Looking back at Google Fit after a week

in #health6 years ago

Last time I mentioned about Google Fit, a fitness tracking app for phones. Time flies and one week passed, let's see how I did for the week? As someone that still spends a huge part of his time sticking his ass on any surface possible, the recorded data is going to be kinda interesting...


Data speaks

image.png

Hey, looks like I'm doing pretty well on the daily active time goal :D I had classes in almost every day last week, and I still reach it. I guess it's because I spend so much time walking from building to building, from the dorm to the canteen, walking back from class to canteen...etc.

It's not going extremely well on the 10k steps per day goal, but as I said, it's a secondary goal. To be honest, I'm not even expecting myself to get past half of it per day, but apparently I underestimated the amount of steps I take per day. Maybe it's the distance between my dorm and the classes that helped with this too.

Then why did I hit the 10k steps aim yesterday? I went to a shopping mall that day. Explained :3

image.png

Well, being active for less than 24 hours per week is a little...but yea, I didn't expect that much. I'm slightly surprised that I managed to get more than 10 hours anyway.

image.png

While this left me thinking for a good while.

Honestly, I don't expect myself to walk that much in a week...but small amounts accumulate. Probably it's the 400-meter and 200-meter walks from building to building that slowly contributed to this amount. Still I'm a little surprised, numbers :P

But clearly from the image you can see that I don't really work out, a mere 3km run lol

Some feature discovery

So this time I tried jogging around the school instead of going for the treadmills in the gym. It's something different - running around the school feels less boring and probably let you look like an unusual guy that runs under the sun in others' eyes - but who cares. Tell the app that I am starting a new activity of jogging, put the phone in the pocket, and start running.

I am just doing it for the sake of convenience, but apparently it records the track of your run. Best part: It works without mobile data. I'm not exactly sure how it communicated with the GPS satellites that easily without mobile data, but it's a Google app so probably it used some dark magic such as location history or something.Whatever, it is a pretty neat feature and you can share your post-run screen to others together with the path you took.

image.png

Besides that, it also automatically traces your location when it detects that you are walking for extended periods (like 10 minutes or more). Obviously it won't work when you are indoors, but if you have mobile data enabled it will still give an approximate location.

Next aims?

Honestly I don't really have any huge plans for my upcoming stay-healthy plan. Probably attempting to really fix my damned sleep schedule, and keep on doing at least 1 (preferably 2) workouts per week. Doesn't sound too hard...inb4 end up with a borked sleep schedule for life

Alright, that wraps up, see you next time.

--Lilacse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77