#LivingElSalvador. Some of the Amazing TROPICAL FRUITS I Got to Try for the First Time.

in #health5 years ago (edited)


I would like to share some of the El Salvadorian grown fruits that I had a chance to try for the first time since we have moved back to El Salvador in 2018 and I would like to use this as an entry for the #fruitandveggiesmonday created by the amazing @lenasveganliving.


So first I would like to start with this absolutely beautiful fruit, called star fruit which I have never tried before, until last year we have received some star fruit from a family member.


IMG_8979.JPG

I was actually really impressed with the juicy taste of this fruit and I really loved it.

IMG_8973.JPG

IMG_8978.JPG


The next absolutely amazing "Pain Relief" fruit that I would like to share is the Noni fruit, which has incredible health benefits, but it is not a very tasty fruit and the smell can be overwhelming and that is why most people will stay away from this healing fruit.


IMG_8765.JPG


IMG_8793.JPG

This is one of the fruit trees that I still have to plant in my backyard or in the front of the house. I couldn't find the tree in the garden stores, but I got myself a baby tree which is growing slowly in one of the dirtbags and when it gets a little bit bigger, I will finally plant it.



This fruit which is called Anona, I totally fell in love with. Especially the pink one since there is also a white one.
Last year was the first time I have tried this fruit and I love, love, love it and I think right now this is my favorite fruit.

IMG_8536.JPG


I also got myself a Anona tree, which is growing slowly, but I can't wait for the fruit.


IMG_8540.JPG

IMG_20180820_100930.jpg


The last fruit that I would like to share with you, which was also my first time trying it out are mamones. It is a strange slimy fruit, which I also really enjoy.
You peel the skin of by biting it in half and then you just suck on the slimy fruit. It does have a seed inside so you just try to suck the slimy fruit around it.


IMG_20180831_124907.jpg


IMG_20180831_125214.jpg


Hope you enjoyed some of the tropical fruit that I shared and would love to hear from you if you ever had a chance to try some of these fruits.
I feel very blessed to have the chance to try these awesome fruits for the first time and hopefully soon have some of them growing in my backyard.


Next time, I will share all the fruits that I already have and feel very, very blessed to have them growing in my backyard.


Hope you all had a wonderful Monday and wish you all a fantastic Tuesday.
Love @joalvarez.


Please support @surpassinggoogle for making this community a better place.
Here is the link to his original post, about the #ublog which he has created, so please check it out:
https://steemit.com/ulog/@surpassinggoogle/please-join-in-in-curating-ulog-2029-steemit-posts-on-ulog-in-the-past-few-days-we-are-reshaping-the-internet-with-freshness



I am a great supporter of @familyprotection who is working very hard to help the families stay together and this project is the most amazing project that I would suggest for everyone on this steemit community to check it out and support it and by doing it we are helping people in need who are trying to keep their kids safe from being taken away (kidnapped) by the Social Services. Here is the link Click here


I am also a part of one of the most amazing projects here on steemit and that is @gratefulvibes project where you can also join @gratefulvibes Discord chat group, where we support the newcomers and just have an amazing time.


Thank you for visiting my post. If you like it, please don't forget to Upvote, Follow, and Resteem, it is very, very appreciated. Any suggestions are always very welcome so that I can keep improving in this community.
God Bless!


DQmduqqaBDC8BYQQLUETr4F8VSBi6WfypSNoW6YY2vDCo4f.jpg

Image created by my beautiful friend @sunnylife.

Sort:  

Great selection of tropical fruits, some of these grow in Australia (not native). We have star fruit on our property last year there was fruit on the two trees for a couple of months very mouth watering fruit, so yummy. I would like to try the noni fruit and the Anona, they both look delicious. The Anona looks a bit like what we call a custard apple I wonder if it is the same?

That would be so cool to have a star fruit tree. I don't even know what it looks like.
I don't think you would like Noni fruit to tell you the truth, since I don't know any person who likes that fruit, but it has amazing health benefits.
I was not sure what custard apple is, but when I checked it does look like Anona, so I believe it is the same @enjoycompany.
Thank you for your lovely visit @ejoycompany

You are welcome. I believe custard apple is a “hot” fruit. Chinese sort all foods into hot or cold foods depending on how it interacts with the body. Hot fruits raise the blood pressure. I had a Chinese friend who ate too many Lychees when he was a kid and he got nose bleeds from this , so lychees are a very hot fruit.

I will try to remember to take a photo of the trees tomorrow morning

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ok I have taken some photos and decided to put them in a post as I hadn’t posted this week. I have mentioned your post. Here is the link to my Star Fruit Tree Photos post: https://steemit.com/photography/@enjoycompany/my-garden-star-fruit-tree-is-in-fllower-more-from-my-rainforest-garden

I learned something new on steemit today. Good job. Resteemed.

Thank you @oldtimer.
It really means a lot especially from you.

We call that star fruit a "Balimbing" and that Anona fruit as "Anunas" both of which I am trying to find but with no luck because no one is cultivating it anymore here.
Anunas is a very delicious fruit as well as the balimbing @joalvarez I envy you in having access to such fruits ha ha.

These are so delicious and I hope that you will get to find some soon.
I did not have anona for few months since it is out of season right now, but I miss it a lot.

I think they sometimes sell here a similar tasting fruit, the crocodile pear or "Atis" in my language.

I think you are right because there are similar fruit to Anona here in El Salvador too, but I don't know the name of it and usually there are many different names for it anyway.

Wow, so many great fruit options! A few of these I don't think I have ever seen before. It is amazing some of the healing properties of a humble piece of fruit.

I always love to learn about new exotic fruits, so I really appreciate you shared these few with us. I have not seen or heard about any of them before, except Noni , because of the famous Noni juice. However, I didn't know anything abut the actual fruit 🍍🍊🌴🥥🍋

However, in the future, please mention Kate @plantstoplanks as well,
because she is the host of the contest now. I have retired, because of my carpal tunnel surgery. I made an announcement in this POST .
1 Collage.jpg

amazing fruits @joalvarez ... We have the first two here in Indonesia, the second one is everywhere around my neighbourhood too, yeap.. that fruits now widely known as a natural medicine but when I was A kid, we didn't use it so often for our cooking meals. the Anona, we have something similar but not the flesh pink one.. I like it though, But the Spanish Lime or Genip in our language or Mamones fruit in yours, now we can have it on online seeds shops, the looks and the color remind me to Matoa, but.. After doing some research on google, I know I never seen any of it before in my life. Thanks For Sharing.. I love your POst!

I have heard about the nasty smelling fruit and star fruit but never tasted them, that pink one looks interesting. :)

I was surprised by the tart fruit taste too. When I bought them in Belgium they were so sour tasting, but having a tree now here in Cambodia and picking them when they are ripe... such a difference. Noni is not my thing and never saw or heard of Anona before. Looks interesting. Thanks for sharing.

wow I want to try these.. I've had star fruit and loved it! tropical fruit is my fav, but I'm in Canada so I can't get my hands on it often enough!

Howdy there from Texas joalvarez! This is a very interesting and informational post, I really enjoyed this one and learned about several fruits that I had no idea existed, great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11