Salve mundi!

in #hello-world6 years ago

Who am I is a difficult question to answer, and it has a dynamic answer, one that changes depending on the moment where I try to define me. But, although not mandatory, I should write a post about who am I so the community can get to know me.

I may have written quite a few posts like this throughout my life, but I will try to do it again in a different way. I believe that who am I is not what I work on, is not what my hobbies are, is not my marital status or whether I have children or I don't. Who am I is all that and much more: the sum of all the experiences that you enjoyed or endured, the thoughts and ideas that you sustained or changed, the acts that you willfully committed or were forced on you...

So let's try to enumerate some of my most important experiences, thoughts and acts, in a very brief manner, so you can get an approximate idea of who I am.

  • I was born towards the end of the year 1976, in a working class family that owned a small family business. 
  • My parents were from south Spain, but I was born in Catalonia, were they lived when they met.
  • When I was a child I was bullied at school. First because I was shy, then because I was fat, lastly because I got good grades without apparent effort. Or those are the reasons I want to believe on why I was bullied.
  • My parents bought me a computer, and I learned how to program it. But mostly, I played video-games.
  • I thought about suicide numerous times while I was a child and a teenager, but never got the guts to act upon it.
  • I was an afraid child. Constantly in fear. In fear of bullies, in fear of disappointing my parents, in fear that live would always be like it was.
  • I got fat. Not obese, but shamefully (for me) fat.
  • I played American football for 12 or 13 years in my home town team.
  • I got fit, almost "male model fit", but in my mind I was always fat.
  • I created my own company with some college colleagues, but didn't accomplish the goals I had with it.
  • I got cheated by my first girlfriend after 7 years of relationship. It was a bad relationship in hindsight, but it hurt.
  • I sold my share of the company and bought a convertible Fiat Barchetta.
  • I hurt my second girlfriend by not being totally in love with her and moving on too fast after our breakup.
  • I retired from American Football and went to live on an apartment just in front of the beach, while working remotely as developer for a company.
  • I had a huge car accident, and the car was completely wrecked. I bought the same exact car, brand new.
  • I started dancing a weird exotic dance called Lambazouk, that later was called Mzouk, from a family of styles called Brazilian Zouk.
  • I graduated from college after many years, because I was focused on doing so many other things, but never wanted to give up without my degree.
  • I bought a bike.
  • I met my wife on the dance world.
  • I worked as a developer for the adult industry.
  • I bought a beautiful customized bike, and told my father he would love it even when I knew he didn't approved me riding bikes. He lend me some money for it.
  • My father died of a sudden heart attack before I got that bike.
  • I got the bike.
  • I became an instructor and international teacher and performer of Zouk, and created my own brand: ZoukDevils
  • I married and bought a house.
  • With my organization team from ZoukDevils, we organized one of the most renowned Zouk congresses in the world, that lasted four editions. We retired after the best edition ever, on top of the hype.
  • I worked as hands-on CTO on several startups.
  • After 4 years my ex-wife and me found out the hard way that none of us had been totally sincere/faithful in our relationship.
  • I divorced in a friendly way
  • One of my former dance students turned out to be the most amazing, loving and caring girlfriend I ever had.
  • She became my dance partner, and we had to stop dancing together because my work sucked me in. She endured and supported me no matter what.
  • She moved to live with me, and we adopted two cute little-giant puppies.
  • I may go back to play american football regularly at age 41, while I still work as a remote developer.
  • Finally but not last (I hope), I'm writing a hello world post in steemit.


Sort:  

@antonienko, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @antonienko! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82