Dear Diary: Depression, My Take On It

in #health6 years ago (edited)

P_20180217_134759_BF_1.jpg

Luckily for me depression is now a thing of the past, my past. Many years ago I suffered it when I was just a little boy, I couldn't of course understand that "Blue feeling" thinking that it was normal. My condition then was I believed now was induced or made by the medicine I was taking for my mild epilepsy, a kind of epilepsy only seen in EEGs but I also suffered bouts of unconsciousness which prompted my mother to take me to the hospital which is the reason my mild epilepsy was discovered.

I was given phenobarbital pills, once a day of 90 mg before bedtime and the dose got reduced by my Neurologist (Neurosurgeon) over the course of years of taking it until I stopped using it in the early 90's when me and my mother decided to stop going to the doctor.

But a dose of 90 mg per day for a child of 2 to 6 years is dangerous as I have experienced it because it made me suffer the clinical depression condition. Depression is something not close to sadness, it is totally different, it is a deep despair with a trip of thoughts.

I am just lucky that I sweat it off and didn't give me lasting psychological effects maybe because of the joyful disposition of a child as in itself fought my depression in those years but as of currently I am suffering from anxiety but I believe that it was due to my kidney condition and all the mental complications arising from suffering from it.

You will never know how a clinical digression is or how it feels like until you suffered from it. It has to be identified quickly treated otherwise the person could get the risk of a self-harm because of the effects in the thoughts of the patient with a depression.

Sort:  

Depression is a very serious mental and psychological problem. And some medicine's side effect can cause it too accompanied by the feeling of hopelessness because of the state of being sick. I believe that good support system can help a lot to a depressed person. I am a little bit skeptical about anti depressant drugs but I had seen wonders of it to some people and vice versa. That is good that your depression is a thing of the past. Keep the faith.

thats great bro ....Our best wishes are with you

Hola hijo.
Buenísimo. Aprendiste a manejar la situación y eso es muy bueno.
Me parece genial que hayas eliminado la medicación del fenobarbital y en especial por la dependencia de esta DROGA.
Eres un CAMPEÓN y sabes manejar las situaciones.
Sabes estoy preocupado por mí situación con el colon por lo del pólipo que me han encontrado en el colon. Soy ya una persona mayor y he vivido bastante. Todavía tengo muchas cosas que hacer aquí en la Tierra y no caeré en estados depresivos que me causen daños a la salud.
Cuídate y Que Dios Nos Bendiga.

Los pólipos de colon son comunes en la vejez y deben extirparse quirúrgicamente, es la única manera de curarlo, de lo contrario, afectará su salud.
Mientras tanto come más frutas y verduras @reinaldor

Pues sí. Esperemos la biopsía. Todo saldrá bien. Amén

I'm glad you're over that phase. I suffered depression too for two years and I know how terrible it can be being locked up in that dark, dark place in your head.

No one should have to go through that.

It is glad to know that your depression is gone. Its a good news and i also happy with that. I wish you happy and healthy life

Atlast you are thinking positive..gud sign for getting health.get well soon.nothing is impossible before god.

Don't let depression destroy your faith in God and don't let him destroy the belief of getting fine :) always hope for good.

Depression is harmful to the health , a depress person is always sad and at time might suffer from high blood pressure. O am glad that you were able to overcome depression

excellent work.

bb.jpg

its a great news, dear, your depression is gone away,
take medical time to time. and your mother is a also great woman who take you in hospital,
get well soon dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87