Perimenopause is Real! 😩 Ladies Can We Talk?

in #health5 years ago (edited)

4F873C25-F4E7-4C04-8CC0-49832045244C.jpeg

source


Ladies, why didn’t you warn me? I heard the term pre-menopause floating around while growing up. I remember my mother mentioning it to me in my early 20’s and how she had reached her time. I thought to myself

I look forward to not having a monthly cycle.

Haha I had no clue what all this entailed.

I haven’t even reached 40 yet! I’ll be 38 next month so why am I having these symptoms? 😟 It is really starting to hit me that

1) I’m getting older. 😦
2) My body is changing. 🤭
3) It takes more effort doing the things I used to do easily just a few years back. 😑
4) This is just the beginning of a new journey. 😬

No I haven’t reached midlife crisis yet I’m just trying to take this reality in. I was reading about perimenopause and menopause and how every woman is different and will start at different times with different symptoms. They say one can start perimenopause in their 30’s! Yep that’s me! 🖐🏽🤷🏽‍♀️

My mother didn’t go through a pre anything! She just hit menopause right at age 50 and that was that! Honestly it would have been great if that would have happened for me, just skip all this other craziness and get right to it at 50. 👌🏽

39A30408-4FF3-409E-ABAA-4D2C4CB076ED.jpeg

My Symptoms

E5621D07-9D23-477B-A5E2-8A6EAE0F0AED.jpeg

source


Crying Spells

It gets a little scary and nerve wrecking when you can’t control things that your body is doing. It’s like you have no choice but to go along with it. The only time I have ever had crying spells is when I was pregnant. Just last week I had the strongest urges to cry for no reason. It was so strong that I tried to think of reasons I would want to cry but there were none. Just out the blue these feelings of sadness overtook me and out came the tears. This happened twice and it freaked me out. I’m like what in the world!

Heart Palpitations

I usually get these very seldom but lately they’ve been showing up more regularly. I admit I haven’t been keeping up with my workout schedule because I’ve been so busy trying to wrap up Summer homeschool and with a few needlework projects. I mainly workout to keep my heart rate up and post pregnant belly down. With these new changes going on I really need to stay committed to my workouts. I read that heart palpitations are one of the normal symptoms women experience while going through this pre stage. I am not a fan of it at all. It’s hard to get my breathing back to normal and it feels like my heart will stop at times. Nope not a fan at all. 👎🏽

Irregular Cycle

Say what? Oh no please stop this. My cycles have been regular since they began and now you wanna tell me I won’t know when they will start, how long they will last or the type of flow they will be? Awwww heck! 🤦🏽‍♀️ Last month it was this way but this month it was on track according to the new schedule. So I’m not too sure how this will play out or if they will get back to normal. Geez, come on hormones work with me not against me!

Hot Flashes

Cold one minute and hot the next. I’m the type that throws on her robe and puts on thick sock in the Summertime. I get so cold especially at nighttime. Lately I become so hot within a matter of seconds and have to quickly toss off my robe and socks. These hot flashes come in spurts, they just show up unannounced messing with my emotions. My poor husband can’t keep up. One minute I’m yelling at him

please turn down that fan it’s freezing in here!

...10 minutes later I yell again

hey please turn that fan on high I’m burning up!

He’s like woman I don’t know what you want lol! 🤷🏽‍♂️

Mood Swings

I’m talking about those ‘Who is This Woman?’ type of mood swings...

Quiet down it’s too loud in here!

Why are you making that irritating noise?

Everybody just leave me alone!

Aghhhh the world sucks!

Yes it’s pretty real. My poor kids have experienced my changes firsthand. I get so irritable, frustrated and annoyed very easily. I have to catch myself because my temper is shorter and I tend to yell more than talk when I’m angry. I don’t like this new me, I like the gentle me better. 🙁 I find myself out of the mood to do a lot of things and I like being alone more. I don’t like pushing my kids away but while these things are happening I feel it’s best...especially for their safety. 😅 I’m like kids mommy needs a minute, everyone stay away. 🚷

Fatigue

I had fatigue so bad two weeks ago that I took a pregnancy test. I didn’t have any other explanation as to what I was going through other than maybe I’m pregnant. Thank goodness that wasn’t the case. We are happy with our five and want to keep it at five. This was before I discovered I was going through perimenopause. There were times right after I just finished dinner that it felt as if I was going to just drop where I was. I was so weak and tired and it was miserable. I’m too busy for fatigue, no mother has time for that. I’m so glad I called my sister who is 42 and found out we have some of the exact same symptoms. She’s been going through hers for a few months now. Really? I’m going through this with my older sister? I shouldn’t be going through this the same time as her, she’s older. 😒 Oh yes I forgot,

every woman is different and starts at different times.

