Dear Diary: It Is My Dialysis Today At 7:00 PM Again And It Sucks For Both My ParentssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago

face.png

My dialysis center's two broken machines are not yet fixed and are doing devastating ripple effects on schedules and unfortunately I was the one being affected most especially my parents that are with me and I cannot do anything about it.

I was thinking of switching to other centers but it would be difficult to do that because there are not much centers near us and the next near dialysis center is government-owned and I do not know what kind of quality service that they do in there.

My only concern is that if they are using the kind of dialyzer that I use because if they are not using such filter with bigger holes I might not get the best dialysis that I needed. It is because the common dialyzer doesn't filter out much of the unneeded toxins like the bigger molecule uric acids and such.

I am now just killing time and I also have to use the bathroom and it is not easy to do both prior to my hook up. At least today I was able to eat my breakfast and it is a good thing for me so I won't lose much weight because I am just really trying to gain weight but the opposite happens.

If only I can do a peritoneal dialysis but my mother is disapproving it as it requires a tube on my belly. I just needed it so that I will not be required to go to the hospital twice a week because if I am on peritoneal dialysis I will just have to go to the hospital only once a month or maybe buy supplies every three months.

And of course I want the cleaning way of the peritoneal dialysis as you can have it everyday plus taking out fluids in your body is gradual and you have total control about it. The only downside is that it requires some workaround constantly and is done by your trained family member or yourself and the risk of infection.

I am still hoping for a better change in my life so I am patiently still waiting for it to happen and maybe in the proper time I can experience the well-being that I am longing for.

Sort:  

That's a tough call @cryptopie. I can certainly appreciate the peritoneal dialysis from your viewpoint, and I can also understand your mom having misgivings. I once had to make a decision about something similar (not dialysis) but it nevertheless could have had complications that were life threatening, but not doing it also had the same potential. Mine worked out and all was and is well. I will, as always, keep you in my prayers.

The peritoneal dialysis sounds like a good idea. Not only does it take the hassle and burden of having to take frequent trips to the hospital, but the fluid solution used has glucose which can add 590-1200 calories and help you hopefully gain some weight! It seems like a win-win situation to me, hopefully your mom can be persuaded although I can understand her hesitation. As long as you keep the port clean though it shouldn't get infected, and infections seem to be quite low and easily treated through the port itself in the event that an infection does set in.

Be well @cryptopie

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe soon if God wills it and if it is feasible for my situation I will opt in for peritoneal dialysis. I just want to be prepared for it financially especially for the Automated Peritoneal Dialysis which needs a machine.

Yes the automated system looks like the best solution, but the regular one seems good too, it's just more work. Still beats having to go to the hospital and be at the mercy of their schedule and other annoyances. Not to say the peritoneal will be a perfect alternative, but if it relieves you of stress from travel and anxiety of waiting for the treatment I think it's definitely more beneficial, and hopefully the financial aspect of it isn't too much or could be taken care of somehow (grants, charities, etc...). I'm excited for you and this potential new therapy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Don't worry everything will be perfectly fine and I hope the dialysis machine will be fixed in other for you to carryout your dialysis treatment today. God is in total control @cryptopie

remain patient even though it feels very annoying

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23