Tolerance is a 2 way street!

in #health5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5360.JPG

Hey folks!

Since my son was born, I started following #postpartumbody on Instagram, just to get motivated to work out again and get my pre-pregnancy body back. I was happy to see that some women reached their goal quite quickly, and seeing success stories is exactly what gives me the extra push to get back on track.

Of course you also see some not so successful stories of women who don't simply "bounce back". Some carry their pregnancy weight up until years later, or never even lose it at all, and it's also nice to see their stories being shared. After all, everyone's body is different, each having their own particular metabolism. Everyone lives, eats and exercises differently, and at the end of the day it also mostly comes down to the genes our dear parents transmitted us.

One post I saw recently however pissed me off a little. This mom was clearly part of the latter group of not so successful recoveries, and was venting about how all those skinny women "lie" about their postpartum recovery. She called them scammers, saying that "real women" can't achieve full recovery in just a few months time.

This made me think that there is a HUGE double standard these days when it comes to showing off our bodies!

Why is it only acceptable for "meaty" women to share their stories, but skinny women are being judged for just being thin?

Why do we automatically think that skinnier ladies are just bragging, and are being judged for being proud of themselves?


I didn't like that one bit.

I understand that nowadays people are trying to change women's body image, promoting self love no matter what your shape and size, but it should be a two way street, shouldn't it?

Should skinny ladies with lucky genes not be allowed to share their postpartum experience because some of us deem these to be unrealistic? I think not!

Skinny women can't help the fact that they have been born with skinny genes, so insulting them or even go as far as calling them liars for sharing their journey seems unfair at best!

Just to clarify, I personally consider myself somewhere in the middle. I'm definitely not a chubby girl, but I'm also not skinny. I have skinny bones, but I do have some extra kilos to shed in order to get where I was before Tayel was born, and it will take some effort to get there. My genes are only helping me up to 50% here, but that's OK with me =)

So there you go folks, I just wanted to make a point here. If we're going to make body image great again, let's not be hypocrites and apply the same tolerance to all body types.


Eve

eve signature.png

Sort:  

I was just thinking about you when I started to scroll down my feed and saw this! :) I wholeheartedly agree with you on this. Yes, certain social media is filled with perfectly photoshopped images and women only posting photos when they look their best, but I would imagine in that particular tag it's mostly women just wanting to share their journey not gain "likes" for how hot their body looks. Everyone recovers so differently from that wonderful miracle of birth, so I would think all stories and journeys should be celebrated! Such a shame when a few people ruin the experience for others. I personally have known women in all categories. Shoot I had a friend who still had abs showing slightly during pregnancy (she is crazy fit and has a very healthy 2-year-old). I've known others that end up looking better after kids because they are motivated to take care of themselves better and set a good example for their little ones. But then I've had plenty tell me they are ok with their body never being totally the same. I guess I can't say much since I don't have kiddos, but I'm happy to support all the ladies who let me play auntie in some way or another so I'll send out love to all of you! :)

thanks hun! =) Yes I definitely don't support the photo-shopped ones, these are truly fraud. I wish I could let you play auntie hehehe, hope you're well!

I got my double dose auntie fix over the weekend, but can always hug more babies, haha! If only @thekitchenfairy and I could transport ourselves down there you'd be set on childcare. ;)

It took me forever to lose all my baby weight ... my oldest is a high schooler ( I have three children ) .... and I’m finally getting to what I weighed before my kids .

wow 3 children? MUCH respect to you girl!!! How far are they apart from eachother?

Thanks ... The first two are about 2 year apart which was perfect .... the last one was about 5 years later ... I wish I didn’t wait so long between the second and third .

Irony

Exactly. We can all write books about how ironies plagues as it distracts people from understanding sides, perspectives, struggles, issues. Different people struggle with different things as people are not always the same. Plus, we are not all built the same, on the outside as well in the same way cats and elephants don't look the same. Different people may have different bone sizes. Some people are taller. Some people might be wider.

From Within

People can be beautiful and some people can be ugly regardless of how skinny or big they might be or appear to be. Beauty is actually beyond skin-deep. Beauty can radiate from a person's soul, from their eyes, from their presence.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thank you =)

You got a 9.09% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75