Yeah thanks for the reminder.

A7B46F86-151E-460F-A964-75D4572B51BF.jpeg

3C176819-51FD-411D-A431-8937504AC6E4.jpeg

source


Ladies we shouldn’t be ashamed of a natural process. Every woman will face it one day and it’s a normality of life. I think one of the best ways to get through this and survive it is talking about it. Maybe someone reading this has been going through some of the same things I mentioned and you too thought you were pregnant or crazy. Well now you know it could be this pre thang. Raising awareness is so important. There’s no need to be ashamed in talking about it.

So with that said ladies, don’t be all shy about commenting. I cold really use some advice about this stuff and more clarity about what’s going on. Has any of my @naturalmedicine ladies found a healthy antidote to help ease this madness? Has any of my @steemitmamas found ways to help with not scaring your kids and making them want a new mommy? 😅🤪 Please help a sista out! Lol

I hope that with the Keto lifestyle I live and getting back into my regular workout regimen it will make these symptoms easier to cope with. I am thankful I don’t experience them daily but only occasionally. I can be fine for a few days in a row and then I will experience one of the symptoms. So I do appreciate the break I get in between.

Talk To Me Ladies 💗

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

60068819-057B-4483-A075-C8DCF5443E8C.gif

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

526C421F-0293-4B68-8ECE-574CE43B8DC3.jpeg

765675CB-72C5-4F23-807D-BB7FBF8150DE.jpeg

14F5AECF-9480-4C13-BA92-20E6671ED5C1.jpeg

D01813C2-2DB8-4E9A-98F4-449EB7932AC2.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Unbalanced hormone levels. The worst symptom is those hot flashes. Did you check your thyroid? At your age the thyroid starts to act up too. A blood test wouldn’t hurt, ask your doctor. Well... it is what it is. Part of life. Hang it, it will get better. 😊

Yes the hot flashes are no fun at all :(

No, I haven’t checked my thyroid, I hadn’t thought of that. Thanks so much for suggesting that. I’ll do my best hanging in there. ☺️

Thank you for your response ~

I went through that 20 years ago. Back then, I was using soy cheese as I was avoiding dairy. I found out later, when I not longer needed the cheese (whole other story), that it had been helping greatly with menopause symptoms.

Thank you so much for sharing about the soy. I’ll definitely keep that in mind :)

Thanks for replying ~

When the song says its a man world it is true, we sure have it easy, Sorry your having to go through all this I know from MY wife it's not an easy time

Thanks so much for braving the comment section (😄) and stopping by to share your words. It is definitely not easy.

Well I do not like voting a post and not saying something LOL

Lol I’m the same way!

You’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine!

It is great that you are talking about this, I find that so often women's health issues get swept under the table as the saying goes. I am in my 40's and to be honest I can experience days like that, but then I also know that my body is changing all the time and also that I have been through a lot of late which contributes to it. The most important thing is to be aware and to be gentle with yourself. I know a few women who take maca and find it good x

This fortnight, we're having a challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes by sharing the books that have inspired or continue to inspire a healthy life for mind, body and spirit! Check out the details by clicking here!


NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you!

50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Thank you so much @trucklife-family! I have always been the type to want to talk about the hard stuff that goes untouched. It’s a normal part of life and us women can comfort one another in knowing we are not alone going through things like this. Yes, I agree being aware and gentle are very important!

Thanks for sharing that tip about maca. I appreciate your response to this :)

Hah! Been there, done that!

Not happy to say that in this particular situation though... It wasn't a good time for me in real life so I didn't know what I was going through until I asked myself, am I going mad? I was so unlike the 'normal' me! Somehow I did some online research myself and deduced what I was going through...

Other than the fatigue (after all the other symptoms, not really sure if I could even identify 'fatigue'...) I experienced all you mentioned and also panic attacks (one of the worst of the package!) and anxiety attacks - sucked big time!

