I didn't used to care about my health, but now I do

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I used to be a lazy eater. Whatever was premade, be it in packages on the shelf or frozen food. It was easy to cook up or warm up, and eat without much effort. It saved time. I was too lazy to bother with cooking or learning how to make dishes.

But now I do cook. I make all my meals myself. Not everything is cooked, somethings like salad and fruits don't get cooked, but anything that is cooked I make myself. I don't order out. It's been years since I ordered anything. I hardy go to restaurants. In fact, I only started going to restaurants when I met my girlfriend. Prior to that, 100% of my meals were from whole plant food sources that I prepared myself. The effort is worth it. You get to know what's going in your food, how healthy it is, and it's made with care.


Credit: KVDP/wikimedia, Public Domain

What changed from 12 years ago to now? Caring for truth. Caring for truth led me to care more about my health and myself in the end. That's because the truth is that certain foods are healthier (plants) than others. And if you care about yourself, you need to eat healthier to be healthier. If you don't care about your health, that indicates a lack of self-care, self-love and self-worth to value your existence and integrity of your body. Being lazy is easy, effort is harder by comparison, but you have to care enough about yourself to want to put in the effort to eat healthy.

Caring for truth and moral truth led me to develop more care for myself. The truth about the condition of the world helped me evolve. Caring about truth led me to developing more care about the world and what was going on, and what was happening to others (like non-human animals).

Realizing the cruelty and harm, and recognizing the lives of others and developing moral concern for other beings allowed me to stop my participation and support for the harm I was a part of. I removing myself from creating harm as much as I could, and that helped me care more about myself. Eating unhealthy or less healthy foods is harming my health when I could be eating optimally healthy foods for me to thrive.

Care for truth, morality and others increases self-care, self-love and self-worth. That's how I see the development in me. Unless you care about more than just yourself, it's hard to really truly care about yourself, is what I learned. Caring for larger universal aspects (like moral truth, the health of others by not harming them) helped me care for the personal aspects of my life and my health.

I try to exercise more as well. That's the hardest for me. It's so boring. I prefer to spend time on things related to stimulating my mind rather than stimulating my body for it's physical health. It's something I struggle with putting more time into. I'm pretty skinny, but I need to be more in shape for long-term health benefits.

I hope my own revelations and journey can inspire other to care more about themselves and their health to make positive changes in their lives. Caring for truth was an important part of me getting to where I am, both physically and psychologically.


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

For me health is more important now because without health we can’t even do our daily tasks . If we aren’t healthy we can’t expect to do all the things that we want . We should choose a healthy lifestyle but not many of us actually do

Yup, it's a good foundation to have in life to do other things.

#repsect @krnel. Keep up your efforts stay healthy. I feel the same. I take Ayurvedic supplements daily but I have been out of the gym for several years after discovering crypt0. One of my goals for the next 24 months is to get back in shape and start eating healthy again. I thank god everyday the work/sacrifice I have put into blockchain investments has now given me the freedom to focus on getting healthy. I have many business plans/ideas I have come up with over the years and one of them is to open up a Ayurvedic health center + gym when I have the capital to do so. I want to help educate people on alternatives to the medical industry.

I hope you start actualizing the goal for exercise ;) and those other dreams and plans you have, sounds like a good idea. Good luck!

I really cant agree that there are "alternatives to the medical industry" other then staying healthy and living a stress free life. Some can of course make that happen for themselves, but most of us cannot, at least not completely.
Staying healthy is a struggle sometimes and even though you shouldnt put health in second place to anything, we just do. Thats life.

Hopefully we all strike it crypto-rich so we can eat broccoli and kale every day, run Steem-marathons for charity and bike around the Alps for fun. :D

@thejohalfiles, I invite you to improve your health with our crypto-centered exercise community "The EN." I actually am trying to get some help for growth and this could really be a HUGE Win-Win. Please take a moment to check out The EN community's recent blog on Steemit: https://steemit.com/fitness/@the-en/the-en-main-exercise-center. Would really appreciate any help! Hope this message doesn't come off as spammy. ha.

Health was never a problem for me .I never thought of having to do any excises and keeping fit. This was because I was young and I played sport.

As I am getting older I can feel a niggle here and a niggle their. This may be also contributed to have a stressful life. So now I thing more and more about my fitness and health.

When I was younger I was told by the older once remember as you get older your body does get weaker.

Very relatable articel krnel

I made a huge change in this regard myself the past couple years and also am getting down the daily work-out now.

The way I understand it all is that everyone cares about their health on a rational level, which means when you ask people what is important to them they often say health, while at the same time they are eating themselves to death.

Emotionally they don't care about their health unless they have some really urgent health issues. Understanding that my emotional part was in control and that my rational thinking is a slave to it gave a clear explaination to my why I struggled so much with my eating patterns in the past. Staring to value logic emotionally (which automatically brings about caring about health) fixed most my issues. It's remains some work in progress though and not an instant click.

Good to hear your success so far in overcoming the emotional mind control ;) Keep it up.

I was the same way. I was active in martial arts and was always thin/muscular. Sometime in my thirties I transformed into someone else, and now I find myself needing drastic changes. Despite seeing the documentary Food Inc, I still ate badly until I began living with my complement (hate how cheesy saying girlfriend is, as it doesn't capture anything correctly).

She is an almost vegetarian (I will never go that far, lol) and after seeing her attention to the ingredients I can't eat as I used to. Many times I get angry while at the store, viewing most of the shelves filled with poison they call food.

I do need to pick up on the exercise too. I find simple things I used to do not so simple, sometimes impossible to do now and the thought of this ever being possible years ago would have been met with disbelief.

I'm vegan for moral reasons, with health benefits. You don't know how much the things you don't know will affect you for the better until you learn about them. Research why people go vegan, and take some time to digest that. Knowledge empowers us to be able to understand more and then with understanding we can act better.

Your body is God's temple. How shall we maintain His temple? As we spread truth, we ourselves must show truth. Not just in what we say, but how we live and how we take care of ourselves. That includes our bodies. What we put into them and how we maintain them. God deserves the best and He wants the best for us also. I appreciate what you said. Blessings @krnel.

I didn't used to care about my health, but now I do same word is so close to my life @krnel

health is wealth

You have an amazing lifestyle for your daily life. From this paper I can learn how to be more independent. And surely, caring for the truth is the thing to do in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98