What Can I Eat?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

After my doctor diagnosed me of having some crystals in my left kidney, I was restricted to a LOW PURINE, LOW OXALATE, LOW SODIUM and LOW FAT diet. When the dietitian discussed to me what food should I avoid, honestly I got teary-eyed. I can't eat almost all of my favorite food!

unnamed.gif
Credit

To give you a taste of my diet lately, let me share to you what my food restrictions are:

LOW PURINE

Purine is naturally found in our body and also present in some food. Purine upon digestion, breaks down to uric acid. When we eat high-purine food, more uric acid can be produced and could accumulate as crystals in joints. This causes pain in your joints and be diagnosed with gout. Crystals can also be formed in the kidneys called kidney stones.

The following are the levels of purine in food. Of course, I need to avoid those with high purine food and minimize those with moderate levels.

20180527_215739.jpg

LOW OXALATE

Oxalates are also naturally occurring and almost found in all plant foods. Oxalates, which are antinutrients, cause bitter tastes in food and also prevent proper digestion. This explains when you eat strawberries or blueberries, you will notice in your poo that there are tiny seeds that are still intact.

The role of oxalates and other antinutrients is to provide protection for plants against predators – everything from harmful bacteria to insects, animals, and even humans.

How do oxalates harm us?

When we eat food rich in oxalates, there is a tendency that beneficial nutrients are no longer absorbed by the body. Oxalates bind with minerals such as calcium, which could become crystals and accumulate in the kidney as kidney stones.

So I would be sour-graping again with these food group:

high-oxalate-foods-low-oxalate-foods-3.jpg

LOW SODIUM

For a low sodium diet, I am required a day less than 2000 mg sodium or a teaspoon of table salt.

Sodium helps in regulating the blood pressure and volume. Too much of it in our body causes it to hold more water in our blood. This leads to higher blood pressure and strains the delicate blood vessels leading to the kidneys. Such strain can damage the kidneys and decreases the kidney's capability to filter toxics from our blood.

Since the presence of crystals in the kidney already decreases the latter's functions, it is best to also lower the sodium intake so as not to add burden to the kidneys.

low_sodium-2 (2).jpg

LOW FAT

Fats have health benefits, other than just adding inches to our waistlines. Fats help store energy, insulate us and protect our vital organs. Yet eating food rich in saturated fat can increase the bad cholesterol in our body which causes high blood pressure. In such case, kidneys are also strained with the increase in blood pressure.

low_fat-2 (2).jpg

I have been following this diet for almost a month already. It wasn't easy for me, especially that I have to avoid mostly all of my favorite food. Aside from clearing out the crystals from my kidney, I felt feather-light and was happy to lose some weight in a healthy way.

The most important thing that I should always remember to do everyday is to DRINK 2 TO 3 LITERS OF WATER. I really had no idea why I got these kidney crystals, since I am not fond of salty food. I then found out that I was not drinking enough water, so I am thankful that I knew about this earlier to avoid further health complications.

Thank you for taking time to read. Feel free to share your similar experiences and advices, I would appreciate them! Let me end with this quote..

A healthy outside starts from the inside.
-Robert Urich

Love lots,

@wandergirl

U5dtd93TtTvMwHoLnJBDR4R2G3fuZVh.gif

Credits:

Healthline
Kidney COP
SCD Lifestyle
Live Science
SF Gate
Blood Pressure UK

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about the stones and the limited diet but please that you are on the mend, wandergirl:)

Thanks @prydefoltz! At least I'm learning now to have a healthier lifestyle. 😁

Welcome back @wandergirl. Steemit missses you so much. :)

Thanks @themanualbot! I missed steeming too..Hope I can share more posts about health..hehe

Glad to see you back. Hope you're doing fine. Lisod gyud masakit.

Thanks @reewritesthings..lisud jud..daghan ma.miss..

daghan jud ma kuan if di enough water intake. Na in ana pud ako mama nasakit nya ang cause kay ang not enough water intake. Mao karon, grabe nasad kog inom tubig kay naparanoid.

Mao..cge pud ihi2..hehe..cg lang basta di na masakit..

I'm glad you're back, @wandergirl! Magpagaling ka kaagad.

Thanks @ybanezkim26! Dapat for good na jud ang pag.come back..😁

Congratulations @wandergirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75