Anyway, EPO (evening primrose) is supposed to help - mildly helped me - my symptoms were quite heavy duty, so doubt anything could really help much. I experienced bad effects with hormone pills so refused to get on any - hormones take about 3 months to fully kick in, and if you find out its all wrong for you and stop... it takes another 3 full months to get off the effects! That's what made me decide I'll just ride it out.

I'm happy now to finally (almost) get over it all... And don't wish what I went through on anyone at all! Am not in menopause yet - you need to have your periods stop totally for 12 months before you can declare you're in menopause. I get to 11 months, then have some spotting... ugh... And it happened a few times, I stopped counting!

After saying all that, hope I didn't scare you... I think as long as you know what is happening, you can sorta have 'control' over it - mind over matter... and know you're not going mad!

Wow what a great and helpful response to read, thank you! Oh my gosh panic and anxiety attacks? I can imagine how crazy that was. Honestly I have anxiety attacks ever so often so I wouldn’t know if it’s the “pre” or just me in general. 😁

I am familiar with primrose. I took those to help kickstart labor during my first pregnancy. I’ll definitely look into those if these symptoms become to unbearable to ride out. Yes I plan to stay away from those hormone pills. I feel stuff like that may help at the moment but may make things worse in the long run. I am going to look into the natural remedies.

Lol no you didn’t scare me. You helped ease my mind even more. It’s a confirmation that this stuff is real and being aware of it is better than not knowing so you won’t think you’ve lost your mind.

Thanks again for responding ~

Congratulations @crosheille! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hormones really seem to have their hand in every body process. I am 33, so not yet at this stage, but when I weaned my daughter last year I had a horrible hormone ride that lasted a year. Hopefully things get more regular for you soon. And those crying spells - I got those in pregnancy and they are just the strangest, amusing things. I remember laughing while uncontrollably crying one time.

I noticed right when I reached my mid 30’s that things were really changing in my body due to my hormones. It was a shock! But I realize things won’t always work the same as we age.

Yes those crying spells are very strange. Haha I can imagine what that looked like...laughing while crying. Our bodies are a mystery :)

Thanks for responding ~

Thanks for the reminder, I'm 47 and am experiencing slightly some of those symptoms, it's really not that bad yet, (touch wood), hahaha...

I hope it doesn’t get too bad for you! Yikes the joys of womanhood :D

Thanks for responding :)

I hope so too!

Bless your heart. I went through an almost identical process at 38 years old. I thought that I was dying. I told my best friend about my symptoms and we researched it together. It was truly an awful time, but it does get better. Thank goodness. I basically had to ride it out and try to stay comfortable by wearing layers, clothes that could "breathe" and by staying hydrated which helps to regulate your body temperature. I also keep (notice present tense) a small fan in my purse. Good luck. This too shall pass.

Wow you did! 😮 It’s a good thing you researched. So it does get better? I was wondering if these symptoms will eventually taper off. I admit I don’t drink enough water, I definitely need to do better with staying hydrated. Thanks for sharing for sharing that! I appreciate your response!

Don't hate me, I haven't had a clue yet. And no, this is not me gloating.... Where is that wood I need to knock on.

Both of my younger sisters adopted it and are going through hell-o. But, I recommended ginseng tea and soy to alleviate some of the symptoms. I also do yoga and meditate, which I have been told really helps. And yes!! I would agree that regular exercise helps this and so many other things.

Bless your heart, my friend. This too shall pass.

I wasn't afraid to talk about it, I had nothing to tell. Le Sigh... and thank goodness.

!tip

Oh man. I am yoga-ing and meditating my ASS off.... and Im an anxiety riddled peri menomausal freako.. Love, @riverflows xx

Ohhh!!! :(

Oh no! I’m sorry to hear you are experiencing this too @riverflows :(

We gotta hang in there and be strong together. 💪🏽💗

I just want it to ennnnddddddddd

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely understand! So do I!!!!

Hahaha I don’t hate you, I wish you not to have to experience this ;) It is not fun at all.

Thank you so much for those tips. Hmmmm I’ve never had ginseng tea before. Definitely making note of this. Someone else mentioned soy as well :)

Thanks so much sweet friend ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87