Ugh....

in #health6 years ago

0805F81C-7EAE-4DBA-BCC7-60AD74144372.jpeg
This is the stuff of New Year’s resolutions.

A year and a bit ago I got my husband and I a gym membership.

We both went for awhile.

And then we didn’t.


The hubs ended up having kind of a serious health scare. He is genetically predisposed to getting blood clots. Wouldn’t you know, not too long after starting out joint journey to fitness he got a DVT. (Deep vein thrombosis). A DVT is the kind of thing that can kill you quick and unexpectedly. Fortunately he sensed something wasn’t right. He went to the ER and caught the clot in time. He is now permanently on medication to prevent another.

The experience messed with both of us. We are only in our early 40’s. Life threatening health scares are meant for old unhealthy looking people. The stress of that, plus life, plus not feeling terribly inspired to exercise.... we both stopped going to the gym.

But then after a month of recovery hubs returned.

But I didn’t....


My husband has been really great about exercising 3-4 days each week for the past year. I can see the changes in his body from the hard work. I have never thought of him as overweight or out of shape, but I can see his face is leaner and his legs stronger. He seems a bit more confident.

So what have I been doing?


I feel like kind of a loser for having wasted this whole year. If I had kept up with the hubs I too could have been in a better place fitness wise than I was a year ago. All I can do now is go back.

So here I am!

4C448788-9FE0-4C19-BBCA-37EECBC8CC1A.jpeg
The recumbent bike is the laziest piece of equipment at the gym.

I am 52 minutes into my gym return. Coming up on the 10 mile mark of my “ride”. It’s a baby step, but hopefully the first of many. My new year (birthday) is coming up in a couple of weeks. It seems like a good time to turn over a new leaf. Especially since I am starting to feel my age catch up to me. I can tell now is the time to get ahead of that slow down. I’ve got no kids, no siblings... so I really need to keep myself healthy into old age.

Here’s to a new leaf!

PS - I made it to 12.5 miles!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa and steemsilvergold
D43348B4-FFFF-41BB-B626-620CF76AA2C0.jpeg
C4D02EE4-C1ED-4298-AD0D-71DE5217B813.jpeg
F711D44D-1B86-4359-9A16-9D723B2C413D.png
2E7EFABA-B9CE-48D6-8EFE-F6C3BF97396F.png

Sort:  

I remember my dad got tiny blood cloths in his brain at only 46 years old. It was a scare, but he ended up better because of it: lost a lot of weight, got healthy, is a happier person overall.

Sounds like your husband took it well and is taking care of himself too. As for you: don’t focus on what you didn’t do when you ‘could have’, just be proud you started!

Brain clots!!! Yikes. Yeah my husband, his dad and all of his siblings have some genetic thing that makes them extra clotty. I am just glad they are all on medicine now.

Thank you for the encouragement! ☺️

My friend, the forties are the best time of our lives to make a little exercise and see the results. Don't be afraid, baby steps are great. I tell you based on my own experience, long time ago...

Thanks for the encouragement! I know 40’s are still young. I will never be any younger! 😉😄 It will certainly be easier to do this today than it would be to wait even longer.

Here’s to a new leaf, my friend! It is always the right time to be physically active! I will be here to cheer you on!!!

Thank you! I think the hardest part is making time after work. After a long day coming home, eating dinner & relaxing always sounds so good. 😄 Good habits just need a little force of will to start. ☺️

I totally AGREE!!! May the force be with you!

I only just saw this picture now! Lol
❤️❤️❤️

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28