Smoothing the Smoothy

in #health5 years ago

Going into day 3 of the Detox/fasting course

Day 1: My introduction into fasting
Day 2: a cup of tea?

Just a short recap. I have been doing al right on this course and there have been no weird side effects that some others have apart from being a little more tired so I am very happy about that.
In total I have lost 3kg so far and i am 188cm and was 88kg (So I am definitely not overweight even though my perfect weight would be 82) . I have to say I am also happy with that of course, losing the winter reserves that easily wasn't expected.

But yesterday was also hard. We were invited to the 1st birthday party of the daughter of friends of ours. We had already agreed to go before deciding on doing this course. So as you can imagine this was pure torture. People trying to get us to dring champagne or beer, wanting to feed us cake, waffles, BBQ etc.
We managed to stay 2 hours but then had to flee before succumbing to the temptation of all that food.
I am glad we did not give in though.

So everyday we do not only drink tea but we also have a green smoothy. The whole point of fasting is to not have solid foods for a certain amount of time to give the colon and stomach a resting period and to cleanse out all the toxins.

image.png

For that reason I would like to pass on our smoothy recipes we used so far:

smoothy 1

  • 1/2 Banana
  • 1/2 pear
  • green stuff: a handfull of either spinach, salad, cucumber or when you have a meadow nearby you could also pick nettles or dandelion.
  • a bit of fresh mint, parsley, Chiaseeds, lemon juice
  • depending on your taste a bit of ginger

Smoothy 2

  • small/medium pink grapefruit (I peeled it did not press it)
  • hand full of corn salad
  • 50grams of green grapes
  • a walnut sized piece of ginger
  • 1 or 2 sticks of celery
    (I added some more spinach)

Chuck all of that into a blender, add a glass of water and let it rip. If its to thick then just add more water

These are just suggestions but you can get creative and add stuff that you have in your fridge or garden.
I guess these are also good if you just want to skip a meal once in a while and personally I prefer them to the just fruity sweet ones. The green ones just taste more healthy

image.png

Do you drink smoothies regularly?
Have you ever tried adding your own picked herbs?
Let me know if you tried one.

Sort:  

You smoothie recipes sound great. While you are in this mode of "fasting", you might like to get another perspective that might improve your outcome by reading some of the smoothie recipes by Steven Gundry MD in his new book "Longevity Paradox"...it's a very enlightening book by a man who has spent 19 years in this field and has written extensively about the foods TO EAT and NOT TO EAT....it may change your lifestyle. Keep up the good work! The best to you....

cool thanks for the tip, will definitely check it out.
Our lifestyle has been changing in the last few years anyway. lets hope its in the same direction and we get to live long healthy lives

Yummy! I really like your smootie recipies. I drink smoothies almost every day. I usually make them out of a banana, some other fruits and a little yogurt or coconut milk. Lately I have been adding pumpkin seeds or pisachios. This is delicious. Lately, I have been trying to consume less sugar so and I am inspired by your green smoothie ideas. I love the idea of adding ginger. I think that the flavor of the ginger might help take the place of the sweetness of fruit for me. When I drink a smoothie in the morning with some pumpkin seeds in it I don't need any other breakfast. I hope that you keep experimenting with smoothies and posting your recipies. I wonder what kind of blender you have?

I will post some on and off, especially now with spring coming along. I personally liked the sweet stuff before as well but I am moving more and more direction green smoothies, they feel healthier.
We got our blender on sale luckily because its not a cheap one
https://www.wmf.com/en/consumer-electrics/mixers/blenders/wmf-kult-pro-power-green-smoothie-blender.html

This is beautiful. About 8 years ago I did a 7 day juice fast. It really set the tone for years to follow. I did alot of research during my fast and have changed my eating habits ever since. Best of luck with your adventure. Be well.

You have received an upvote from The InnerBlocks
Self reliance and Wellness. Join us on discord

yes, I understand, we have been slowly moving away from all the pre processed food as well, going ever healthier and more conscious. The research is never done though, thats what makes it fun

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You got a 49.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @felander! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @felander!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.196 which ranks you at #879 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @felander! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@felander You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14