and I got it to a point where it tastes the way I want to without breaking up while baking it. The bun is something extremely difficult to make without any eggs or gluten and it won't be easy to find a solution. For now I'm sticking to buns I buy in the supermarket (Last Picture).



I really did a lot of hamburgers these past 10 days. They are fully plant-based and contain only good ingredients without any of the bad side effects from regular hamburgers.


Working Out: These past 10 days were all about working out. I had a evenings where I did not feel like doing anything but pulled myself to at least go for a nice walk instead of watching aimless tv. I took some pictures on these walks to share...





The work out activity went up to its highest level by far these 100 days when I signed up to start doing Bikram Hot Yoga. It can be seen as the work out version of yoga in a room at 40° celcius for 90 minutes straight without any of the spiritual aspects buring up to 1000 calories in a session. I once saw if on tv a couple years back and always wanted to try it out thinking it would be something I would enjoy. It's normally quite expensive, but they do offer a huge starting week discount for new people. 20€ and you can join as much as you want for 8 days. When the week ends on Monday I will have joined 5 times. It is a real challenge and the sweating is like I never experienced before but it is all very enjoyable regardless. It feels great afterwards, improves sleep and makes my skin which usually suffers a bit from psoriasis way way better. I will likely continue to join these classes after my starter week is over probably 2x in a month. The total time it takes to do a class is about 3 hours when including the 20 minute walk, some waiting time 90 minute class, cool down and shower afterwards, eating something and the walk back.


Social Life: The Yoga classes did not really come along with the social contact I hoped for since it's mostly done quietly. Still a lot of women with a yoga body join these classes so there are definitely opportunities to meet someone. It also seems like a nice idea for something to do on a date.

I also tried Tinder Premium where you can see swiped you. It comes along with a boost where your profile gets shown to more people which really makes a big difference. I am starting to understand the Tinder algorithm better and see it all a bit more as Pay To WIn even though I'm sure that it is possible to crush tinder if you really have the profile. Anyway, I got quite some matches but none really convinced me to really put the time into it. One of the main issues when it comes down to dating for me is time an priorities not being on it. I did sign up for another speed date and the search slowly continues and I'm sure I'll find someone I really hit it off with if I continue like this.


Previous 100 Day Challenge Posts

100 Days Off Challenge !
100 Days Challenge | Day 10
100 Days Challenge | Day 20
100 Days Challenge | Day 30
100 Days Challenge | Day 40
100 Days Challenge | Day 50
100 Days Challenge | Day 60
100 Days Challenge | Day 70


Today is Day 81 and I will bring the next update in ~10 days...

Sort:  

20 more days to go.
It is good to see that you keep being disciplined!
Only that it is a great achievement!
Second time today that a Steemian I do follow has tinder in a post! As a married man, I do know what it is but never have seen it!
I guess that I would break something with yoga because I am not the most flexible man in the world!
Hang it there. So that we can have a big celebration when we lift the cup!

Thans Peter !

The idea is to continue after the 100 days and find a good overall balance. Many things that used to ask a lot of discipline have become automatic. Other things I still have to brute force in to the more primitive part of my brain by using some discipline so they also become automatic over time. Still a long way to go but I'm enjoying the progress.

It is indeed a change in the way of living. Once it has been programmed in our brain, it is hard to think about the times when it was different!
Still a great achievement!

I did sign up for another speed date and the search slowly continues and I'm sure I'll find someone I really hit it off with if I continue like this.

I don't doubt it.

Go out there, have some fun.

I'm still working on making getting out there more fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23