Sprouted Red and Green lentil burger w/ crunchy quinoa slaw + homemade cocktail sauce

in #healthchallenge6 years ago (edited)

burger2.jpg

I live on a strict diet where healthy eating is very important to me, so much so that I don't let others cook for me and I dont even go out to eat! This means I always get experiment in the kitchen with new ideas and everything I eat is healthy and full of nutrition.

lentilburger.jpg

I've made lentil or bean burgers quite a few times, its a staple on a plant based vegan diet because unlike a meat burger, burgers made with pulses are super healthy (I also used to eat veggie burgers a lot even when I was a meat eater!). But never have tried to make a burger with sprouted lentils, I thought it would be an even healthier alternative that I had to try out, not only that because the lentils have not been pre-cooked they are even more fuller in flavour.

patties.jpg

All I did was soak the lentils for 1/2 days until you see a little white sprouts poking out of the bean,I then rinsed the lentils and then added them to my food processor with my other ingredients.

pattie.jpg

For this recipe I decided to make one burger red and green. Recently I have reduced the amount of fructans in my diet, which means I stopped eating onion and garlic because I found them to be upsetting my tummy. When you think about it they are very pungent foods and on a restrictive diet you may notice yourself have food sensitivities like these. Do use them though if they work for you but personally I don't notice that they aren't there!

greens.jpg

Ingredients for burgers

Red

Red sprouted lentils
Red pepper
Sunflower seeds
chia egg (full of anti-oxidants, omega 3, protein, fiber, potassium, calcium, magnesium)
Himalaya salt (full of minerals, healthiest and cleanest salt on the planet)
oregano

Green

Green sprouted lentils
koh rabbi
chia egg (just 1 part chia seed to 2 part water, chill for 10 minutes)
Himalaya salt
oregano (detoxifying and anti-bacterial)

sprouts.jpg

sprouted lentils have more vitamin C than non sprouted lentils but are best paired with sunflower seeds that make up for some of the vitamins that the sprouted seeds are lacking. Lentils and beans are high in protein and are even absorb by the body more easily than eating meat. Iron adsorption is increased by eating food with high vitamin C at the same time, like tomatoes or lemon juice for example.

saladslaw.jpg

I formed the burgers by adding Some spelt/kamut or nut flour to absorb excess liquid and bind the burger, I made two big patties and 4 mini patties, I lightly fried the patties on both sides in good quality cold pressed olive oil local to the area.
I also wanted to make a delicious crunchy slaw to pair with my patties with sprouted Quinoa....

Ingredients Slaw

Red cabbage
Carrot
purple kale
the leaves of kohlrabi finely chopped
greens from my garden
sprouted Quinoa (very healthy gluten free alternative)

cocktail.jpg

For the homemade burger/cocktail sauce

red peppers
tomatoes
seasame seeds (lowers cholestral, protects your heart)
sunflower seeds
himalaya salt
oregano
apple cider vinegar (recommended to have a shot of ACV everyday for its alkalizing effects)
cold pressed olive oil (or any healthy oil or replace oil with more tomatoes and freshly squeezed lemon)
sumac sprinkled on top (middle eastern spice filled with anti-oxidants + vitamin C

(all blended into a smooth sauce)

Lastly decorated with borage/star flowers tastes like little cucumbers promote well being and mild sedative effect

burger3.jpg

I hope this encourages more people to create healthy meals from scratch. Love you food, love your body, love the world!

This for this weeks health challenge thanks to @healthsquared

healthchallengebanner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I would love to get a taste of these delish looking bad boys @celestialcow

THE FOOD LOOKS ABSOLUTELY YUMMY 😋 happy weekend

can you make something delicious ?

Great recipe and the shot looks awesome! I have the same challenges when trying to eat out, there always seem to be some ingredients in the food that I don’t want to include into my diet - it is so much easier to be your own kitchen chef instead 👩‍🍳 😁

can you make something delicious?

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord.

wow amazing, of course I would like the feature! thank you so much!!!! i love snakes :)

Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!

CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR 2nd WIN

Your food is really stunning my dear!! We should open a restaurant one day!! That would be epic! Love those lentil burgers a lot, will make some tomorrow!!

Omg please!!! It would be such an honor to do that with u, I think we can make it happen eventually! We can make our dreams come true :)

Of course! Lets put it on our goal list!

Your food is almost to pretty to eat. Thanks for sharing!

I have that dilemma everyday haha

These look amazing - and I though my mum was the Queen of Lentil Burgers!!! My husband can't eat garlic or onions, but we've found green spring onion tops and chives are okay, as well as green leek tops. I do miss them being part of my diet as they do add kick and flavour, but there's lots of flavour to be had without them too. x

Your pics look incredible @celestialcow! So pretty! @joham I think you'll love this!

Congratulations! Your post has been manually curated and has received an upvote from the @vegansofsteemit community.
Our goal is to support quality content from the vegan community on Steemit. If you like this initiative, please consider joining our voting trail on steemauto and join our Discord channel here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66