Can you think yourself thin?

in #health5 years ago

I lay on my bed and gave myself my own hypnotic trigger command to “sleep.” I became aware of my consciousness becoming fuzzy around the edges. It wasn’t a full blown “trance” but it would do for now.

Focusing on my task, I concentrated on the scene I had already mapped out before hand. I imagined myself walking through a path in the woods. Tall trees rose up out of the ground on all sides, and I could smell the earthy tones coming off of the moss covered bark. I pictured the ground as soft dirt, and myself as barefoot, able to feel the textures and crunch of the occasional leaf.

My mind was forming a tunnel into this trail, my awareness decreasing down to what was in my imagination. This is how you talk to your own subconscious. With images, sounds, feelings and ideas.

Ahead I saw a picnic table covered with something…

I couldn’t clearly see what was there. I had intended to see all of the food that had made me fat laying on the table, but when I thought of stereotypical fatty foods I thought of cakes and cookies, but I didn’t actually eat cakes or cookies. I never had much of a sweet tooth.

As such there was more or less a fuzzy mass of sweet sugary looking things that didn’t appeal much to me. I realized that I was thinking too much.

cakeday

“Sleep” I whispered to myself, using the trigger word to quiet my mind, “On this table I see the foods that have caused me to be fat.” I state simply, and let my mind stay open. Suddenly the table resolved and I saw mountains of pizza boxes, bottles of ranch dressing, and bags of chips. There was pasta piled on the table in mounds and cans of coke. “Oh, well I guess that makes a bit more sense” I say to myself.

I look at all of the food, it does look tasty but at the same time, there’s so much of it, and none of it serves the purpose of making my body healthy, just heavy.

I sense a small twinge of disgust deep in my chest. Seizing that emotion I feed it, causing the raw disgust to grow larger and larger, and then I throw it out like a blanket letting it cover the food. As the emotion attaches to the food I grab the edge of the table and with an enormous effort heave it and its contents over, and off the path, and they tumble down into the green underbrush.

I turn and quickly walk away from that spot. As I walk I begin suggesting to myself to find ways of eating healthy, and seeing healthy foods as tasty. I proceed with various other imagery and suggestions to eat well, and enjoy the foods that are good for me. Roughly twenty minutes later I open my eyes and take a deep breath in.

Now to see what happens.

……………..

When I performed my first session of self hypnosis to lose weight I was surprised at the fact that I had not thought to do so before. It’s something that people use hypnosis for regularly. But until that point, I had never actually tried it myself.

As I began to drift above 220 pounds I had realized that something needed to change otherwise I was going to just keep getting fatter and fatter. I had tried dieting, and exercise, and I would lose a bit, but never the amount that I wanted, and it wouldn’t stay off. Not to mention that it was never fun. I just hated thee majority of what my diet said was healthy, and I still didn’t want to work out.

But one day I thought to myself “If only I could reprogram how I think about food.” Then it hit me like a ton of bacon burgers. I was a hypnotist! Why didn’t I just reprogram how I thought about food?

……………….

Hypnosis has been used as a very effective tool of weight-loss, but there has been quite a bit of misinformation about how it works. Hypnosis doesn’t cause your body to suddenly just stop storing fat, or to magically cause you to burn calories at a ridiculous rate.

What it does do, is make your mind focus on the goal. When your entire mind focuses on this, your priorities shift, your thinking shifts, and the way you move through life can shift.

If you think to yourself, “I don’t want to eat that piece of cake” your mind is focused on that cake. It has to be in order to think to itself that some part of it doesn’t want to eat it… But because it’s focused on that delicious slice of chocolate cake with creamy chocolate frosting just sitting out of reach, more often than not, you’ll just end up reaching for it.

However if you take your entire mind, including the deeper parts of your own subconscious and tell them that it is your intention to avoid these foods, and instead enjoy the healthier options, then you are much more likely to bypass that slice of cake in favor of some delicious berries and yogurt.

…………….

Since that first self hypnosis session to lose weight, I actually ended up going back and reiterating those suggestions to my mind several times. Hypnosis isn’t magic after all and change can take some time to make changes.

However since then, I have lost close to 60 pounds and am happily maintaining my much healthier weight of 168. Not through magic, or mysticism, but through enjoying a proper diet, which was made much easier with hypnosis.

So if you would like to change your own mind about eating, food, exercise and weight, just let me know!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thehypnotist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85