Workout in The Park to Test My Gymnastic Strength [Week Five of Six Week Health Challenge]

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Today I went for a gymnastics strength workout to the park near my flat. Nothing fancy, just a warmup routine and a short assessment test, I hope you guys forgive me that, as the outdoor temperature is just -6°C/21°F.

2F69FEDC-5350-4696-8122-341000BA5196.jpeg

todays equipment is optional but recommended

It's been a while since I trained on the bars. Last year my focus was on handstand skills (balance, one arm, lowering, planche, presses, hollow backs, scorpion push-ups,...) which interestingly developed my rhomboid muscles the most.

I did my yoga accompanying body weight strength trainings and yoga practice mostly at home, and since I have the whole apparatus there, I even did my occasional muscle ups, though on the rings.

That's a little of my background, now lets head over to the park.

EB402133-6F8B-4042-B575-4D5FADC51687.jpeg

home sweet home, excitement builds up

Then my first shock, not one human soul, back in my days next to last winter, the park was always well occupied by street workouters, no matter the weather conditions. One can not leave them unatained even for one season :)

8DC664AF-9118-45E9-8B9D-E815371278AF.jpeg

at least no waiting time at the equipment

I give you a short tour through my outdoor gym. First we have the obligatory parallel bars, you guys gave me nice memories, like last summer when I held my first 5 second handstand on you.

6B5585BF-7814-449D-AFE6-45C462D755A8.jpeg

height is a little low because they were already there before the new street workout gear came

Then the parallel bars, where I did my personal best of 14 muscle ups in a row, I worked out even in the winter time at night with nothing more than a t-shirt on.

E06BA8DB-28A7-419C-81C9-FECF1450F778.jpeg

i was so happy when one day i came to the park meeting a construction area and seeing this babies wrapped in foil :)

We pass by the nice cage with its always changing mise-en-scène ideal for the exercises on the mat like v-ups.

A752D9BC-D2A3-4FD0-8DF3-F10E812D8341.jpeg

if you look closely, you can see the climbing wall in the background

Last but not least the founding fathers of the bars, although they've been around the block a few times, this bars are still frequently used, with angled legs even for muscle ups.

FA9DCA8E-553A-4F93-8894-C34578E7CEA1.jpeg

often used for australian pull ups to build up the strength for the strict ones
don't let you even lure into kipping pull ups, if you see such people, run away :)

Warmup

Lets start with the training, I brought some equipment with me, a mat, a theraband (resistance band) and a pack of blowrags as I am still recovering from a cold. The gloves are optional but in the winter time and when it rains you are happy to have them.

C66947E9-9901-432F-9FDE-FBCB353B3E7E.jpeg

i use the blue theraband which has a good all around elasticity for warm up which you can ajust by lengthening/shortening the grip

Usually I start with warming up the shoulders with a 5 minute sequence. For that I use the theraband, a must have for shoulder health, mobility, and range of motion.

All the gymnastic, or in this case street workout exercises put a lot of stress on the shoulders so I wouldn't skip this step and recommend doing it on a daily basis, you will get a speech of thanks from your shoulders later.

D38888C8-00E4-4319-B1F9-088C55F09947.gif

just showing two exercises here, inner and outer rotations of the rotator cuffs on one side, for the full sequence which lasts 5 minutes see this video

Shortly after the sequence my mobile phone died because of the freezing temperatures, I had to warm it up again under my armpit, hope you guys appreciate the effort I put in here :)

Assessment Test

Now I give you the assessment test, lets see how much I can do.

  • 10 strict pull-ups
  • 35 push-ups
  • 1 minute dead hang
  • 10 strict dips
  • 30 second handstand hold

Pull ups are the hardest, so obviously I do them first. Challenging, but this is a beginner test so even without specificaly training them for a long time, I can do them somehow, the form however can be always better :)

7D760596-42B7-4FB8-AD10-C8A1C07AC85A.gif

no kipping, completely down dragged by gravity

Next on the list are the pushups, I do what feels like hundreds of them daily as part of my ashtanga practice (have to count them one day to know exactly), so no problems here either and always working on the form.

