Vlog - A message to my fellow sufferers of depression

in #health6 years ago

If you don't watch the video, that's cool, but do take a second to read this.

I'm not going to write crazy reams on this because I touch on it in pretty much all of my posts. Depression is a bitch. It is a horrible thing to have to suffer. It can leave you curled into a ball on the floor shaking with self-loathing and loneliness. Too weak to go out, guilt for not going out, anxious about the thought about going out. It paints your world a shade of black that most others never get to see. It changes the prescription on the lenses through which you see life.

It, put simply, is fucked up.

The worst part, I think for a lot of us, is the feeling that it will never end and that we will never be able to pull ourselves up. That everything we try, every path we walk down, none of it matters. The world seems like it's closing in while at the same time expanding into infinite nothingness. Ugh...writing about those feelings up again...and that's not what I want to do.

I got into it in my video, why I decided to do this post, a little back story of what's been going on for the last several months. My fight to finally get myself out of the shit...

But, the main thing I wanted to get out is this.

Three points. Three unbelievable things that even as I write them I don't believe them and don't trust them to work because they seem like the same bullshit that some I know have been telling me all along. But, they're true...

  1. Try. It's fucking hard. I know. There will be moments where depression grabs you so hard that you can't lift an arm, open your eyes, even breath. Try. Text a friend. Text a family member. Text someone. On a good day set up a Marco-Polo with someone you know you can trust. You send a certain message, they reply with a certain one. You don't think that going out will change anything. Try. Because it will. You don't think anyone will understand, or will be able to help. Try, because there are so many people out there that are on exactly the same page as you. There are others who say the same words, think the same thoughts, feel the exact same way. Try, and other people will try with you. There will be a lot of failures. But, there will also be success.

  2. Believe in the people who believe in you. There are probably a number of voices in your life that say that you can do it. That you will be able to get better. That you can do what you want to do because you have the ability. Depression is a big Fuck You! to self confidence, so, lean on others for that confidence. You don't have to believe in yourself when you're feeling weak because even though depression might tell you no one has confidence in you, there are people out there that really, really do.

  3. Trust in the process. If you are trying, and you are believing, you will move forward towards a better life. I hate more than anything saying that...but it's true. Because with every fiber of my depressed being I don't trust the process. It's betrayed me at every step of the way. It's tripped me when I'm weak, held me down when I knew I needed to move, ignored my tears...but, that's just the depression talking. I can't even begin to express how hard it is to try and pull yourself out...and I don't think I have to because we all pretty much know it. It's even harder to keep trying because the more we struggle, the stronger it seems to get. But, that's just the depression trying to keep us from seeing what is actually happening. Recovery.

The old saying, 'fake it until you make it,' I think is more true than we give it credit for. Now, that doesn't mean to ignore it, and pretend it doesn't exist. We need to acknowledge the feelings that are going through our head, but set them to the side as we realize they're all tinted by depression. That's where you refer to point 2, then to point 1, then to this point. And keep on doing so. If you don't have people around you who believe in you...let me know and I'll try and be one of those people for you.

Crap, I said I wasn't going to wasn't going to write reams, so I'm going to cut this off here.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. If you need help, feel free to ask. If you want to chat, feel free to do so.

The only way you're not going to get better is if you do nothing. Remember that. Do nothing, get nowhere. Having depression disappear with you doing nothing is like winning the lottery. The odds are astronomical. So, do something. Start trying. Start believing. Start trusting. It's the hardest thing in the fucking world to do...but it will pay off in the end.

Be well everyone! :)

Michael

Sort:  

I applaud you for sharing your struggles. I’m glad you feel like you're moving out of your depression. I hope your process includes professional help. Remember, success and joy come to us in moments – those moments light our way through the darkness back to the light. Keep moving forward.

"Life’s joys are found in the small moments. Never let those moments pass uncelebrated. Embrace the Joy!” ~MomzillaNC

Hehe, still a long way to go, and every step forward feels like 3 steps back. If I could find professional help that didn't treat me like a pill receptacle to be prescribed and pushed out, maybe it would. At my income level finding the right help is next to impossible, even with state aid. You can get help, but so far I haven't found any that's been helpful. Doing the best I can :)

I’m sorry you’re struggling to find help. I hope that may be resolved soon… maybe with that vaunted “Blue Wave,” eh?

Hey, I’d appreciate your critique of the first chapter of my SciFi WIP, The Time It Takes To Die. https://steemit.com/story/@momzillanc/the-time-it-takes-to-die-a-scifi-wip

Hi Mike! I relate to this just on so many levels and I think it's wonderful you're so candid and open about sharing your struggles. FYI if you ever need to talk during a low moment, I"m a good listener : ) Are you on discord? Would love to talk to you about a group I'm in actually! Cheers to you!
From your new stalker, i mean follower...
Serena

Also i love the self portrait you sketched.. so simple but yet so realistic! I dont have time to go reply to that now but wanted to say it's wonderful!

If you are on discord look me up I'm paintingangels(serena)#3668
: )

Thanks! I think that's the best way to help others who are going through the same things. We're told to be quiet about it and suffer in silence so often that we being to think we're the only ones, which is so far from the truth it's not even funny. The more open I get about it the more other people resonate with me and the more I am able to heal, they are able to help, and they, in many cases, are able to heal themselves. If one person sees this and it helps them, my mission is accomplished :)

I am on Discord, but I rarely use it. I should be on it more but there are so many pulls on my time right now that it's hard to add something else. On top of that the anxiety about keeping up with everything builds pretty quickly. But, I shall check out the channel if you let me know which one it is.

Be well and thanks for stopping by :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dude. We gotta hang out again! Been missing you in the discord group.

Dude. We gotta hang
Out again! Been missing you
In the discord group.

                 - derekrichardson


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

While cute, this @haikubot comment is considered to be spam, harms the blockchain, and is the reason why we will soon have to pay for comments like this with Resource Credits. The servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this seeking low effort upvotes, so please do not reward this behavior.

Please consider using this link to give a small downvote of 15% or so to discourage these comments.

Any bot like this should respect the community by providing a whitelist to prevent the post in the first place and then provide a way to delete the comment for those who find this intrusive.

Hehe, we do! I've been really AFK on all social stuff. Been focusing on my mental health by doing a lot of IRL stuff with my coffeeshop friends. Thought times. Fighting up is harder than falling down. But, keep on bugging me to come by. I will try. I need to. :) Be well and chat soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72