Dear Diary: My Nieces And Nephews Are Growing Up And I Am Missing A Quality Time With ThemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago

Screenshot_20190207-164038_1.jpg

The moment that our immediate family had an additional member it was a joyous event indeed. We are all excited to see how the baby would look like, it was the daughter of my eldest brother. The baby was like my eldest brother's appearance so she just got nearer to our hearts at that point.

Now that baby is a young teenager now and her brother is also growing up, they are like broiler chickens because they grew up so fast, so fast enough that I missed a lot of moment being with them. The last time I tried to have at least some quality time with my niece and nephew is when I went to their apartment in their town where they live during the new year celebration.

After that year I couldn't walk normally anymore so I got trapped here in the house. That was the start of my life being a hermit.

My plan as an unmarried person is to at least spend some time with my Nephews and Nieces during some special moments like birthdays, graduations, outdoor activities, reunions, trips, excursions, and other gatherings. Now I cannot do all of those now with them and months and years pass by and I couldn't even have a good conversation with my younglings.

The only instance that we would meet is when they go here in my room to pay respects when my siblings go here for a visit but not all of my nephews and nieces does that so it adds some distance to me and my other younglings making them quite estranged to me because also of one factor, my appearance.

Some of them are quite if not terrified feels awkward with me so they just prefer not to deal with me. That is the cost I have to pay because of my health condition and a part of the destruction of my social life particularly with my younglings which now I also have to endure, such is my life now because things didn't fall as planned.

Sort:  

I bet they all love you very much but maybe it breaks their hearts to see you not be able to live a normal life.

I think u are a good uncle for them.

I am sorry they find it awkward to be with you. Maybe stay in touch with texting. Seems like that is the preferred way with the young folks.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07