I 💜 U

in #health5 years ago

Sometimes life isn't fair; It deals us cards we don't want and yet what choice do we have but to play the hand we're dealt whether it's good or bad? No choice is the answer. Right now my wife and are working through some issues; Playing the cards we have been dealt by life and are playing the best game we can all things considered.

My wife's mum has cancer as some of you may know already. She was diagnosed a couple of days after my wife and I returned from Europe in July and it's been a battle since then. She has had an operation and a failed attempt at chemotherapy which almost killed her and is now on a new course of chemotherapy for the next six months. It's unpleasant but it seems she has responded better to this mix than the last lot which caused some major complications culminating in a few lengthy hospital stays.

She has been hospital-bound for many weeks interspersed with short stints living at home with my wife and I as it's been easier for us to look after her in our own home rather than travel back and forth between our place and hers.

She started a new course a couple days ago and seems to be ok so far. My wife is staying at her place this time, keeping an eye on her and will head off to work from there each morning. We had a moment last night though when I was there for dinner. Her mum realised she was losing her hair because of the chemo. She took it well but my wife didn't. There were tears and, as usual, I didn't know what to say. So I said nothing.

My wife lost her father in quite tragic circumstances at the age of eleven. He had cancer and was 33 when he died. As you can expect it has left emotional scars and now she's dealing with it again, albeit as an adult, and I really am at a loss as to how I can be of much help.

I try to take care of things at home as much as I can, and tread lightly where possible however I'm at a loss as to what real help I can be. It's made worse by the fact my wife is quite unwell also and is not responding to her own medication well. Yeah I know, we got dealt a shitty set of cards this round. For sure.

Life goes on though right? I mean there's always someone worse of than ourselves and my wife and I aren't the quitting types. We have always worked through things together, celebrated the good time, confronted the bad and come through standing; A little battered and bruised at times sure, but still standing.

My wife is a massive part of my life and over the last 31 years of being together we have had the best and worst times but we did it all together. I couldn't imagine life without her. We have a big rock ahead of us but we'll face that together too. Last night right before I went to bed I sent her this video link just to let her know I was thinking about her. It's by the husband and wife team of Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, two artists we both like a lot.

She sent back a simple text message which I'll share with you:

I 💜 U

P.s. Fuck you cancer.

Image source

Sort:  

Messaged you. This sucks so bad, I'm sorry life is like this right now, I really am.

hug.gif

It's one of those times in life that make those other times seem so much better. It's not the first time and probably won't be the last. It's just life and whilst it's difficult it'll pass.

Thanks though, much appreciated.

Change is one of the only constants of life, so better times are bound to come :)

Yep, and with my design and create ethos I hope to see it sooner than later. We all go through tough times, or will and I think it's who a person is in those hard times that really defines them.

Thanks for your comments and your DM also.

That sucks that your wife is having to deal with her mom's cancer while she has her own issues. I'm really sorry life is so rough right now. I know something about that too. I hope things get better for you all soon.

Things have a way of compounding I guess and when in a certain state something that wouldn't usually be much of a problem sort of becomes more of an issue. We know things will straighten themselves out but at the moment it feels like the weight keeps piling on. I'm glad I get to have the release of writing on Steemit which provides a welcome break from the real world.

Thanks for your message.

Yeah, they can start adding up pretty quickly, and while it might be easy to handle one thing, handling 10 things is crushing. I'm glad you're able to get some release from writing here. I'm pulling for you guys!

Thanks mate, much appreciated. :)

Send my best to them both. It is such a hard situation especially considering the history and memories.

I will. We'll talk over the weekend anyway. :)

I am sorry. Sometimes it seems that life really isn't fair. But even if you don't always know what to say, you know being there for your wife is enough.

Yeah, I know its sucks-ass at times but the bad makes the good better or gooder...(This is a word I just made up.)

We have each other and whilst I don't know what to say sometimes I am there and I think that carries some weight. It's difficult you know? Weight piles on and on and eventually something breaks. We're pushing though and it will all work out.

I'm going for a shoot on Saturday morning which I haven't done for a little while so a little 9mm therapy will be good for me I think.

Thanks for your message, it's much appreciated.

9mm therapy

What a great band name! Death metal perhaps? Not a folk song band I think.

You being there for your wife makes her stronger and with that she will also be there for you. At hard times not necessarily 50-50, but that's not always what a relationship is all about. Everything always half and half. And as cliché as it may sound: "Shared joy is a double joy, shared sorrow is half a sorrow", is absolutely true.

And of course that 9mm therapy + friends help you to charge your batteries. Real and virtual. :)

Oh yeah, I never thought of it that way but yes, you're right! 9mm therapy - A great name for a band!

Thanks for your message and kind words @insaneworks, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to reply. You are 100% correct, relationships are give and take and are not always evenly poised.

"Shared joy is a double joy, shared sorrow is half a sorrow"

Nicely said my friend.

I feel you on the not knowing what to say in situations like this. I very nearly did the upvote-and-run thing because I don't know what to say right now :S

Can see why your poor wife is taking the hair loss harder than her mum, it's probably dredging up a lot. Hope everything improves soon.

We're taking it daily. The good thing is her mum is pretty resilient and pragmatic, which is where my wife gets those traits from. Tough women.

Thanks for your message. Much appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Young lads pay attention; more love songs, fewer dick pics.

Nicely said...I was only just having a chat with a couple of admin staff here at the office about the differences in engaging with the opposite sex these days compared to 30 years ago. It seems both sides have lost they way a little.

Posted using Partiko Android

Less is more.

Best to you all in this time.

wao, I'm so sorry ... it's really a very strong situation ... but as you mention it ... true marriage is a strength, where the couple goes through good and bad times, and the most beautiful of all is the mutual support, understanding, help, empathy between the 2 ... that strengthens the marriage .. It's good that you're with her, and you're there, doing your husband's role very well! That's what it's about ... I'll be praying for your mother-in-law, so that God will take away his illness, if you can take her to a Christian church. For God there is nothing difficult ... faith is very important. I will also pray that God will give them great strength and help them in everything they need ... Blessings.

Thank you for your thoughts and prayers, I'm sure they will be answered. :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.297 which ranks you at #2561 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 22 places in the last three days (old rank 2583).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11