Cheap suits and politically correct consumerism

in #health5 years ago

“Know first who you are, and then adorn yourself accordingly.”
– Epictetus

Today I bought a suit. It cost me 37€ in total. What does that say about me? Well other than I don't have money to buy another suit (meaning that I don't fit into the ones that I do have), my tastes have changed considerably also. Not the style so much, but once upon a time I wouldn't have bought a suit from H&M.

Snobby? Not really but I have never pulled a suit off the rack that has fit even close to well as I am both short and much broader in the shoulder than many of my height. Yeah, I have put on a few kilos also, which has made my suit selection a little slim. That is a pun.

My wife and I have a wedding to attend on Saturday and I was worried that I would either have to spend a lot more than I am currently willing (37 euros I can manage) or, have to squeeze myself into one of the suits that not too long ago, fit so well and hope that I don't bust a seam - or a zip like I had happen last week. Does a cheap suit matter though?

Yes.

I know, people believe they believe in the "wear what you want and feel comfortable" shill, but in my experience, that is definitely not the case. When one dresses well, their attitude changes, their posture changes, their voice and demeanor changes. Very rarely do the clothes not matter.

And then, the impression others change also, even among friends like it will be for this wedding, the way people speak to each other changes and, the way interaction takes place changes too. I look forward to these times when everyone is dressed up together because, it is part of what makes an occasion special. Does a cheap suit change who I am, does the suit make the man?

No.

Wearing the most expensive suit available makes no difference to the wearer unless, they choose to feel different in that suit. A cheap suit lessens opinions in no way if the wearer carries themselves well. Carrying oneself well is a lost art it seems, My fair lady deportment lessons are from a bygone era, and standing with a straight posture has been replaced by hunched backs over smartphones.

It seems so old fashioned and politically incorrect to even use carry oneself well, but in a world where impressions are made at a biological level in fractions of a second and those impressions can be lasting in a social context, isn't it natural to put one's best foot forward? For those that say, "looks don't matter", I call BS - we all make judgments on appearance, and even the blind want their partners to be attractive.

Love yourself as you are - always look to improve on it.

You know, don't care what people think of you sure, but is there anyone out there that doesn't want someone to find them attractive? Yes, everyone has different tastes and preferences but we are still social animals that judge each other on various biological needs. Again, we aren't meant to speak about these things are we? But "attractive" goes well beyond looks doesn't it? At least, my wife could do much better than me in the looks department.

She still cares about what I wear though.

It was funny. The other day I was talking with a client in Germany about clothing after I commented on her skirt and shoes and she was surprised that I can buy clothes for my wife, and my wife lets me because her partner doesn't even know her sizes. I am old fashioned, I think it is important to be our best for the people who are important in our lives and when it comes to a romantic relationship, shouldn't one want to be attractive to the other? That means that there should be some trust in what the other finds attractive - after all, my wife chose me -she should have a pretty good idea what she likes to see me in, and I her.

Have you noticed how taboo some topics are these days? You are not allowed to talk about anything that could offend someone, say anything that someone could self-identify with and see as a negative in any way, shape or form -no matter how general the statement or context, no matter if they were invited into the conversation at all. A person isn't even allowed to have preferences spoken aloud because people who are excluded may take offense. Why would they care?

It is ego. Everyone wants to be accepted by everyone even if they discriminate against others. We all discriminate. Shop discriminate. My wife can't buy a dress in her size - an adults dress that is. She is short but not extremely so but the sizing doesn't go to her size. An extra small that used to fit her now is 2 sizes too large. Vanity sizing. They go up to sizes that didn't exist a few short decades ago though.

While it is healthy to be comfortable in your own skin, it doesn't mean that it is healthy to be obese.

30% of under 20's are obese or overweight. We have created a strange Wall-E-esque society - haven't we? Is this what all our learning over the last few hundred years has led us - is this improvement? No, this is consumerism. Consume at any cost, as long as the dollars keep flowing. On one side there is all of the temptation that is just so compelling that we must have, on the other all the products promising to undo the damage. Make us ill, sell us a repair kit.

But don't talk about it as someone might get offended.

Well, I have a cheap suit and a dad-bod. Sexy.
I should go for a run. Tomorrow.

Taraz
[ a Steem original }

Sort:  

This reminds me that I should get new fancypants or whatever they're called, the pants that are worn with a suit. Suit pants? Anyway, they are really tight on my thighs; I noticed a hair on the pants, but then I realized it was my thigh hair piercing through the fabric, lol. Too much cycling I suppose...

Posted using Partiko Android

I noticed a hair on the pants, but then I realized it was my thigh hair piercing through the fabric, lol. Too much cycling I suppose...

Before you realized it was your own, did you think your pants were going through puberty?

Lol, if that's the case and I had squat, I would've shed my skin.

First impressions do count and it is how you carry yourself. You just never know who you are going to meet and it is best be prepared by looking the best you can.

be prepared by looking the best you can.

As always, there is inequality of outcome :D

It's all about pairing the cheap suit with that nice puff diddy rolex. With your beautiful lady by your side everyone will only see one lucky guy ☺️

With your beautiful lady by your side everyone will only see one lucky guy ☺️

This is my saving grace wherever we go anywhere together. When I am alone is the real problem :D

😂😂😂

I have never bought an expensive suit although the one my dad got me when I graduated college were expensive. Never made me feel any different as I carried my confidence with my knowledge and work ethic; I have to think it has worked as I don’t even need to wear one these days!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have never bought an expensive suit although the one my dad got me when I graduated college were expensive

Me either, but I have some nice suits. One of the best was a suit I had tailor-made in Hong Kong. It fit so well - in 2006. It was really cheap too. I had the suit, 2 shirts for both my gf and I with french cuffs tailored and all in really nice materials for under 200€

I have to think it has worked as I don’t even need to wear one these days!

Just the same black hoodie everyday?

I’ve had to dress up very rarely (most recently was a few years ago now for a friend’s black tie wedding). Fancy clothes just make me feel super uncomfortable and I don’t act any different 🤣 (well aside from feeling more annoyed than usual because that style of outfit hinders easy movement)

(I know I’m defective though)

Least my partner enjoyed the look (for whatever reason ergh). I’d rather not 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Least my partner enjoyed the look (for whatever reason ergh).

It is good to have variation in things, contrasts and dimensions. Don't you think it is more interesting when a person can happily go from changing the oil in the car or gardening into evening attire and be just as at home?

They're obviously much better rounded individuals than me XD

Again... Don't mind the flags.

Yeah! from time to time we need to disguise ourselves in something else altogether to mingle better in certain environments of our current society. Even at the cost of mask and hide away our real self for a couple of hours cloaking our essence through a common camouflage uniform to not contrast much in such social surroundings and habitats. };)

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02