Reducing my carbohydrates was the best dietary decision I made in my life.

in #health5 years ago

I am originally from Bangladesh, so rice is the main food as usual, and in great quantity. Wheat being the second main food which is also a carbohydrate based grain.I wanted to lose a bit of fat and I decided to reduce my carbohydrate intake, especially in my last meal and incorporate intermittent fasting (around 14 hour fast).

Typically bengalis a lot of times will eat some animal products (meat, fish or eggs) with a lot of rice. The quantity of rice seems to be more prominent for people who may not have enough animal products to go around. So I see it as an economic solution rather than a health one.

Intermittent fasting fits well into my schedule where I don't have to eat breakfast before work. It was perfect for me.

If I felt too hungry I would consume some type of food with high in fats, such as coffee with cream. Ofcourse in low quantities.

I would have carbohydrates * AFTER * my gym session. It would replace the depleted glycogen in the muscles.

#These were the benefits:

No craving for sugar.

This was great. I never had a massive craving for sugar but with a lower carb higher fat and protein diet I felt even less tempted by the sugary foods.

Felt full longer:

I ate carbohydrates during Sunday and I just felt hungry and hungry. Couldn't go over 3 hours without feeling hungry despite the amount of food.

I like doing intermittent fasting, and this was made easier with lower carbohydrates and higher fats and protein.

No sugar crash, better clarity and mood:

I have been happier on a lower carbohydrate diet. I could concentrate better and felt less sluggish. The difference was significant.

Energy levels were smooth and consistent. I felt good.

I was recomping bit better.

I lost a bit of fat and gained a bit of muscle. Although the changes were very small, my chiropractor noticed it and so did my wife.

The machine in my gym showed my body fat from.19.3% to 16.9%. Granted these machines are not accurate, however if it shows a reduction and I and people around me can see a reduction in fat, then I must have reduced body fat.

I enjoy food more

I have never been a fan of lots of rice. Rice doesn't have any great taste. It's the meat, fish, eggs and dairy along with the spices and seasoning that gave the flavour (at least to me it does). Just look at the picture above and tell me if you don't love it.

I enjoy food with more meat and fish and less rice. It taste much better.

I get less cold and illness

This is the honest truth. I read up that this will be the case but didn't believe it. But I guess it's true for me.

*Disclaimer: this is just what I did and I am not a nutritionist or a doctor. Please do your own research and visit a qualified medical practioner.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm diabetic so sugars and carbs are not dealt with in my body as well as other people. I eat few cents but had ramped up the intake over time...A little here, a little there. Recently I was told by my doctor that I'm on a decline and so I got stricter with the intake of carbs and sugar. That was 8 weeks ago...lost 9kg so far. Loads of energy and feel great.

Good post mate, resteeming.

Thanks. Yup I have seen my friends do well with low carb and also keto. I really feel the benefits. I kind of what my family to try it too. But they don't listen. I really want then healthy but maybe if I set an example then they are more lily to try it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't fast...Well, I guess I do between meals...Is that considered fasting? If so then I fast between breakfast and lunch, lunch and afternoon snack, afternoon snack and dinner, dinner and supper and supper and breakfast. That's really the only fasting I do. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Yh I guess fasting is just a decent period of time not eating. It works well for me. At first it didn't. Fasting is more difficult with the last meal of the day being high on carbs because it makes me hungry quickly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah same and I can not ever eat carbohydrates coz of gluten so it is good and it also help with memory

Posted using Partiko Android

You are the best. You are the best my love.

Posted using Partiko Android

😊😊😊😊😊😊😊 You 2 thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

I went on LCHF diet (low carb - high fat) and in 4 and a half months I felt reborn. I looked and, what is way more important, I felt better. In that stage of my life I felt that I am too young to be so tired. So I went fully LCHF and in that period (with training) i lost 35 lbs (16 kg). I felt energized, rested, full of life. My body and my mind finally emerged. I even slept better and woke up not so cranky like every other day before.

That was the first and only winter I didn't get cold. I started cutting carbohydrates again now and slowly I feel better. Also, I've promoted this diet to my friends and they were out of ideas at first but slowly they learn how to cook perfect dishes for their own body. I've lost my little culinary book and your chicken kebab (I think) gave me an idea. I must share some recipes myself soon.

Thank you for sharing this information with us :) Cheers

You are most welcome. I literally had some wheat yesterday and I got a cold today. I am known for getting cold but when I keep my carbohydrate low I don't get ill.

It's facinating and contradicting to what we were taught (aroundabout when I was younger) that we should be eating cars more carbohydrates and less of fats and proteins. But now I know better.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would be interested in your thoughts about the Steven Gundry MD life style changes with diet. He focuses on the gut microbriom and feeding the good bacteria what makes them more nourished and not feeding the bad bacteria. His latest book is the "Longevity Paradox". He has 19 years experience as a restorative medicine doctor (prior to that he was a world renown cardiac surgeon for 16 years) and explains in details what different types of food do to our bodies and what foods extend our life span....for the past 3 years life span ha been decreasing primarily because of all the additives in our foods. The book is very illuminating and educational....and it may change your eating life style in a very positive way.....LongevityParadox.jpg

I might research and try to get hold if that book. I have never heard of him to be honest so it should be interesting knowing about someone new.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you have never heard of him, checkout his Gundry MD podcasts to get a flavor of his background and approach to improving diet and living a healthier life. Then you may enjoy reading his book next....

The great decision!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06