Get screwed by the Government

in #health5 years ago

Most people trust their doctor; I mean you wouldn't go to your doctor if you didn't trust they had your best interests at heart right? Well, the Australian Government are asking its citizens to trust them with their medical records and history currently...Hmm...How about nah! I don't trust you at all Government!

The Australian Government have introduced a register called My Health Record. It is set up automatically, with your medical history being uploaded, unless a person opts out. I opted-out today, as did my wife. I don't trust it for a few reasons, most of them documented on the internet as concerns others also have. You can google it if you like.

Here's a couple of reasons that struck a chord with me...A non-sheeple.

  • It cannot be relied upon as a true and accurate clinically-reliable record and neither is it comprehensive or up to date. The OAIC even state:

The My Health Record system contains an online summary of a patient’s key health information; not a complete record of their clinical history.

A doctor treating a patient in an emergency situation could not rely upon it for accurate medical information about the patient. Sounds like more a hindrance than a help and if it's not reliable why do they need my information in the first place?

  • The obvious security risk from the online transmission and storage of personal information. It will be available for research applications and despite the information being de-identified (not identifiable to a person "apparently"), third-party access creates security hazards. The individual won't even know who has seen their information.

So we have opted out. I'm not sure if that's going to affect my on-going health or that of my partner however I feel a little better knowing my medical information is not being shared and disseminated.

These days it's difficult to keep a low profile, and personal information, close to our chest. Spending is tracked, our finances are tracked and indeed we are tracked via camera virtually everywhere we go. We even go out of our way to help those keeping tabs on us by posting our whole lives on Facebook, checking into where we are, liking pages allowing them to put more of the same in front of us...(Well, most do...I don't do the Facebook thing. Got rid of that shit ages ago.)

I don't know whether my small act of defiance will have any impact on the amount of my personal information available to the Government however I feel a bit better about opting-out. I mean who the fuck do they think they are automatically opting-me-in? They run a few TV adverts telling the sheeple it will happen, give the bullshit deadline to opt-out and then they just upload my medical details? I think not. It's enough I'm obligated to quote my Tax File Number to any financial institution I use...They don't need access to my medical history also.

People can opt-out until 31 January 2019 so here's the link to help you do so. My Health opt-out It's easily done and only takes a few minutes. You'll need your Medicare card plus your drivers license or passport. If you're one of those people who think it's a great idea then you don't have to do anything to make your medical history, and that of your children, accessible to the Government and whoever they decide to share it with. Just sit tight and you're in.

Doctor image source

Sort:  

I wouldn't trust the government with my nail clippings, to be honest. Any government, that is, they're all the same.
We are also tracked through our devices. Google knows where you are basically at all times through your phone. Has it sent you any "your month in review" e-mails? It's lovely, it shows where you were, every minute of every day. Is that supposed to be cute? It's fucking frightening.
I think you did the right thing, although I don't know how long you will be allowed to opt-out. It's the same with pretty much anything promoted by the MSM. You're allowed to have a choice. For now. You're allowed to choose to maintain some semblence of privacy, but pretty soon those things will be mandatory. You won't be able to get medical help if you don't have your details online, I imagine.
But they should be fought every step of the way and I think you did the right thing.

Yeah I know...Frightening. I agree that it's probably inevitable that the Government (and corporations) will get every scrap of information about me. (I know they have a lot already.) But my defiant opt-out choice is something I can do now to indicate that I am not going to be lead across the pasture like the sheeple.

I've had people try and scare me by saying the doctors won't know how to treat me etc. It's all bullshit though. If I come in with a gunshot wound I reckon the doctor will know what to do without googling the interwebs for my health record. Same if I break a leg, get cancer or any other thing. And if they don't know what to do...Well, I'll die or whatever. The health record won't change that.

I hate the way we're tracked. Seriously. Drives me bonkers but it's the way of the world. I try only to stave it off as long as possible.

Ladyknight and I will need to sit down and discuss this.

I am with you - when it comes to Government, what tends to start with good intentions is quickly corrupted and used for nefarious purposes.

Good post G.

