About Slow Cardio - is it good for burning fat?

in #health6 years ago

Going through some health and fitness FB groups, I've noticed that many people are still stuck doing long duration, low-intensity cardiovascular exercises.

That's me on a static bike :) I am biking 5 miles, 3 times a week, as a part of my gym routine, with very little results.

20180424_202005.jpg

So... my opinion is that if you're looking to achieve maximal benefit from the time you put into your workouts, long duration slow cardio is NOT the way to go.

Here are some reasons:

  • You burn very few calories. Research showed that 45 minutes on the treadmill may burn 300 calories, which is the equivalent of only 1/10 of a pound of fat.
  • It takes too much time; who has hours and hours for working out?
  • No long term metabolic benefits. Research showed that with slow cardio, metabolism returns to baseline almost IMMEDIATELY following the exercise session.
  • It is BORING :)

So... my question is: if you agree with me and let's say slow cardio isn't a great solution for burning that stubborn fat, than what is?

2divider.png

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82