1/2 marathon training update - Same shit, different week!

in #health5 years ago

Fotolia_140415981_Subscription_Monthly_M.jpg

I managed to get a few good miles done last week. The weather was nice, which always makes it more enjoyable, I'm not looking forward to the rainy ones!!

I got 4 good runs done last week, the milage was low, but the pace was much faster than I need to be at to reach my goal of getting under 2 hours for the 1/2 marathon(13.1miles).

IMG_20190415_093811.png

IMG_20190415_093758.png

IMG_20190415_093741.png

IMG_20190415_093726.png

That's a total of 14.3miles done in a week, I'll be doing close to that in 1 morning 6months from now!!!

IMG_20190415_093712.png

My stats for April are shaping up OK, and I'll hopefully build on these numbers as I get my body back used to running longer distances.

Current stats-

  • 183cm
  • 17st 8lb (246lb)
  • body fat 36%
  • still can't see my feet when I look down!!

I've also just remembered to use the new community tag #ssglife 🤣

welshstacker.png

image.png

Sort:  

Hey bro, always good to see you working on accomplishing your goals and a half marathon is an amazing one. I too have been working on my run times and have been considering trying to prepare for a half marathon sometime in the future.

I wanted to let you in on a secret that has helped me more than anything else I have ever done to get in shape and be more healthy. This secret has helped me to loose a bunch of weight and add a bunch of gains to my workout and time off my run without pushing myself any more than normal, it has also helped with all of my ailments including but not limited to migraines, stomach issues, high cholesterol, stress and anxiety and has given me more energy then I could have ever possibly imagined (I feel like a teenager again at age 36). Now I know this seems like it would be an incredible amount of work but it's not, and it is rather easy once you get use to it. My secret: a pure plant based diet, no animal products whatsoever! I know it sounds crazy, i thought so too especially since I hate most vegetables but I promise you that this CHANGED MY LIFE and I have only been doing it for a few months. I tried it for 30 days first and after that decided I would never go back to eating animal products because I have never felt so good in my life. I know its not for everyone but I want to encourage people to give it a go for 30 days to see how amazing it is and make an educated decision from that point. I just figured I would give you the information that helped to change my life, what you do with it is on you ;0) Take care my friend!

Hey buddy, long time no speak. How's tricks?

I will admit, I do love my meat too much to give it up. I have honestly thought about going full vegan, but never having a steak again, or a bacon and egg sandwich (with a stinking hangover) would be too much.

Im following a cleaner diet at the moment and not eating processed foods. I've cut out 90% of the sweet, junk foods and the weight is fall g off me.

Im sure I'm meant to be thin, I just work hard at being fat!!

It has been a while, I don't spend to much time on steemit anymore now, basically only long enough to look around on steemhunt quick and drop actifit posts occasionally because I have been busy with life.

I am incredibly happy to hear that you have cleaned up your diet from processed foods (especially considering they are classified as a class 1 carcinogen along with smoking cigarettes, asbestos, plutonium, oh yeah and red meat!) and sugar because they are not your friends! I am sure cutting them out has definitely made you feel a ton better already.

I don't blame you for not wanting to give up meat, bacon and eggs, they were my favorites too. Hell they were basically all I ate in my 20s and early 30s! Until I was 35 I considered myself a "meataterian" - I didn't kill innocent plants for food, only for recreation... aka smoking weed and doing shrooms LMAO! I didn't even touch veggies at all! I still don't like them all that much to be honest but I am slowly learning to appreciate them more and more. Anyhow Im getting off track.

I am not saying you should give them up for good but maybe do a 30 day challenge and see how you feel afterwards. The difference for me was night and day, so much so that I just decided to not go back. Now I am on a mission to tell people how people how amazing I feel since my switch to a plant based diet.

I swear if there was a pill to make people feel this good they would pay whatever it cost! But we aren't willing to give up the food that is literally causing all the problems. We live in a crazy world.

Anyhow, sorry this was so long and I hope it doesn't come off as pretentious LoL. I just want my friends to feel as good as I do now and I have seen how hard you have been working at getting healthy.

Keep up the good work. Take care my friend.

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice work welshie 😎👍

Cheers TD. Got to lose some of this baby weight, otherwise I won't fit in to the cockpit of those Lambos we're going to be buying.

I’m getting mine with a bench seat 😜👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75