I Am On A Diet (WIP)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

WIP=Work In Progress

Warning

Every Person Is Different. This Is My Personal Journey

I am used to being on a restricted diet because of my health problems. I have fibromyalgia, an autoimmune disease that has no cure but symptoms/pain can be reduced with stress management, diet, and exercise. I can't eat large amounts of foods high in lectin content like grain, nuts, and legumes because the lectin in these food groups causes inflammation. If you have a healthy gut more than likely, you have no problem eating foods high in lectin. I eat a small amount of these food groups for my gut bacteria; they love the lectin and fiber. I use intermittent fasting as a way to mitigate inflammation, which is what fibromyalgia is all about. I lost 55lbs in 5 months 3 years ago with this diet and kept it off until this last winter.

I went to a doctor who is also a nutritionist, and he gave me the 800 calorie diet. I will be on this restricted diet for the next two months. My nutritionist weighed and measured me as well. I go in once a month to talk to my doctor, and we check my weight and adjust my diet if needed.

I lost 10lbs last month. I have another 15lbs to go until I reach my target weight. The last 10 or 15lbs will come off very slowly. The more weight you have to lose the easier it is to lose the first months of dieting. The body adjusts to calorie restriction, and if you restrict your calories too much, the body starts eating muscle instead of using fat. With this diet, I have experienced a mild form of ketosis and detox symptoms. Mainly bad breath and a mild rash on my upper thighs. I found with diets you have to change your eating habits and be honest why you gained some weight back. I gained weight because of my homemade cookies, cream in my coffee, and I was sitting all day painting and writing articles for Steemit.

I drink 16 ounces of black coffee and 3 quarts of water throughout my day. I walk 2 to 4 miles a day. If I had a physical job or worked out during the week lifting weights or running, I would have to up my food intake to avoid muscle loss.


You Need A Sustainable Plan You Can Easily Follow!

How I kept the weight off for the last 2.5 years, I walked 3 to 4 miles a day and ate 1200 calories a day. I did have sugary or fast food treats but only once or twice a month in moderation.

What do I mean when I use the word moderation? I would have a dessert or a sugary sweet snack like 2 cookies, 1 cup of ice cream, a small slice of pie. I didn't overeat all day on sweets, that can break my fragile good eating habit. I've learned this the hard way after gaining weight during my pre-menopause symptoms were over, and I entered menopause.

I Have No Problem Aging Except For The Side-Effects.

My body as an older woman is very different compared to the body of a woman that still has estrogen and active ovaries. It seems every ten years I trade my old body in for a new one that operates on an entirely different system. What I needed for exercise, dealing with stress, and nutrition changes each year and drastically changed when I was pregnant or breastfeeding. I had 3 children by the time I was 30 years old.

You Can Do Something To Avoid Muscle Loss

I am also losing muscle mass faster than ever before. I read the aging body is prone to losing muscle mass if one doesn't keep active. Less muscle mass, fewer calories burned! Also loss of muscle is tied to brittle bones and poor sleeping cycles. These symptoms are also tied to lack of vitamin D, which you get in certain foods and skin exposure to sunlight. I have a link posted below for people over the age of 50 years old on how to avoid muscle loss through diet and exercise.

Hunger And Detox Pain Only Lasted 3 Days

After the first 3 days I am no longer hungry, but I feel like eating when I want to take a break. I have a glass of water instead. I take a walk first thing in the morning after I have a large glass of water and have another cup of water and a cup of coffee when I get home.

Walking cuts back on my cravings and I have no problem waiting until 10 am to eat. I have cravings to eat and or take a nap around 4 pm. I know this is a vulnerable time for me and I have a snack and a large glass of water.

Today my snack is a cup of steamed broccoli. I don't eat anything after 4pm. That is part of my intermittent fasting. I have a six hour window to eat all my food for the day. Many people make the mistake cramming large amounts of food into their meals. I keep my portions small and only eat 2 meals a day and a snack in the afternoon.

Sort:  

really you are so strong, you nice article about your life, im happy you touched your goal i wish the best for you

I am not as strong as I used to, my griping strength in my hands has weakened, I can't pop open my pickle jars as easily. But my endurance and lung capacity is like a 30 year old body because I have been very active most of my life. Thank you @gamercreed.

You received a 16.88% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @gamercreed!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 23000 SP and recommend. send the 0.1 to 0.6 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

@reddust,
Weight is one of the main topic of aging people! But I think you are maintaining it nicely!
Anyway I like what you shared here! I am 26 years younger than you! But I assure those are truly valuable inputs to have a healthy lives!

