Natural painkillers for your tooth? I have tested a few...

in #health6 years ago (edited)
My dentist appointment is in a few hours, 4.5 to be exact and I have to be exact because every minute seems like an eternity when you are in pain. I keep looking at that clock but the time just won't go any faster.

Pain started yesterday and it is horrible, throbbing and pulsating. I feel like my head is going to explode. Medical painkillers are not helping or they take a long time to start working. Google my old friend, we meet again...

Toothache home remedies?

...and Google came to the rescue. It presented me with some natural remedies that I could use before going to the dentist, and I have tried some of them. I would have tried them all in my desperation but I only did those for which I had ingredients at home.

This is the first advice I found and the most common one. Almost every page has something about this written on it. This advice does not work for me at all.

NO HELP FROM THIS ONE...

One teaspoon of salt should be mixed with 2.5 dcL of water. Gargle this mixture in your mouth for 30 seconds, spit out and repeat for as many times as you need.

This is bulls*it.

It is said that it would clean the area, reduce the swelling and remove the pain. It did not do a single one of those things, and why should it, it is water with salt. There are no mystical medical benefits regarding pain removal there.


Many people, including some dentists, suggest any kind of onion but say that garlic is the best and the strongest. Why try normal onion when garlic is supposed to be better? I should have gone with onion...

WHY IS MY MOUTH BURNING?

Cut the garlic into small pieces, place those pieces in some sort of tissue and then put it on your tooth. If you are a daredevil like myself, do not use the tissue and place the garlic directly on your tooth. It will release one of its ingredients allicin which has antibacterial property. It should remove the pain in 2 to 30 minutes.

I call another bulls*it.

The pain did not go away in 30 minutes, it did not go away at all because the thing that no one says on those web pages is that it burns like you have just put some kind of acid in your mouth. I managed to endure the burning and the pain together for 2 minutes and spit that devil garlic out. I had a feeling like there was a fire in my mouth. I tried again using a tissue and got the same results. NONE AT ALL.

Now, almost 1.5 hours had passed after I took the medical painkiller, one of the strongest on the market and my tooth was still killing me. I was at the point where I wanted to go head first through the wall.


Next thing I found was clove. Clove? That nail shaped dry things I put in my wine? Yes, that clove. After digging deeper, I found out that it is actually used in dental practice and a lot of medicine has it as its main ingredient.

THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM!

Take a couple of cloves in your mouth and put them above the tooth that hurts. Leave them there a minute or two until they start to soften up a bit because of your saliva and then chew on them (with your teeth that do not hurt). By chewing on them, they will release a substance called eugenol.

Clove, I love you.

Eugenol has antibacterial and antiseptic effect and it also acts as local anesthetic. It took my pain away, it really did. After I have chewed on it, I have put it above the tooth and started counting to 300 slowly. It is my method of going through 5 minutes of time. After that time, the pain was gone, all of it. It came back in an hour but at least for a while, it was gone.

Warning: Eugenol can be toxic if you ingest too much!!!
Do not swallow it, spit it out.


2 hours till my dentist appointment. Yes, I have been writing this short post for two hours now. Give me some credit, the pain is really bad and I am barely keeping my head up but I think it would be even worse if I had not had this distraction.

Did you have similar problems with pain?
What did you do to help yourself?
Let me know in the comments below.


Unsourced images are created from images that are under CC0 License and are free for personal and commercial use. To check out the people who made these particular photos, check their profiles here: jambulboy, Bru-nO, MaisonBoutarin & abuyotam

For my recent Philosophy of hapiness posts follow these links:

For the "Into the quantum world..." novel that I am writing exclusively for steemit click here:


made by @simgirl

Sort:  

Glad you found something to help, i pull coconut oil for gum health.. it may help with teeth too...imo

I have heard about that but I do not have in the house :D I am glad it works for you.

Goeie Werk ;)

I use water and baking soda for making a paste which I apply directly on the aching tooth. It stings a bit but always helped.

I read about that but did not have any baking soda in the house :)

My daughters have trouble with their teeth so I'll definitely let them try clove. Thnx!

Stavi u krpu par komada pa zgnječi s nečim, bit će im još lakše nego da ga same pokušavaju žvakat ako su mliječni zubići u pitanju.

I ones tried propolis and it was ok for a while... I will remember to try clove next time. Keep up till the dentist appointment :))

1.5 hours to go... :)

I've used cloves for toothaches since I was a child. The very best answer in my experience is Clove oil. Just a dab or two on your gums can make it much better. You better believe that I have some on hand right now.

That all said, I hope you feel better by the time you read this. Tooth pain is serious.

Oh yeah, I am all good now. My dentist is a miracle worker lol :D Thank you for your love and concern 💚

Ι hope you get past your problem and you won't feel any pain after the appointment!

I feel amazing now, all back to my natural happy self. Thank you for kind words 💚

Very interesting! I am glad that you were able to find something that did the trick for you! I had never heard of clove being used for that before. Like you said though, it sounds like it is pretty common. I used to hate the dentist too. I don't mind them so much anymore. I know there isn't much worse in the world than a sore tooth though!

I used to not like them too but then I met my current dentist and she is amazing. Not only is she fast, efficient and does a really good job, she is also very kind and always gives me something for the pain before beginning. Not all dentists in my country do that.

I do the same thing and Google it when no doctor is at hand, for example, for a pain in the middle of the night or on a Sunday. Hope you get better soon!

Thank you, I hope so too :)

Oh my gosh ... first off - i'm so glad that you got help from your pain!!!!
and i'm not laughing about your pain.

but your post had me laughing sooooooooooooooo hard!!!!! LOLOLOL

and WARNING! SUPER STRONG WARNING!!!!

I had an emergency root canal - and the pain was shooting through my head with such intensity - i didn't think I was going to be able to handle it through the night, waiting for the 8 am procedure.

i found clove oil. it worked!!!!! and then wore off. then ... a bit more... worked!!!! and after about an hour - wore off.
the pain increased SOOOO badly that i had to dip a qtip into a bit of clove oil and bite down

but..... when i went to the dentist the next day - he said the clove oil gave me a chemical burn on my tissue around the tooth
aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

so.... if any people use clove oil - beeeeeeeee careful. maybe best to use carrier oil along with it!

oh man - but your comments about the salt water and garlic.... Petra!!!! you had me dying laughing LOLOL

Yes, you have to be very careful with the oil, it is strong, that is why it is better to use entire cloves, 2 to 5 of them. I am happy that I made you laugh, you are so funny with making sure that I do not think you are laughing at my pain. I was in such a pissed off mood while writing that post yesterday and I think it shows :D

Hahahahhahaa... Yes... That pain is SOOOOO not funny! Ughhh. So bad!

But your descriptions!!! 😂😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17