Dear Diary: Overcoming Caffeine AddictionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago

46aP2QbqUqBqwzwxM6L1P6uLNceBDDCM6J54VVRNZGL9MACK1PGKm3tC29VzgW26bkL5FUqiDYRW7rGfj5CW5duj8p7f.png

I had been drinking coffee as young as four years old and I was weaned from drinking milk by substituting it with coffee by my mother by putting coffee instead of milk until one morning my mother came to me with my feeding bottle pointing this little crack on the bottle and saying that I can no longer use my feeding bottle because it is already damaged.

From then one I drank coffee with either bread or rice meal a few times each day especially when I started going to school. I drank it during when I just want a snack and that would be my preferred beverage than buying sodas because it is there ready to be mixed in my favorite cup.

But I extensively used coffee when I was in school doing my school work with the use of a typewriter and I would type the whole night drinking maybe two to three cups of coffee just to make me go on and on until I my work is done.

Then came this online social blogging network but since I have an insomnia in those times I have no issue in trying to sleep because I would just go in front of the computer until again my body drops but I would still drink coffee nonetheless.

But recently after I was taking my parathyroid medicine it took a toll on my appetite and just battering my taste buds with bitter taste and drinking coffee makes it worse until I drank less and less each day.

P_20181128_094848_p.jpg

The Thermos

I also noticed that it is affecting my sleep as well as I would wake up with a racing heart. So I decided to stop drinking coffee and substituted it with a pineapple juice in a thermos with ice cubes. So whenever the bitter taste in my mouth builds up I would drink some of the ice cold pineapple juice.

Luckily I didn't suffer withdrawal symptoms maybe because I stopped drinking coffee gradually. Now I am no longer addicted to it but I am still drinking energy drink in my dialysis only jut to control my blood pressure a little.

Sort:  

Congrats Crypt for getting over this addiction. That's a big feat ;)

I love my morning coffee and that is the only time I usually drink it since if I drink it later on in the day, I will not be able to sleep.
I also have thyroid problems and coffee is not good when you have thyroid, so I also should stop drinking coffee.

Glad you found a delicious and healthier way to replace your coffee. It sounds really delicious.

It is still OK to drink coffee but in my case Ma'am it affects my sleep so I have to quit it altogether so that I could improve my sleep.

I loveee pineapple juice <333 :) Great choice, delicious & so health, too

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98