9232A09D-B9CE-44C4-B9EF-5BFF5A43D94C.gif

completely down and straight arms, elbows to the ribs, nose touches the ice

I used to hang over four times the time in the german variant, also known as skin the cat, with supinated grip, so no challenge for me with the next exercise. The grip strength build with years of brazilian jiu jitsu finaly payed off :)

57F91A54-A93D-4D94-B3B0-E11F6258E646.gif

didn't realize that it's that windy, everyone loves a fresh cold breeze:)

The dips are an excellent exercise using a wide range of motion of the shoulders which you don't get with push ups, also through the vertical position you put the emphasis on the trizeps and get a good stretch for your pecs.

D0E21F61-BF2D-4E63-9F64-267CB04BA4F4.gif

to train the chest more, especially the lower part, just lean forward

For the handstand hold I have to admit I made a mistake here, normaly you hold it with your chest to the wall which is much harder, for 30 seconds though It makes no difference for me.

90F596A7-0BBC-4A16-B789-47C1834E9901.gif

normaly i would press into the handstand, time to resume the drills :)

All in all a nice fun excursus, the workout took me 50 minutes (including warming up my mobile phone) with an 1.5 km/0.9 mi walk from and to the the park.

Heading home now for my ashtanga practice, this short workout was more of a cool down than a warmup :) You served me well my dear park, there is also a climbing wall along the side of the 47 m high flak tower, maybe I check it out one day...

A7F05017-C914-4B44-AB14-771C44D59B6F.jpeg

and that is how it's really done, barefoot with just a cloth around you

As allways thank you for reading and watching and my gratitude goes to @sweetsssj and @healthsquared for hosting and reviewing this challenge, which must be a challenge on its own.

Until next time,
Miron

Sort:  

Very nice work out. You are very strong and perfect form. This is the perfect gym and free to use. It must be extra difficult to do it in with ice and snow around.

Thank you, perfect is relative, i'm doing ok to my standards :) But the gym is perfect, the snow is not that bad if you get used to it, rain is by far wore, even when it is warm outside.

That’s an awesome outdoor gym! Training with body weight is great👏 Looks so cold tho!

Nice, right? Cold it was, but only when I adjusted the camera :) When you are doing the exercises, you don't notice it. Body weight training sends total different signals to the brain, adjusting your sensation of hunger.

That's fantastic! I also worked out at the park, but here was sunny and warm!

Haha, i remember dragging those weights to the park, mainly for shoulders and wrist mobility and strength, and when I got stronger I used a shopping trolley :)

terrific! I identify a lot, I've been running times and times about 15 miles quite everyday in that cold temperatures, I'm a running addict :D

Wow that is quite a long distance my dear friend. I used to run too sometimes, I understand your addiction, one feels so alive when that runners high kicks in :) Have to go for it again, there is a free runclub around my corner I ran a lot with. But nothing beats running alone, preferably at a time when everybody sleeps :) All the best to you, and many successful miles to come ;)

yes that's what I enjoy too, running alone at "impossible" times :D

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow intense working out in the snow :)

It's all about mindset, once you are doing it, its only half as bad as you imagined it will be :)

Respect! well done man :)

I wish I could have some motivation to pursue workout :D great composition by the way ;)

Thank you very much. Start small, commit to just 15 minutes a day, but do it, no matter what, cross every day on your calendar and count the days, that's your motivation, to not break the chain. If you break it, start over and try to overtake your previous chain.

hehe thanks for the guide :) for now, I practice water therapy to control my cravings ;) I'll gonna apply your suggested procedures when I'll have a full control of my cravings ;)

and what cravings would that be? You can still workout with all the cravings you got ;)

can't control my eating habit :D I tried planking :)

You mean planking like in the eighties? :)

hahaha i thought it's in the trend? :D

Is it? I don't know, but you can make it a trend again :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Wow, krass, und das bei der Kälte! Not bad!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04