Cheers~

I still have a lot of muscle and dense bones because of lifting weights and running. The hard part is getting enough energy to maintain what I have. I just want to take naps like an old lady...hahaha

Lets be healthy together @theguruasia

I can see the result with just one month so i think you're doing a great job :). Regards

My plan is simple, I found that I have more success with goals when I keep everything as simple as possible...thank you for your support @dim753

Wow so nice, the last time I tried going on diet, I didn't spend up-to three days before I start missing meals and finally gave up... Awesome seeing you keeping up.

If I don't keep my weight off I will have problems with my health. Most people don't think about long term eating habits effecting their health. Especially when they are young.

Well... I have to agree with you in 100%... I am 23 and usually I dont think about so much what I eat and what can it do with my health in future... But sometimes when I hear about heart attack or diabetes... Then my brain got lamp and then I think about my eating habits from last months... After that I usually take more care what I eat to not over my life too quick...
Good luck with diet

Thank you @mikuruma, take it from an old lady, it is easier to change habits when you are young, your habits are young too...if you wait till you are old and sick it will be difficult to change ingrained old habits and work through your illness while you are trying to improve your health and change you habits for the better.

Dear @reddust you don't have to thank me ;) It's just my opinion ;) BUT not from old lady... Just older than me ;) Well, change habits is one thing but also life healthly is important. You cant call yourself "healthly" if you avoid things like fast food restaurants etc. but you are smoking a lot... That's not way to livelong and healthly. Each human is different. One can die if use drug's (not medicine) once, another after use them a lot... In my opinion there is many, maybe even too many thing's that depend's of something.

Am guilty of this 😢

ahhh, don't beat yourself up...be your bodies best friend and take care of it, it's the only one you get in this life @onos. <3

Have you heard of Steven Gundry? He talks a lot about lectins and has his own diet to combat a lot of things like auto immune diseases. Good job on your progress. I love intermittent fasting and need to lose 20 lbs. I will post my journey soon.

pretty good and decent weight decrease, it easy to gain your body weight while hard to reduce, if you want to reduce weight it happens rapidly first few weeks and it going down slow. some keton body and bad breath also appear and maintain diet plan while you have chance to eat lot of, is quite crazy for the people who loves to eat food (including me). but i am trying to eat in a balance of calorie.

I love to eat, I love to cook, I love to feed people good food...so sad I can't eat as much as I want. But the energy I have from intermittent fasting is amazing! The trade-off is worth it, plus my feet don't hurt when I weigh somewhere between 130lbs and 140lbs. hehehe

@reddust I am also on diet - I try not to eat rice or bread and I allow myself to eat meat, fruits and more. Here, in this part of the world, we eat a lot of rice. We cook our dishes and make them so savoury that the only way to enjoy them is to eat them with rice, mostly.
I find it difficult not to eat rice & I need to find healthy alternative if I am to continue this diet. So, I stumbled across sweet potatoes as an alternative. There’s some good write up about sweet potatoes.

@mrashik, you have to figure out how many calories you burn during the day. When I am on this kind of diet I eat carbohydrates like rice, grains, beans in small quantities. My largest portion size is dedicated to vegetables because they have the minerals and lots of fiber which help my digestive and nervous system work well. I also take in saturated fats, my brain and nervous system needs that kind of fat for their insulation system...haha

https://www.livestrong.com/article/394382-myelin-sheath-and-essential-fatty-acids/

I didn't know this but if a human doesn't get any fat in their diet they will die, the symptoms are called protein poisoning.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protein_poisoning

I eat sweet potatoes too, I love them <3

Always should consult with the advice of the doctor and we should be very careful in the food because we love to eat a lot and yes every day if we can exercise you like you, but our body and health will be very good, we get sick by spending millions of rupees but we If you want this group, you can give us these diseases if you give some bad habit Chen,

@tipu77, I talked with a doctor that has a degree in nutrition, not all doctors know about nutrition!

But the doctor you talked to has given you good advice and good advice and which is important to obey

Yes I did some comparative shopping before I picked a Doctor <3

@reddust, Absolutely I appreciate your every planing wherever you want to control your health condition. I've read carefully your meal pan and it would be better for keep health nicely. Exercise also must important to keep going. Diseases disturbing for us for keep going. In fact I accept your every planning as you mentioned.

I have a few friends that know I am dieting and they wanted to know how I am doing. I decided to write out exactly how I am doing...haha

Yeah i'm agree with you that every person is different as your personal journey is quite different from us. But don't worry, i hope if you control diet and continue the daily exercise then very soon you will be fit. Just keep up your great job. And i also like your meditation like yoga as I think yoga is very helpful to control our mind and body. Thanks @reddust to share your personal experience with us.

@msena because of my discipline training from meditation it is easy for me to change old habits and be aware of old habits that make come up when I am in the process of changing. Yoga keeps me bendable, a bendable body is a young body...haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78