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks SK. I see it as an issue, whether it is or not remains to be seen...Worth mulling over for sure and even more relevant for people with kids.

Posted using Partiko Android

They continue to take advantage of the fact that these days it is so easy to “sell” the thought that technology will help the individual through these “facilities of data” yet there is almost always another part behind it. It would be interesting to see the terms and conditions if provided as I would imagine that “the small print” would have details of what could be done with the data.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree. People are so used to playing their lives out on the interwebs that adding this element is easy for the Government to slip through. Not this little black duck though. 😎

I think there's very little real information getting around about it and many just play along through ignorance; Or maybe there's more sheep than people in Australia. I doubt I'll suffer any adverse effects through opting out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Some of this can seem like delaying the inevitable, but as long as it can be delayed, I say, keep on doing it. Who knows what they have planned for in the future—it could be they get this rolling with those who don't opt-out and then it becomes mandatory over time.

In the end, it's less about health or the information they might get through this, but the power of control they hope to ultimately have over you, your life, what you can do, what you can't, etc. They'll talk about it like it's good for you and it will help them to allocate resources, etc., but it's not about that at all. So resist for as long as you can.

Agreed and yeas I'll be holding it off as long as possible. I know that the Government know my every move, I get that, but this is one small thing I can do to say, it's not cool how you invade my life to the Government.

I used my credit card just now, to buy breakfast and I have my phone and computer here...I'm sure someone knows that and has recorded it. What a world we live in huh?

That's no good, man. It's strange that they don't automatically sign you up to receive all the benefits you might be owed, but you have to opt out of them collecting and selling sharing your information with whomever they want.

That's the whole point of middle class welfare churn.
People think it's silly since a lot of families get back what they put in.
It's not silly at all.
They take from everyone and give back to the obedient. It's horrible, but it's not silly or accidental.

I know right? One has to demand benefits that are our right (that's if we're even made aware they exist in the first place) and yet they feel free to take from us without to much issues. Selling/sharing my medical history with Pfizer or Sandoz, for instance, so they can target-market to me isn't something I'm interested in. Those assholes should just release the cure to cancer that surely exists and stop preying on people's illness.

As for the Government...Well, Australia has had 7 different ones in 10 years. Says it all really. Assholes.

Posted using Partiko Android

There seems to be a lot of corruption everywhere. It seems like it's especially prevalent in political circles. The average everyday people are mostly nice wherever you go, but the bad apples ruin it for everyone.

You guys have had 7 governments in 10 years? What does that even mean?! Ha ha.

It means they are all corrupt and are only in it for themselves. One gets elected (the party) then his subordinates stab him in the back and supplant some other asshole in his place, one who the people never even voted for. And American's think they have problems with President Trump...

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, didn't know that could even happen. Sounds like you all have it rough down there. Seems like if someone gets removed from an elected position that they would have a new election. I guess they don't always do that here, but it would make more sense. If you've had 6 removals in 10 years, maybe something is wrong with the system... or the people that are getting elected. Or both.

I'd say both. We need a Dictatorship. I'm considering taking the lead role. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I opted out months ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Smart. I didn't actually know it was a thing because I avoid news, and media in general. When I found out I knew what I'd do. Which is what I did.

Posted using Partiko Android

Top choice I reckon mate :)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is interesting to consider. I haven't heard of the US trying anything like this yet, but the hospital I go to has a "my health" online portal. I guess I should log on and check it out and see what kind of information they are keeping on me.

I wish some private organization would start a better version of this. I would probably even pay a monthly fee if I felt they did a good job. I had a surgery at the hospital I grew up at in another State that has since gone bankrupt and shut down. I can only imagine how hard it's going to be to locate my medical records if I need them from the hospital that no longer exists, maybe even impossible.

I think there is a good argument for some sort of record of a person's medical history. I'm just not sure how that. Could be kept private whilst still being available if and when required. I also don't like how the My Health Record in Australia will be disseminated to third parties.

I've opted out for now and will watch and wait. You make some good points about medical records though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.404 which ranks you at #2209 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2208).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00