How to Start a Weight Loss Regime (lessons from a Personal Trainer)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

The Weight Loss Regime (lessons from a Personal Trainer)

The first fourteen days of a diet are the hardest. You’ll have to change many habits. You’ll suddenly need to carve out time in your day to train – you were already busy before you started increasing your training, so it’s going to be tough. You also need to spend more time thinking about and prepping food – you can’t autopilot to convenience foods when you’re hungry. Let’s look at the best way to kick start a weight loss routine – what to eat and how to train.

I officially started these difficult two weeks yesterday – the beginning of my sixteen-week transformation. Here’s my start point: I weighed in yesterday morning at 73.9 kilos or 163 pounds. As you can see from the bio-impedance scale read-out at the gym, my body fat is 22.2%.

20180102_100618 (Small).jpg

Day one body weight and body fat readings

20180102_090617 (Small).jpg

Day one 'before' photo

During this first two weeks I expect to see a pretty dramatic drop in body weight – I am aiming for 70 kilos – let’s look at how I’m going to do it. Losing four kilos in two weeks isn’t easy so what changes will it take? It’s going to come down to both diet and training.

The Plan - Nutrition

The nutrition for this first two weeks is very simple. I will be following a reduced carbohydrate, hypo-allergenic diet. What does that mean? It means I won’t be eating any starchy carbohydrates such as pasta, rice, sugar or (obviously) junk foods. Hypo-allergenic means I’ll also be avoiding foods that people are commonly allergic or intolerant to. This means, no dairy, no eggs, no gluten and no wheat. I call this the Fourteen Day Challenge.

So, what does an average day look like?

Breakfast

Two home made Steak Mince Burgers with a handful of blueberries.

To Drink – One cup black coffee and one pint of water with fresh lemon juice and pink Himalayan rock salt.

20180102_073402 (Small).jpg

Coffee in my Tolkien mug

Lunch

Slow cooked gammon with sugar snap peas.

20180102_073412 (Small).jpg

Lunch prepped

Dinner

Meat (steak, beef mince, lamb, chicken or fish most likely) with green vegetables.

Snacks

100g of beef jerky.

The goal is to eat protein and vegetables at every single meal. If you look at every thing you eat and you see meat, fish or a vegetarian protein source and some vegetables – you’ve got it right. The nutrition at this stage is simple, though not easy.

The Plan – Training

I’ll be training four times per week. That’s about my minimum. You should start off training as little as possible, while still getting results. Why? Because the body is highly adaptable. If you start off training six days per week, and your body gets used to it, then what? Train seven days per week? Train twice per day? Starting off training four days per week gives me room to increase how often I train as my body adapts to this training frequency.

If you’re currently not exercising at all, the goal should be to do more exercise than you are currently – you don’t have to do too much. If you aren’t training right now, book two days in your diary per week to exercise. If your results slow down or stop then you can increase your training to three days per week.

Each of my four training sessions will last forty-five minutes and consist exclusively of resistance exercises. Resistance training at least four times per week is the corner stone of fat loss. This is for three reasons.

  1. Each resistance workout burns as many calories as doing cardio (such as running), but often more.
  2. It raises your metabolism post workout for up to 38 hours. Now you’ll be burning more calories even while asleep.
  3. Resistance training also helps you build muscle – the more lean muscle you have, the higher your metabolism will be in general. That’s a big deal – you’ll be burning extra calories every single day.

Please ask me any questions you might have and let me know if you’re going to try the Fourteen Day Challenge with me!

Sort:  

Great article! Will your food be also organic?

@jmehta, I spend more on my meat and fish than I do on my vegetables. If I can get organic veggies at a good price, then I will but if not I don't worry too much. Organic veg has been shown to have higher levels of some nutrients, but it doesn't have that big an impact.

Meat and fish, on the other hand, has significantly higher nutrient density, healthier fats and most importantly, the animals are treated better. Grass fed, free range meat from local farmers is a great way to make sure you're looking out for animal welfare even when eating meat :-)

This comment has received a 6.67 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @jmehta.

Congratulations @healthsquared, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3803 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $6539.12. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $19+ value Upvote. Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

Send 1 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $1.5+ value. Plus Get

Send 3 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $5+ value. Plus Get

Send 5 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $9+ value. Plus Get

Send 6 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $11+ value. Plus Get

Send 10 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $19+ value. Plus Get

See our all pakages at:

http://www.whaleboostup.ml

please vote my Photo

I'm with you, Coach Ben! I am accustomed to the low-carb way of eating and when I am not eating carbs, typically am able to fast for the first 12-18 hours of my day. I knew I was going to be buckling down with the new year so I gave myself responsible amounts of my favorite carb sources the last weekend so I get to go through my small sugar detox.

My favorite trick for getting through the detox without headaches or mental fogginess is making sure I have my electrolytes in balance. I eat enough baby spinach to take care of magnesium, but I use lite salt in my water, like @raptordashzero suggests in this post, to keep potassium and sodium levels up at the right levels.

Hey @thisismework, I agree - really important to keep those minerals in balance. I find putting 1/4 teaspoon of coloured salt in my water when I wake up helps with this, and also boosts energy levels almost immediately - try it and let me know how you get on! Mask the flavour of the salt and increase alkalinity by adding the shot of lemon otherwise it might taste a bit salty! >.<

Nice one dear. I am with you!

Thank you :) Good luck!

I have to start diet also :(

Do you like to cook? When eating more healthily, it can be easy to feel like food is really boring. Try making lots of new tasty recipes to keep things interesting. I love using the slow cooker in winter to make lots of stews which always taste amazing.

New Year New YOU! Love this post, keep it up! https://steemit.com/@muscleroast.com

New year is a great time of year to start because everyone is really positive about their goals. However, it also gets hard when people around you start to give up in February and you need to keep working! Thanks for the comment :D

Half the battle of losing weight is controlling what goes in! Glad you're sharing the diet aspect too. Cucumber makes a great low calorie snack that is packed full of vitamins.

Completely right. You can't build a high quality house without the right materials!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16